We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but some surprises”
Review of Sanno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanno Hotel
Ranked #374 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap but some surprises”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We arrived in the evening after flight delays. There was no room in the hotel available because of renovation in progress. So we were brought immediately to another hotel which was more a motel and a lower category but we had two single rooms. Next day we were brought back to Sanno Hotel. We lost time for these movings. We wanted a compensation so we asked the management for a free dinner. This was granted but the dishes were chosen by the hotel and not by ourselves.
The room in the Sanno hotel was old and worn-out. The curtains did not close completely and the housekeeping was unable to fix it. So we did it ourselves by using tape and parts of a carton. The air-condition control was broken and the machine went always at full power which made the room very cold. The housekeeping confirmed our complaint but didn't do anything. The receptionist recommended to use the blankets, ignoring our discomfort with 16-18 degrees in a room whilst there's an outside temperature of approx. 28-33 degrees (min/max). So we had to help ourselves again by minimizing the airflow and change its direction by using primitive techniques.
The internet PC is mostly much too slow to load even a simple web-based email site and wiht the free Wi-Fi it's the same.
The food is not haute cuisine but ok.
The sorrounding of the hotel is not interesting at all but a big appartment block offers litte supermarkets, cheap restaurants, laundry, a phone shop and others.
Taxi to the historical city center is 10-20 minutes and costes approx. 20000 - 30000 Rp. Stop a taxameter taxi at the main road; it's cheaper instead of calling one within short distances and leave the car drivers in front of the hotel, they're more expensive. The airport is not that far and should be arount 70000 Rp.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    22
    14
    15
See reviews for
4
19
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

It is a kind of hotel which one could use as an airport hotel, if the other nearby airport hotels are not available.
It takes around 20 mins and around 6$ to reach the hotel. But make sure that you buy the hotel voucher from Kaha Tours at the airport for around USD30.
Rooms are big, but with dirty carpets. But then what do you expect from a hotel of $30 including taxes and breakfast.
Bathroom is ok. Breakfast is also ok.
Though I see many poor ratings my other reviewers but I would say for one night, it is still manageable at that price.
For dinner, walk across to the apartment opposite to the hotel and there is a food court in it . The food court is very lively in the night and full of Chinese food at reasonable prices.
Always used Blue Bird Taxi,, when in Jakarta. Call a Blue Bird taxi for your return to airport.

Room Tip: Choose the room with a front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank seawaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The review says it was near the airport but it wasn't really near. It was more than 30minutes drive from the airport via cab. We stayed for an overnight right after we arrived late in Jakarta. Arriving at past 2am there was no one to greet us at the reception area. We had to ring the bell and waited for more than 5 minutes to wait for someone to attend to us for check-in.

The room was really old and smelly. The was no adapter we can use to charge our mobile phones. There was a bed bug we saw in our bed. Booking guaranteed us for a double size bed but when we got in our hotel room, it was a twin size bed. Sadly the breakfast was also bad. The food were not even hot when it was served at the buffet area. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxykix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My friend booked me to Sanno Hotel on my returned trip from Sulawesi. It was a horrible experienced. The night when we checked in we were told that the hotel was full and couldn't supply additional bed even though my friend already booked in advance. We had no choice but to accept the room as it was late by then. We're given a room with a broken window and we called for the maintenance service to take a look. The maintenance man came to check and nothing was done. Later, on the bed we realized that they were blood stains on the walls. Then we checked thoroughly and found BUGs underneath the beds. And we did not really sleep that whole night.



  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed. The bathroom is very smelly and mouldy and there were dead cockroaches in the bathroom. The staff were unhelpful and very rude. Make sure you check your bill before you leave as we've been cheated over ours. Don't touch it with a barge pole unless you want to waste your money. There are plenty of good hotels in Jakarta with good and honest service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biscuitbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

The location of Sanno Hotel is pretty good in the sprawling city of Jakarta. The permanent traffic jams make it twice as expensive to get to in a taxi though. It is near enough to the old town square and train station at Kota - by taxi. The hotel has good views of the city, especially at night, as it is one of the tallest buildings in the area. There isn't much within walking distance of Sanno, but there are a few shopping malls with restaurants a short taxi ride away.

The room was fusty and needed airing out. We couldn't sit in the room without the A/C on due to the stale smell. It was a big room with a decent size bathroom. On arrival we had no towels - they had forgotten to supply them. The curtains did not meet or cover the whole of the window area. One of the 5ft long windows was open when we arrived and had no safety catch to our amazement - we were on the eighth floor... The TV plug was glued into the wall socket. One day we couldn't get into our room, the key stopped working. An engineer was sent to fix it - he took the entire door handle off the door and let us in and screwed it all back on again! No wifi in the room either.

The service wasn't great. The check-in staff member didn't give us much information, and was a bit surly. When phoning reception we had a few language dificulties (more amusing than problematic) "I would like to order some food for room service please", the reply came - "Sorry sir we don't have any ice cream".....! The staff didn't help us with directions or map assistance when asked. The doorman also helped the taxi guy rip us off - saying that 50,000 rupiah is the minimum fee from Sanno in a taxi anywhere due to traffic jams. Our return journey was only 35,000 rupiah from a location further away - bartering is definately recommended. Calling a metered Bluebird taxi is also a recommended action. They do have cool bank style safe deposit boxes at reception- annoying that there isn't one in your room, but a quirky feature for this bland hotel.

The buffet breakfast was lower than average. It was always cold and the tea hadn't seen a fresh teabag in months. For some reason the hotel considers cold chips and an appropriate 'western' breakfast item. The 'restaurant' was really smoky, full of people in military uniforms chain smoking - at all times of the day. We walked in for dinner on our first evening, sat down and were ingnored by the staff, so we walked out and called room service instead, which, surprisingly was alright.

Overall I was disappointed by Sanno Hotel. We booked through agoda.com and the pictures won us over. The do not represent this hotel in it's current state. We thought we had treated ourselves to a bit of luxury at the end of our Indonesian adventure, but were let down!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlinaqetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

no confidence with sanno hotel...they charge me double without my information and signature...charge me after i check out and leave the hotel...how can...? i ask them add extra bed for 2night but they charge me 4night and didt tell me...here i just can say the sanno hetel is cheater..they worker already know we just hv 2 people,breakfast also they gv me 2 coupon how can they say me 3people...? CHEATER....very scare they will charge me again.....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lazy_girl852002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Penjaringan
Amaris Hotel Pluit
Amaris Hotel Pluit
#259 of 465 in Jakarta
6 reviews
ZenRooms World Hotel Jakarta
#244 of 465 in Jakarta
8 reviews
Cordex Hotel Ancol
#200 of 465 in Jakarta
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penjaringan
favehotel Pluit Junction
favehotel Pluit Junction
#377 of 465 in Jakarta
165 reviews
Gambir
Triniti Hotel
Triniti Hotel
#248 of 465 in Jakarta
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanno Hotel

Property: Sanno Hotel
Address: Jl. Pluit Selatan II no. 2, Jakarta 14450, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Penjaringan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanno Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanno Hotel Jakarta is a 3-star international hotel that is strategically located in the heart of North Jakarta. The hotel’s is surrounded by entertainments, attraction places, and only minutes away from main business district, whilst just 15 minutes drive from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. Sanno Hotel Jakarta gives you the ease and convenience to explore the vibrant city of Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing