We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For The Budget Concious”
Review of Abuba Steak

Abuba Steak
Ranked #157 of 7,846 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“For The Budget Concious”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

food is not great so i'm not jumping off my feet heaping praises for the place. the food was reasonably priced and tastes rather okay. I would've given it an extra star if it was served blazing hot. but at least unlike other steak joints, this one serves medium rare, medium rare and not burnt to a crisp...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad Shazerain Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    100
    50
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ugly duckling turned into a mediocre swan”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Abuba steak gading serpong moved to a bigger and more modern n chic place right beside a hardware store. No more smoky n dirty dining room, no more warung-like interior with cracker containers, soy sauce, and all that. Now you have to prepare yourself to be in a waitng list. The menu is now a bit confusing, you'll need more time to adjust, yet the waiter won't let you do that. My fork looks like it came from the dirty bucket, i doubt they even wash the dishes properly. Food came very very veeeeery slowly. Most of the menu are "out of stock" and my steak needs more sauce on it. It looks really pale and dry.

Overall, don't be fooled by the new chic interior and the increased price, they're still the same abuba warung-quality steakhouse. Same platters, same dishes, only now they come with poor service and mediocre food quality. You're now paying for their interior decorations, and menu designs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abigail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cheap steak with reasonable taste”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the regular food I used to eat with friends and family. The price is cheap for a steak price and the taste is ok, well I can't have it all rite. If u go here try the t-bone or tenderloin steak the nz or the us meat is my favorite. Add with ice tea and "Es podeng" a traditional Indonesian ice u can have an affordable eat with around IDR100.000. The ambiance is an ok for me. Try to order the steak with medium rare compare to we'll done. The quality of the burn process sometimes deviate if the restaurant is crowded, therefore the best is order the lower lever of the burn quality at least if something is wrong I'll have the well done quality. Must try if u visit Jakarta and stay around cipete area

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
“delicious and cheap”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

in addition to delicious and affordable cheap or other middle class words :) .. soft flesh texture tempting .. especially when so internalized from the heart .. oh gentle enough to tip the throat makes want to go back again and again to this place ...thanks

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have eaten there since they were at their old place. It tasted good before, but our 3 last visit really disappointing us. The food quality has gone down, service still ok, but once they forgot my hubby's steak order. Hope they will get back on track again, as this is one of my favorite steak in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NiaHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abuba Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing