We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old hotel with new face”
Review of Grand Cemara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Cemara Hotel
Ranked #192 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Tegal, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“old hotel with new face”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel formelly name Cemara hotel, they have new face now become Grand Cemara, is not grand new but overall still in good condition. i take the suite room, enough big, but still and old hotel, need to renovation more.

Room Tip: ask for the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C_Agustino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHJakarta_Indonesia, General Manager at Grand Cemara Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
Dear Value Guest:

Thank you for choosing Grand Cemara Hotel as your accomodation in Jakarta

We are happy to inform you that we just finish renovated our Rooms, Coffee Shop and Meeting Room. Also upgrading our Wifi bandwidth (Free for all in house guest). Our new service is free shuttle service to surrounding Shopping area, such as Sarinah, Tanah Abang, Grand Indonesia, Plaza Indonesia and many more)

We are looking forward to see you in the future.

Thank you and Have a great day

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Grand Cemara Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
13
16
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

For many years, Cemara was a very good centrally located place for journalists, researchers, NGO-workers and others who didn't like to spend their money in luxurious Mandarin or Sari Pan Pacific but needed middle-class standards, friendly service and good communications. I stayed for long periods. It's IT wasn't upgraded, however, so many of us had to go elsewhere. Recently I tried again. Grand Cemara is still very friendly, I love the staff, And now the WiFi works -- but the reliability is still not up to the mark, especially if one needs to Skype. Looking forward to further improvements!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHJakarta_Indonesia, General Manager at Grand Cemara Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
Dear Value Guest:

Thank you for choosing Grand Cemara Hotel as your accomodation in Jakarta

We appriciate your good comment for our Hotel. Just to update you with our new improvement that we had just finish renovated our Rooms and upgraded our Wifi Bandwidth (free for all in house guest) to increase our service for our Hotel guests.

If you stay in our hotel in the future and need faster internet, please do not hasitate to contact our Assistant Manager (available in the Reception) and we will give you the speed that you needed.

Thank you and Hope to see you soon in the future

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Grand Cemara Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here for business meeting for 3 days. The lobby looked fine and quite artsy but when you go up to your room, it will look rather like villa than a hotel, in a bad way. The ceiling is so short and the air feels stifled along the corridor. Also, this hotel has two lift for reaching different scale numbers of rooms divided which is very confusing and irritating. The foods were so-so either. I don't think I would hold any meeting here again. I picked this because it's near my office only.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A very decent hotel that is tucked away from Jakarta's street noise.

The surroundings with trees makes it looks even better.

Rooms are decent and cosy enough that makes the stay pleasurable.

Breakfast spread were rather limited

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Long M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

nice room for its price. clean and friendly staff. unfortunately i dont find fire escape in the 5th floor, a little bit scary in emergency case though.

The internet connection was extremely slow, hardly open my email. if you need a good internet connection in your room, this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This very nice hotel. You can reach this hotel from Gambir central station on foot or by taxi. Grand cemara also had a great cityscape view. You can enjoy cityscape from swimming pool in rooftop. Hotel staff very helpfull and kindly.

Room Tip: Swimming pool is on the 5th floor. You can access it fast from $th floor of course ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliepodja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here on our arrival to Indonesia because it is near to the train station (Gambir), the hotel is nice and the staff were helpful. We found it very noisy as it's right next to a busy junction, this may have just been because we were in the first room and had a window facing the junction. There is a tiny pool on the roof which seemed a little pointless. The free WiFi was limited to one device and lasted only 24 hours, when we were there for 2 nights, Being a couple with two phones and two tablets this caused a bit of an issue, paying for 3 extra connections would have cost more than the hotel room.

Room Tip: Try not to get the end room overloading the busy junction, is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrddaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Cemara Hotel
Cemara Hotel
#188 of 464 in Jakarta
61 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Cipta
Hotel Cipta
#244 of 464 in Jakarta
57 reviews
Menteng
Dreamtel Jakarta
Dreamtel Jakarta
#240 of 464 in Jakarta
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
AONE Hotel
AONE Hotel
#146 of 464 in Jakarta
44 reviews
Menteng
Ibis Jakarta Tamarin
Ibis Jakarta Tamarin
#128 of 464 in Jakarta
452 reviews
Ibis Jakarta Arcadia
#122 of 464 in Jakarta
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cemara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cemara Hotel

Property: Grand Cemara Hotel
Address: Jln. Cemara 1, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Cemara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Cemara Hotel is strategically located at Central Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers specious and comfortable rooms with great service from our staff. Our Hotel is located near Central Business District (Jalan MH Thamrin and Jalan Kuningan), Shopping Center (Sarinah, Grand Indonesia, PLaza Indonesia, Jalan Sabang, Tanah abang, and many more) and Main Tourist Atraction (such as MONAS and Budaran HI). Only 45 minutes from Soekarno Hatta International Airport and 10 minutes Gambir Railway Central Station. In Room Facilities include fully air-conditioner, LED TV with cable channel, mini-bar,refigerator, coffee and tea making facility,complimentary daily newspaper, bathroom amenities, and Free Wifi. Hotel Facilities include 24 hour Coffee Shop and Room Service, Lounge,Healthy Spa and Massage, Swimming Pool, Laundry, Transportation, Free Vallet Service, Taxi Stand, Free Shutle Service to surrounding Shopping Area, Drug Store, and Free Wifi. Our Motto is "Feels Like Home", so every guest will enjoy a great hospitality from our staff. Our guest will be treated like family. Thank you and we wish have a plesant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Cemara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cemara Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing