We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with kindly staff”
Review of Grand Cemara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Cemara Hotel
Ranked #187 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with kindly staff”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This very nice hotel. You can reach this hotel from Gambir central station on foot or by taxi. Grand cemara also had a great cityscape view. You can enjoy cityscape from swimming pool in rooftop. Hotel staff very helpfull and kindly.

Room Tip: Swimming pool is on the 5th floor. You can access it fast from $th floor of course ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliepodja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
13
17
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here on our arrival to Indonesia because it is near to the train station (Gambir), the hotel is nice and the staff were helpful. We found it very noisy as it's right next to a busy junction, this may have just been because we were in the first room and had a window facing the junction. There is a tiny pool on the roof which seemed a little pointless. The free WiFi was limited to one device and lasted only 24 hours, when we were there for 2 nights, Being a couple with two phones and two tablets this caused a bit of an issue, paying for 3 extra connections would have cost more than the hotel room.

Room Tip: Try not to get the end room overloading the busy junction, is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrddaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm gonna start out with the negative because I'm just that kinda gal.
The spa is the worst. I had the spa sampler which included a pathetic excuse for a massage, then a painful facial. I should have hotfooted it out of there when I saw the state of the therapists skin, but I decided to have faith. Wrong. The products used are very poor quality, the therapist almost broke my nose pointlessly using pressure on the side of it with a sponge, no idea why she was doing that. My skin was totally ruined after it and I've never had so much acne. I went to the Face and Body Lab in Gandaria City and they did an excellent job of fixing it for a reasonable price. The spa sampler apparently includes a herbal bath which wasn't mentioned, but after enduring the facial I was just glad it was all over.
My toilet was broken for 3 days and despite phonecalls and telling the housekeepers, possibly due to a language barrier it wasn't fixed. Same with the shower drain being blocked, was like it for my entire week long stay.
The staff are very nice, but I wouldn't say friendly, quite shy and nervous. Again, probably due to their beginner/intermediate English. Understandable, but I didn't feel really comfortable.
Breakfast, very average. Maybe good for an Indonesian native's tastes, lots of deep fried meat etc, but for a vegetarian bule, not great.
The wifi doesn't work in most of the rooms, I had them move me to a new room to experience the very average internet connection. Don't expect to stream youtube or music its not going to happen.
Positives - pretty good location. A decent traffic jam to see every afternoon. Good view of the city from the 5th floor. Lots of malls nearby and good street food. Central to all the lame tourist attractions.
Clean room. Some of the building is modern.

Room Tip: Request room closer to wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeluu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here for 3 or 4 times in different years. This hotel is well-situated in the heart of jakarta. Well don't expect too much from the facility, but the room is spacious and nice. But the bathroom is old and needs to be renovated. Well if you travel to jakarta and need to find a simple place to stay but near to the heart of jakarta? pick this hotel.

Breakfast? i always skip when i stay at this hotel. I just love the room but well i dislike the bathroom.

Room Tip: pick the suite one if im not mistaken. it's cheap and decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had not stayed in this hotel since June 2010. Still a pleasant experience because the staff are very nice. However the hotel itself seemed to be tired compared with our last visit. Some cracked tiles in the bathrooms, shower doors not sliding and showers quite old. Needs a bit of TLC... The breakfast room/restaurant remain very useable. Not many other places to sit but you are always welcome to take a table there even if you are not eating. The location remains excellent and the prices reasonable. Be careful to check which Camara Hotel you are booking into. They are quite close and can be confused. This is the older one, the so-called Grand Camara. The Camara is more modern and I presume more expensive...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LighthouseAntibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, East Java
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

stay here for work for 6 days during the flood in jakarta.
first, the breakfast almost the same everyday which made me bored....
2nd, there's a problem with internet connection. you could only use free wi-fi internet connection on the lobby for 10 minutes and for internet connection in the room, you must log in and pay for it (Rp. 90k for a day). i think almost every hotel these day give free internet connection so if you're coming here for work and gonna use internet connection, this hotel might be our of question.
the tv i got in my room was an old tv, which is taking a lot of space and the tv also bad one, dont have any clear channel.
when i was staying the air conditioner was shut down for a while after the electric was shut down and i have to call them 3 times till they turn it on.
the water heater often not working at night so if you want to take a hot shower, do it before 9 pm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliyoghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

i stay here on every new year`s eve since 2010, but the service is decreasing. the room are gloomy and dusty, light bulps are off ( already call n complain but no one come to fix), the staff are not helpful. the restaurant always run out of food on breakfast. it is bad very bad experience for me since i already consider my self as a repeater guest. plase do something about it. u have the building and the facilities. but the staffs is not supporting.

Room Tip: make sure u double check the room before you checking in. ask for a clean room with bulps that could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asha_ashyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Cemara Hotel
Cemara Hotel
#197 of 464 in Jakarta
61 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Cipta
Hotel Cipta
#303 of 464 in Jakarta
58 reviews
Menteng
Dreamtel Jakarta
Dreamtel Jakarta
#240 of 464 in Jakarta
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Jakarta Arcadia
#124 of 464 in Jakarta
587 reviews
Menteng
AONE Hotel
AONE Hotel
#150 of 464 in Jakarta
45 reviews
Menteng
Ibis Jakarta Tamarin
Ibis Jakarta Tamarin
#144 of 464 in Jakarta
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cemara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cemara Hotel

Property: Grand Cemara Hotel
Address: Jln. Cemara 1, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Cemara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Cemara Hotel is strategically located at Central Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers specious and comfortable rooms with great service from our staff. Our Hotel is located near Central Business District (Jalan MH Thamrin and Jalan Kuningan), Shopping Center (Sarinah, Grand Indonesia, PLaza Indonesia, Jalan Sabang, Tanah abang, and many more) and Main Tourist Atraction (such as MONAS and Budaran HI). Only 45 minutes from Soekarno Hatta International Airport and 10 minutes Gambir Railway Central Station. In Room Facilities include fully air-conditioner, LED TV with cable channel, mini-bar,refigerator, coffee and tea making facility,complimentary daily newspaper, bathroom amenities, and Free Wifi. Hotel Facilities include 24 hour Coffee Shop and Room Service, Lounge,Healthy Spa and Massage, Swimming Pool, Laundry, Transportation, Free Vallet Service, Taxi Stand, Free Shutle Service to surrounding Shopping Area, Drug Store, and Free Wifi. Our Motto is "Feels Like Home", so every guest will enjoy a great hospitality from our staff. Our guest will be treated like family. Thank you and we wish have a plesant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Cemara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cemara Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing