We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Other options are available nearby”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Cemara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Cemara Hotel
Ranked #194 of 456 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Other options are available nearby”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I booked the hotel directly by phone and since the suite are fully booked I asked for the junior suite with a bath tub as it says in the website. When i got there, the give me room with no bath tub. they were kind enough to give me another room. however, the previous room was apparently newly renovated while my new room (although it has a bath tub) was kinda older and with totally different interior. other than the flatscreen tv, everything in the room was oldschool (they even have an 80's phone with AM/FM radio receiver in the bathroom, although its not working, but i find it cool). the overall interior were old but clean. aside for the old carpet and cigarette burn on the end table, i was ok with it and even kinda like it (probably because its spacious).

the breakfast was "cold" with limited options and some of them are actually cold. scrambled egg was bad, sausage was bad, salad was bad. in fact, the only thing that's decent enough to eat was the cereal.

should you ever need to stay in this area, i believe there are a lot of other options available within the same price range. and if you really, really have to stay in this hotel, i suggest skip (and dont pay) the breakfast because there are lots of options in the area.

for those who are not familiar with the area: they are lots of hotels from budget to 4 star. sabang area is also known to be one of the culinary destination in Jakarta, and they are all within walking distance to the business district.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therandomadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
13
15
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I had a lovely holiday in indonesia, stay in lovely places on java and bali. I wanted just to stay two days in jakarta before my flight back home. My grandparants used to live in Jakarta menteng. In the same street as this hotel, for sentimental reasons i chose this hotel as at is verry central located. I booked it via tripadvisor on agoda, it was the best value to book on internet.
But on internet the advertised with pictures from diffent rooms than the rooms you could get. You could only choose the superior and the superior executive as i wanted the best of those two and payed more money. but on arrival we got a room with makes no differrence with the cheaper option. When i asked why i had to pay more as there was no difference they could not awnser this question. They only awnser i got ws: that 's what you get if you book on internet. And sure after our toilet was broken several times and several times complaining they offered a different room but the room was exact the same it was not bigger than promised on internet. After rejecting the offer for it made no difference if we moved to adifferent room. We got offered a free dinner on the second day of our stay( maybe because i complained bout the broken toilet nd bout the broken promises), because we already had our dinner, we asked wether i could change it in a free breakfast the awnser was no. The rooms were also dirty, the floor poorly cleaned, the towels old and not properly cleaned. Service terrible for we had to pay 6 dollars if we wanted to print an airplainticket from internet. The rooms are not that expensive but for every other services you had to pay and the price they asked wasn't reasonable. the only thing i love about the place was the location for it was located for me on memory lane, but because of my stay in this hotel they make this memory less pleasant. there are plenty other othels in the neighbourhood, i will advise you to stay in an other hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saraswati010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Rooms were basic, staff only sometimes helpful. The room needed to be cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotels a few times over the last 5 years for business trips. Overall, it is a decent hotel. Location is good, about 10 minutes of walking from Jaksa Street, where you can find cheap foods, internet cafe, travel agencies, and a super market; about 5 minutes of taxi from Sarinah Mall and the Gambir Train Station. Stadard rooms are small but you could get a much larger room if you are willing to pay more. Breakfast is very good and the staff are friendly, except those at the front desk, whom I found a bit cold. Blue Bird taxi are always at the gate of the hotel, 24/7. Security staff are professional and polite. There is a swiming pool on the rooftop, but it is small and apparently not very clean. I've never seen any guest use this swiming pool. There is an business center where you can use the internet, but the charge is ridiculous. Better to walk to Jaksa where you can find many internet cafe.

The problem with hotels in Menteng (and around this central area) is that there exist either only luxurious hotels or cheap backpacker ones (moslty on Jaksa Street). Cemara is one of a vere few mid-range hotels that seem to be decent in the area. If you need a mid-range hotel near Menteng, this is the one.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I have stayed in Grand Cemara several times in the past and even if I am frequently persuaded by my local partners to stay in some posh hotel (like Aryadutta or Borobudur), I always prefer to go to Grand Cemara. The rooms (in the old wing) definitely need some refurbishment, you can smell the cigarettes there, the internet connection is lousy and expensive but it is in an excellent location in the bustling street, near to the Sarinah shopping mall, the Jaya Pub, Taman Sari massage parlour, several money changers, and pharmacy across the road.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Premysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

This hotel is apparently round the corner from the backpacking district.
It is a very quiet, nicely decorated hotel, with nice beds and a good shower, and excellent service of the friendly staff.
I would definitely go here again if I went to Jakarta again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdieBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We had to choose this hotel as the hotel we normally stay in is full during our visit to Jakarta. It is in the same area but the quality of our stay compared to our regular hotel was the complete opposite. It took us by surprise because we thought it would be a good hotel since it looked nice and clean from the outside and there were a lot of cars. We assumed there were a lot of guests. But apparently the cars were guests from neighbors that parked at the hotel's parking facility. I guess it was better to let others use it since the hotel had no customers. And maybe it was for marketing purposes to make it appear that the hotel is popular. Who knows...

Check-in was ridiculous! It took over an hour for some reason and the hotel was empty. There were no other guests checking-in or even in the lobby. Maybe everyone already knew how horrifying this hotel is. Except for us. The staff were rude, seemed annoyed that there were guests checking-in. Rooms were filthy, smelled like something was rotting, bathroom was disgusting, towels and bed sheets were gross (had to ask for those to be changed) and breakfast was horrible ( I think every food served was stale or expired, except for the noodles which were not bad).

We were booked for 3 nights, but after the first night, we just had to move out. It was just that unbearable. And they had the nerve to make us pay for the second night and told us we could not cancel on the day of our intended stay.
Save yourself the trouble of going through the nightmare, and then writing a review of the hotel similar to mine. There are many other hotels that are less expensive but so much better in everything else compared to Hotel Grand Cemara.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arinaldi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Cemara Hotel
Cemara Hotel
#172 of 456 in Jakarta
61 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Cipta
Hotel Cipta
#243 of 456 in Jakarta
56 reviews
Menteng
ASHLEY Hotel Jakarta
ASHLEY Hotel Jakarta
#101 of 456 in Jakarta
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oria Hotel
#176 of 456 in Jakarta
81 reviews
Menteng
Ibis Jakarta Tamarin
Ibis Jakarta Tamarin
#130 of 456 in Jakarta
443 reviews
Menteng
Akmani Hotel
Akmani Hotel
#163 of 456 in Jakarta
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cemara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cemara Hotel

Property: Grand Cemara Hotel
Address: Jln. Cemara 1, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Cemara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Cemara Hotel is strategically located at Central Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers specious and comfortable rooms with great service from our staff. Our Hotel is located near Central Business District (Jalan MH Thamrin and Jalan Kuningan), Shopping Center (Sarinah, Grand Indonesia, PLaza Indonesia, Jalan Sabang, Tanah abang, and many more) and Main Tourist Atraction (such as MONAS and Budaran HI). Only 45 minutes from Soekarno Hatta International Airport and 10 minutes Gambir Railway Central Station. In Room Facilities include fully air-conditioner, LED TV with cable channel, mini-bar,refigerator, coffee and tea making facility,complimentary daily newspaper, bathroom amenities, and Free Wifi. Hotel Facilities include 24 hour Coffee Shop and Room Service, Lounge,Healthy Spa and Massage, Swimming Pool, Laundry, Transportation, Free Vallet Service, Taxi Stand, Free Shutle Service to surrounding Shopping Area, Drug Store, and Free Wifi. Our Motto is "Feels Like Home", so every guest will enjoy a great hospitality from our staff. Our guest will be treated like family. Thank you and we wish have a plesant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Cemara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cemara Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing