We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“*home away from home*” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Cemara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Cemara Hotel
Ranked #199 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“*home away from home*”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

prakash -stayed september 2007-kuala lumpur-malaysia
I have stayed in all kinds of hotels in jakarta and at last found one which has made me feel at home away from home.
I have made it my cooporate hotel and even recommended friends to bring families here to stay.
we have booked up to 15 rooms at a time and were very happy with the overall serviced given to us.SYABAS CEMARA HOTEL.
We are now even planning a seminar november after using 5 star hotel before.
The only downside is that not all rooms are checked for electrical and plumbing faults....hope this will improve.
The front office and dinning staff is like family and always go out of their way to help us to feel comfortable.
Looking forward on my next trip end month for a week.
Please look at giving something special for regular guest which will put the icing on the cake..

KEEP IT UP CEMARA HOTEL...YOUR STAFF BOLEH

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank pakprak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
15
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2007

I stayed at this hotel base on people review from tripdadvisor. Its not that bad actually. Its located in city centre, The room is clean but need to refurbish a bit, the staff is friendly. For traveler with small budget and want to stay at city centre, i would like to recommend this hotel. a lots of restaurant nearby, there is blue taxi which is 24 hours on standby at hotel lobby. And only Rp7000 from hotel to Jakarta Hard Rock.

  • Liked — The staff and the location
  • Disliked — The room is quite old
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trisya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Lampung, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2006

I've stayed at Cemara Hotel frequently for the last 10 years. From my first stay, the staff have been very kindly and helpfull.
The location is lovely, and only a small walk to malls and bazars.
Nearby you also find all kinds of restaurants, from exclusive to local street vendors. The variarity of Indonesia.
So in Dec.-06, I'm going back to have another stay at "my second home".

  • Liked — Hospitality of the staff
  • Disliked — Noice from the streets
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PAN849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2006

This is a great hotel for Western tourists or westerners living in Indonesia who would just like to get away to Jakarta and have a nice place to stay. The staff are always friendly, they have a nice hot buffet style breakfast in the morning, a pool on the roof (which is uncommon and very nice - secluded). This hotel is VERY near to a lot of points of interest to westerners, e.g., some of the main shopping districts and restaurants like Hard Rock cafe, Tony Romas and Chilis, etc., as well as tourist attractions like the freedom memorial, national museums and embassy row. It is also a short cab ride to the Gambir train station if you're planning to go to Bandung by rail (save yourself the heart-attack and don't drive it!). It is NEAR all these things, but a few blocks off the main hotel streets that tend to be busier and louder (everything is louder in Indonesia so this is a big bonus). It is quiet, unhurried and the rooms are clean and nice. It is not a five star hotel or anything. There is a very small fitness room next the the small rooftop pool. But I have stayed in many different hotels in Jakarta - both expensive and cheap. And in the end, I'd pick the Cemara over any of them - its a great place for the price, and its just kind of "homey" (there are only 120 rooms). If you are a repeat customer, the staff will remember you (even the second time around). There's also a GREAT fresh seafood restuarant a couple blocks away called Dua Musim (two seasons). Eat there if you get the chance. You won't be sorry.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Limited Parking
  • Tips/Secrets — If you have a work visa, you can get rates at about 1/3 the
  • Stayed May 2002, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank a_sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2006

A small but friendly hotel great staff polite and helpful alot better than some five star hotels.
Rooms small but clean and neat and room service is always helpful. The traffic along the hotel
can be noisy especially in the morning as windows are not sound proof. Breakfast is average
but the coffee is good.... Location is also good as it is in the Golden Triangle of Jakarta and
and you can move around the city using the Trans-Jakarta bus service.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Cemara Hotel
Cemara Hotel
#193 of 453 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Cipta
Hotel Cipta
#245 of 453 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Ibis Jakarta Arcadia
#116 of 453 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Ibis Jakarta Tamarin
Ibis Jakarta Tamarin
#131 of 453 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Tanah Abang
favehotel Wahid Hasyim
favehotel Wahid Hasyim
#105 of 453 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Menteng
Akmani Hotel
Akmani Hotel
#172 of 453 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cemara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cemara Hotel

Property: Grand Cemara Hotel
Address: Jln. Cemara 1, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Cemara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Cemara Hotel is strategically located at Central Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers specious and comfortable rooms with great service from our staff. Our Hotel is located near Central Business District (Jalan MH Thamrin and Jalan Kuningan), Shopping Center (Sarinah, Grand Indonesia, PLaza Indonesia, Jalan Sabang, Tanah abang, and many more) and Main Tourist Atraction (such as MONAS and Budaran HI). Only 45 minutes from Soekarno Hatta International Airport and 10 minutes Gambir Railway Central Station. In Room Facilities include fully air-conditioner, LED TV with cable channel, mini-bar,refigerator, coffee and tea making facility,complimentary daily newspaper, bathroom amenities, and Free Wifi. Hotel Facilities include 24 hour Coffee Shop and Room Service, Lounge,Healthy Spa and Massage, Swimming Pool, Laundry, Transportation, Free Vallet Service, Taxi Stand, Free Shutle Service to surrounding Shopping Area, Drug Store, and Free Wifi. Our Motto is "Feels Like Home", so every guest will enjoy a great hospitality from our staff. Our guest will be treated like family. Thank you and we wish have a plesant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Cemara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cemara Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing