We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so, this time... But I'll be back as always!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan
Ranked #3 of 461 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So so, this time... But I'll be back as always!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

Is the Ritz Carlton a bank or Hotel... Be careful! Quotes are in dollars, but you cant pay in dollars. Billing is in Rupia, converted at a rate conveniient to the hotel, billed at a Rupia Rate of 12000 (2000 above market at the time of my visit), refund given at a Rupia rate of 9300 per Dollar for city break deals.

Otherwise, rooms are spacious, although this time smelt a little damp. Airlanga is great for Brunch and breakfast. But why the tea is always cold and weak, I don't know!

The Italian is good, the band in the clun are worth watching... Staff are great!!!

Of course I'll stay again, because it's a great location, spacious rooms, good food, and the beds are oh so comfy! :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichieC911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    208
    49
    21
    11
See reviews for
168
136
56
582
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

From the moment i arrived at the hotel i was greated with smiles and felt very welcome - Once id made it past the bomb squad, machine gun carrying teenager and metal detector - The lobby is spacious and very eye catching in its design. When i got up to my room i was slightly shocked at the size of the bed, the size of the flatscreen tv, the size of my window, the view, the double doors to my bathroom, 2 sinks, electric blinds, and as ive already mentioned the shower, which literally made it a pleasure to get up for work!

With any 5* hotel its the little touches that make the difference for me, in shangrila's they impring the logo into the ash trays. At the ritz, room service leave little sachets of neck relaxant at night. And apon checking in, a plate of chocolate dipped strawberries, fresh fruit and my choice of paper. Christmas day - Despite being a muslim country - i found a stocking full of sweets and goodies. New years day i found a box wishing me luck in 2009 and more luxury chocolates.

The staff were extremely helpful and almost seemed pleased to be asked to help. A good example if you go is to go into the hotel nightclub/bar and pull a ciggarette out and watch the bar staff run up to light it for you. On one occasion i had four members of staff to choose from.

The facilities are very good too, the 5th floor rooftop swimming pool has little hideaways to rest in. Also three pool side bungalows offer shelter from the sun. The gym looked very good - from the outside.

The breakfast on offer is again one of the best i have encountered in 5* hotels. The amount to chose from ranged from yogurt to mongolian porridge with goat and everything in between! For evening meals however, the food is good, however rather overpriced. You will be better off walking for 5 minutes round the square and trying a restaurant there.

The only slight issues with the hotel for me would be the location, which in the Jakartan traffic could get abit tedious. The anti bomb squad at first seem intimidating but after awhile a rapport is reached and it is fine.

All in all, i think this hotel and its staff made a 2 week business trip feel more like a holiday, very comfortable beds and great rooms. just get a room purely for the showers if anything!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyMcTucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

Very large rooms, great room service, good gym and a Great spa open till very late. Perfect for a busines trip. The it is quite friendly, especially the concierge and the doorman. Slightly out of the main business district to quiter than Grand Hyatt. My no 1 choice in the city

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeKAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

Ritz Carlton Hotel in Jakarta is the best hotel I ever stayed in. The room was amazing, clean, spacious and tastefully decorated - very luxarious. The service was brilliant, the decor was lovely and the hotel had one of the best outdoor space for jogging. True oasis in city centre.
As I was travveling on my own, female, I was told not to go out in the night by myself so I truly enjoyed in the hotel restaurant and very friendly service. I wasn't impressed with Jakarta but certanly I was impressed with Ritz.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSunshine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

Other reviews have commented on the generous room sizes and standard of the rooms and bathrooms. I'll therefore not repeat, other than to say these are really big, clean and pleasant rooms.

For me what made my visit stand out was the attention to detail and general friendliness of the hotel's staff. The one time they made a very, very minor mistake the person concerned was very apologetic.

To give just one example of the help;
I arranged for myself a trip away over the weekend I was there to visit Putri. On checking with the front desk the time I needed to allow for a taxi to get to the harbour they immediately offered to make all the arrangements for me, gave me a card to call when I knew my return time so another taxi could be arranged. I had a great time and on the way back called to arrange the transport, because the boat I was on was so noisy I couldn't hear the information properly. However, to get around this I received a text to my mobile with all the details of the taxi meeting me. A few moment after I got into the taxi I received a call to check everything had worked out and I'd found the driver.

It's that little extra attention that turns a good experience into a great one in my opinion. There's more but in the same light, just going that little extra.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millhouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

I accompanied my husband on his business trip in Jakarta and had the most delightful time at the Ritz Carlton. We were booked to stay on Club Level where we spent a lot of our time chilling out at the business centre and the private lounge area. Everything about the club privilege was spot-on, the professional service, the complimentary food and drinks, the distinctive amenities and not to forget the ultra-comfortable bedroom and spacious bathroom. The view from our room was spectacular with Jakarta skyline right in front of us. Walking around the city during the day could get a little exhausted from the high humidity but our room was proven to be a true Oasis.

We could have our breakfast at the lounge but the main breakfast buffet on ground floor was much more appealing with greater variety of foods. We had different menus everyday and didn't get bored from the same choices like we normally experience in other hotels. One downside is the location, may be the RItz at Pacific Place will be a better choice for myself who has literally nothing to do during the day, but for business travellers, I highly recommend the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger_sist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

I stayed at Ritz Carlton Jakarta with my family during the New Year holiday. The hotel located at the Kuningan, Jakarta. We were lucky to stay there during the holiday because we could avoid the traffic jam. My first impression is “Wow…what a tall hotel I ever seen in Jakarta”. Personally, I don’t like the hotel security check. It’s too long to check our car. After entering the hotel, I amazed by the grandeur lobby. It’s very luxurious with marble floors, columns and high atrium. The staff first impression is conceited. I guess it because they doubt us as their guest. After we check in they become very handy and nice (what a change??). We stayed at Grand room. The room was the biggest standard room I’ve ever stayed in Jakarta. It consists of seating area, bed area, and work area in one big room. The room is also equipped with LCD TV!! It’s pretty surprising to find it, even on hotel newer than this hotel. The bathroom is huge, clean, and luxurious. The bathroom windows are also impressing. I could see Jakarta skylines when I bathe. The pool and jogging track are also very nice and well maintained. I really enjoy swim at the hotel pool. The breakfast at Airlangga was the hugest breakfast I’ve ever ate in any Jakarta hotel. It also has a noodle stand too. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay there. Everything was top notch!

  • Liked — the luxurious accomodation
  • Disliked — the doubtful staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank N_Hardiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 461 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 461 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan
Address: Jl. DR Ide Anak Agung Gde Agung Kav. E.1.1 no. 1 | Kawasan Mega Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#4 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Family Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting a new standard of luxury in the Indonesian capital city, The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan is situated in an open area affording beautiful views. Located at the business district of Mega Kuningan, the hotel is only 31 kilometers from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. Sleek sophistication outside provides a way to warm elegance inside, where each guest room and suite offer an oasis of pampering and prestige. Accommodations are one of Jakarta's most spacious. The baths feature floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city. Luxury amenities such as fine linens, designer bath essentials and a 55-inch LED screen television enhance each stay. For dining options, guests can choose from: Asia, featuring Jakarta's largest Island Buffet Restaurant, Lobo, Jakarta's contemporary restaurant, where finest USDA prime beef steak are prepared in a spectacular display of modern interior design for bar, lounge and dining destination and TEMPUS, a hot spot hosting two different zones of Avanti for cozy lounge with compelling dance floor and JADE for elegant and spacious karaoke. For meetings, conferences, weddings and social functions, The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan features 22 meeting rooms, 1600 square meter The Ritz-Carlton Grand Ballroom and 1000 square meter Grand Mutiara Ballroom for medium size function that can be tailored to any needs, including the city's most luxurious wedding and conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing