We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ritz Carlton still is the best hotel in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan
Ranked #2 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stay mainly in Ritz Carltons when available and enjoy the feeling of old time elegance and superb service above anything else. The Ritz in Jakarta (we also have been staying in the Ritz resort in Bali about 10 years ago but we so not see that hotel on your list anymore) is, like any other Ritz, of the same extraordinary excellence and class. The food we want to mention specially: nowhere did we ever have such a breakfast, it was like an orchard with the most exquisite fruits and special drinks.

Room Tip: We booked with American Express
  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetheworld71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,378)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2011

Was reasonably good. Connected to a big [...] mall. They had decent smallish business breakfast every day (still got eggs, etc the workz). Had a small but adequate gym but decent cold bath and sauna. Pool on 13th floor or something.

Room itself was pretty G, nice and BIG and the bathrooms were fairly massive. Nice TV, desk etc. The one good thing was that reception was fairly decent in that they kept giving us free bottles of water which I needed constantly due to my water addiction and u can't drink tap water there.

Had room service HEAPS due to me being lazy and in Jakarta you don't really walk outside at all. The room service food was ok, I got food poisoning in Jakarta (not sure what from) but everyone in the family did even though we didn't eat anywhere dodgy. Felt ok but just didn't feel "right"

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
Thank MichaelJT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I think that because of Jakarta's past experience, their security is very tight. I was surprised and shocked to see how tight security is. One of a kind.

My experience at Ritz Carlton Jakarta is:
1. Security is tight and I will never get tired to repeat this. Don't be surprised if the guards at the entrance opens the door of your car to let dogs sniff. Don't be surprised if the guard at the hotel entrance x-rays your bag and asks you to stand in the "X" position because he will metal scan you.
2. Since security is tight, they DO NOT allow you to take pics of the hotel lobby. I experienced this. What hotel doesnt let tourist enjoy the scene and take pics? This hotel does.. an angry guard will approach you and watch you delete the photos.
3. Room is fantastic. No funky smell of mould whatsoever. Bathroom is also clean and great.
4. I slept like a baby! Normally I have to adjust my sleeping habits but the bed was so comfy I slept like a log.
5. Breakfast has a big array of choices from American breakfast of pancakes, omelets, chinese noodles, congee, Indonesian soup, etc etc
6. Hotel staff can speak English! But the entire city doesnt.
7. Visit the pool area.. lovely place.
8. For gym buffs out there.. ensure you bring your workout attire.
9. The spa opens early at 8am! I find it too costly when converted to my local currency =( But do visit it.
10. Housekeeping is clean!

When in Jakarta, be prepared to:
1. Find yourself lost in translation. The locals cannot speak English.
2. Experience heavy heavy traffic!
3. No pork can be found in local menu.
4. US Citizens has to pay $25 for Visa (upon arrival). Make sure you hop off the plane first and dash to the immigration as line will built up and the Immigration officers moves slowly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DwTokidoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I had the opportunity to stay at the Ritz Carlton in Jakarta on a business trip in October. There are two Ritz Carltons in Jakarta and I believe this is the older property

When the car drove up, it did show a dated looking hotel with an old style lobby and elevators

The rooms though are really great. The hotel website promises the largest rooms in Jakarta and I think this is probably true. The rooms are big and this makes the stay much easier. When one gets in after spending an hour stuck in the traffic, the spacious room really lifts the spirits

The work area is really good and comfortable. The Internet speed is decent for most applications. The bed is large and very comfortable. The black out curtains work very well. The bathroom is large as well and everything works fine. I did have a problem with the draining of the shower stall but that was fixed immediately with just one phone call. No need for reminders or follow up calls

I tried the restaurant for the buffet breakfast and found it to be fairly good. They got the egg order right and the latte was really good. Made me go for a second round. I did try room service and the staples like the burger were very nice

This hotel also stands out for me because of its great service. Every request is promptly met and more importantly, executed correctly. The all to important check out where one is usually in a rush was also very quickly handled

All in all, a great hotel to stay while in Jakarta

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adesitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I travel to Jakarta regularly. Having experienced all 5 star hotels in this city, Ritz Carlton is by far the best. The facilities, the service, food, attention to detail, are all superb. There is certainly no place like home. But every time I stay at the Ritz, they surely make me feel as if I was home. I recommend this hotel to anyone over any other Hotel in Jakarta!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guyinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We live in California but visit Jakarta often to visit relatives. Since we agree with most of the other reviewers, I will only point out what may not have been said before. We will not be reviewing this hotel per se, but rather give a comparison with other hotels of similar calibre, which for someone unfamiliar with Jakarta, may be difficult to compare.
1. For business travelers, its location within the Central Business District triangle is very convenient, although most of the 5 star hotels we like including the Kempinski and ShangriLa are even more centrally located. If you prefer cozy surroundings, the ShangriLa is a good choice, albeit a bit outdated. If you must stay in the newest hotel, then pick Kempinski, aware that rooms are much smaller than at the Ritz-Carlton. Comparable hotels like JW Marriott, Four Seasons, Intercontinental, Mulia and Gran Melia are nearby, but their rooms are a class below Ritz-Carlton standard. Jakarta's most elegant hotel, the Dharmawangsa, is a bit out in the Kemang suburb of Kebayoran Baru area. An Accor property that has been our favorite for years, is the Gran Mahakam, located in a shopping district in south Jakarta known as Blok M. Stay at the Dharmawangsa if you really want to be out of the hustle bustle of the city center, and at the Gran Mahakam if you yearn for a bit of Parisian indulgence and need not be right in the center of town.
2. For leisure purposes, the pool is good but the ShangriLa has the best pool for family, and the Borobudur (recently renovated but still showing its 30+ year old age) has the best Olympic lap pool. One of the reviewers mentioned proximity to a shopping mall. However, we have to caution not to expect luxurious nor well-laid out complex. Kuningan ITC and its neighboring Ambassador mall are intertwined and confusing. It boasts a Carrefour store but not in par with the best ones in town. If you are looking for quality goods and food, take a cab to Pacific Place, where the younger Ritz-Carlton is located. This Ritz-Carlton at Pacific Place, for a slightly higher rate, is even more posh and newer. It only has some 50 rooms, and in our experience is quickly booked. We recommend the hotel rooms rather than the serviced apartments for short stay unless you need your own kitchen.
3. In summary, we really like this Ritz-Carlton for its location and superb room with extravagant bathroom and high ceilings. Its drawback is the lack of attractive public areas despite the vast lobby and its stifling security checks (understandably so since it was and probably still is a target for bombing).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NigellaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed two nights at club floor rooms with good view of the city. The room was huge, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing with lot of variety. It's Asia restaurant serve great lunch and dinner buffet at an affordable price at around 25 $ per person. If you are into shopping, there is a shopping centre "ITC Kuningan" located few hundreds meter from the hotel, where you can find cheaps stuff and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rairliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 464 in Jakarta
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Fairmont Jakarta
Fairmont Jakarta
#4 of 464 in Jakarta
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan

Address: Jl. DR Ide Anak Agung Gde Agung Kav. E.1.1 no. 1 | Kawasan Mega Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#4 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Family Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $128 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting a new standard of luxury in the Indonesian capital city, The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan is situated in an open area affording beautiful views. Located at the business district of Mega Kuningan, the hotel is only 31 kilometers from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. Sleek sophistication outside provides a way to warm elegance inside, where each guest room and suite offer an oasis of pampering and prestige. Accommodations are one of Jakarta's most spacious. The baths feature floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city. Luxury amenities such as fine linens, designer bath essentials and a 55-inch LED screen television enhance each stay. For dining options, guests can choose from: Asia, featuring Jakarta's largest Island Buffet Restaurant, Lobo, Jakarta's contemporary restaurant, where finest USDA prime beef steak are prepared in a spectacular display of modern interior design for bar, lounge and dining destination and TEMPUS, a hot spot hosting two different zones of Avanti for cozy lounge with compelling dance floor and JADE for elegant and spacious karaoke. For meetings, conferences, weddings and social functions, The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan features 22 meeting rooms, 1600 square meter The Ritz-Carlton Grand Ballroom and 1000 square meter Grand Mutiara Ballroom for medium size function that can be tailored to any needs, including the city's most luxurious wedding and conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing