We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$133
Hotels.com$131
RitzCarlton.com$133
Booking.com$133
eDreams$133
Travelocity$131
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,236)
Filter reviews
2,236 results
Traveler rating
1,752
329
84
44
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,752
329
84
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asia restaurant mayfair suite grand room the club lounge excellent service business trip luxury hotel room service excellent stay spacious room f b front office lobo rc kuningan security services
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,711 - 1,716 of 2,236 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Was reasonably good. Connected to a big [...] mall. They had decent smallish business breakfast every day (still got eggs, etc the workz). Had a small but adequate gym but decent cold bath and sauna. Pool on 13th floor or something.

Room itself was pretty G, nice and BIG and the bathrooms were fairly massive. Nice TV, desk etc. The one good thing was that reception was fairly decent in that they kept giving us free bottles of water which I needed constantly due to my water addiction and u can't drink tap water there.

Had room service HEAPS due to me being lazy and in Jakarta you don't really walk outside at all. The room service food was ok, I got food poisoning in Jakarta (not sure what from) but everyone in the family did even though we didn't eat anywhere dodgy. Felt ok but just didn't feel "right"

Date of stay: May 2010
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MichaelJT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I think that because of Jakarta's past experience, their security is very tight. I was surprised and shocked to see how tight security is. One of a kind.

My experience at Ritz Carlton Jakarta is:
1. Security is tight and I will never get tired to repeat this. Don't be surprised if the guards at the entrance opens the door of your car to let dogs sniff. Don't be surprised if the guard at the hotel entrance x-rays your bag and asks you to stand in the "X" position because he will metal scan you.
2. Since security is tight, they DO NOT allow you to take pics of the hotel lobby. I experienced this. What hotel doesnt let tourist enjoy the scene and take pics? This hotel does.. an angry guard will approach you and watch you delete the photos.
3. Room is fantastic. No funky smell of mould whatsoever. Bathroom is also clean and great.
4. I slept like a baby! Normally I have to adjust my sleeping habits but the bed was so comfy I slept like a log.
5. Breakfast has a big array of choices from American breakfast of pancakes, omelets, chinese noodles, congee, Indonesian soup, etc etc
6. Hotel staff can speak English! But the entire city doesnt.
7. Visit the pool area.. lovely place.
8. For gym buffs out there.. ensure you bring your workout attire.
9. The spa opens early at 8am! I find it too costly when converted to my local currency =( But do visit it.
10. Housekeeping is clean!

When in Jakarta, be prepared to:
1. Find yourself lost in translation. The locals cannot speak English.
2. Experience heavy heavy traffic!
3. No pork can be found in local menu.
4. US Citizens has to pay $25 for Visa (upon arrival). Make sure you hop off the plane first and dash to the immigration as line will built up and the Immigration officers moves slowly.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DwTokidoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I had the opportunity to stay at the Ritz Carlton in Jakarta on a business trip in October. There are two Ritz Carltons in Jakarta and I believe this is the older property

When the car drove up, it did show a dated looking hotel with an old style lobby and elevators

The rooms though are really great. The hotel website promises the largest rooms in Jakarta and I think this is probably true. The rooms are big and this makes the stay much easier. When one gets in after spending an hour stuck in the traffic, the spacious room really lifts the spirits

The work area is really good and comfortable. The Internet speed is decent for most applications. The bed is large and very comfortable. The black out curtains work very well. The bathroom is large as well and everything works fine. I did have a problem with the draining of the shower stall but that was fixed immediately with just one phone call. No need for reminders or follow up calls

I tried the restaurant for the buffet breakfast and found it to be fairly good. They got the egg order right and the latte was really good. Made me go for a second round. I did try room service and the staples like the burger were very nice

This hotel also stands out for me because of its great service. Every request is promptly met and more importantly, executed correctly. The all to important check out where one is usually in a rush was also very quickly handled

All in all, a great hotel to stay while in Jakarta

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adesitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I travel to Jakarta regularly. Having experienced all 5 star hotels in this city, Ritz Carlton is by far the best. The facilities, the service, food, attention to detail, are all superb. There is certainly no place like home. But every time I stay at the Ritz, they surely make me feel as if I was home. I recommend this hotel to anyone over any other Hotel in Jakarta!

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guyinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We live in California but visit Jakarta often to visit relatives. Since we agree with most of the other reviewers, I will only point out what may not have been said before. We will not be reviewing this hotel per se, but rather give a comparison with other hotels of similar calibre, which for someone unfamiliar with Jakarta, may be difficult to compare.
1. For business travelers, its location within the Central Business District triangle is very convenient, although most of the 5 star hotels we like including the Kempinski and ShangriLa are even more centrally located. If you prefer cozy surroundings, the ShangriLa is a good choice, albeit a bit outdated. If you must stay in the newest hotel, then pick Kempinski, aware that rooms are much smaller than at the Ritz-Carlton. Comparable hotels like JW Marriott, Four Seasons, Intercontinental, Mulia and Gran Melia are nearby, but their rooms are a class below Ritz-Carlton standard. Jakarta's most elegant hotel, the Dharmawangsa, is a bit out in the Kemang suburb of Kebayoran Baru area. An Accor property that has been our favorite for years, is the Gran Mahakam, located in a shopping district in south Jakarta known as Blok M. Stay at the Dharmawangsa if you really want to be out of the hustle bustle of the city center, and at the Gran Mahakam if you yearn for a bit of Parisian indulgence and need not be right in the center of town.
2. For leisure purposes, the pool is good but the ShangriLa has the best pool for family, and the Borobudur (recently renovated but still showing its 30+ year old age) has the best Olympic lap pool. One of the reviewers mentioned proximity to a shopping mall. However, we have to caution not to expect luxurious nor well-laid out complex. Kuningan ITC and its neighboring Ambassador mall are intertwined and confusing. It boasts a Carrefour store but not in par with the best ones in town. If you are looking for quality goods and food, take a cab to Pacific Place, where the younger Ritz-Carlton is located. This Ritz-Carlton at Pacific Place, for a slightly higher rate, is even more posh and newer. It only has some 50 rooms, and in our experience is quickly booked. We recommend the hotel rooms rather than the serviced apartments for short stay unless you need your own kitchen.
3. In summary, we really like this Ritz-Carlton for its location and superb room with extravagant bathroom and high ceilings. Its drawback is the lack of attractive public areas despite the vast lobby and its stifling security checks (understandably so since it was and probably still is a target for bombing).

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NigellaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews