We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central entertaining area of Jakarta”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of grandkemang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
grandkemang Hotel
Ranked #76 of 456 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central entertaining area of Jakarta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I live in Jakarta but I never notice & stay in this hotel, until recently I attending business meeting on this hotel. The hotel actually after renovated, and everything looks new.
The meeting room was great, with great service & meals.

Pros: I love the location, I can walk to codefin, place with many restaurant, karaoke etc. In front of the hotel there is apartment with various shops. Don't worry about ATM, because a lot of ATM booth & Bank nearby. The hotel are located in perfect spot of Kemang area.
The hotel food taste is great. The staff also friendly. If you Moslem it is not difficult for you to pray on friday because the hotel also held friday pray on basement.
Cons: I stay in room 415, the view from my room is not good. I only see the big lamp spotting to the wall outside my room. But I am not stay long in my room so I am not really bother about it.

There rest is good. Spacious, clean & tidy room. When I have a problem with AC on my room, the room service responds quickly to my room and very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzyBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    238
    91
    23
    20
See reviews for
34
35
29
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Timika
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Pros:
The food was incredible. Some of the best I've had to date.
Great service from a friendly staff.
Comfortable and spacious rooms, recently renovated.
Upscale grocer across the street and new Lippo Mall a short walk behind.

Cons:
Housekeeping neglects the bathroom as there was mold/mildew the entire week I stayed there.
Bathrooms are in desperate need of an overhaul.

Dec 11-17 2012

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The best part about this hotel is the good location. There are plenty of eateries, bars around and if you have time for shopping, bingo! I received a corporate rate so the price seemed fine, but its a bit pricey if you have to pay the full rate for room.

One disappointing experience was the super slow room service so I hope they work on it a little. The food was good but the service quite slow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhawnaAhlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I like the location. Near Blok M and Senayan and Pondok Indah Mall. The hotel is a bit pricey for the style. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The bellboy explained all room facilities. I am an ex senior hotel executive from International Five Star hotels and somewhat scrutinising but my feedback is designed to be helpful. The room is neat, clean and tidy. The bath towels are too small and poor quality. Great shower pressure. Water in the shower not draining because of the wrong direction of the slope. Housekeeping were slow in delivering a cable to connect to the internet in the room. The WiFi should be extended to cover the rooms. I had breakfast - which is included - on the first day. I skipped it on the second day to go out and have a decent breakfast elsewhere. The food and service in the restaurant for breakfast is very very average. I had to find my own way to a table. The receptionist simply beckoned to me to enter the restaurant and did not take me to a table. The baked beans were inedible....bitter. The Grilled Tomatoes with cheese were not grilled and had no cheese. The coffee is undrinkable. A good Espresso Machine is a must in hotels nowadays. The focus is on local trade for breakfast and the foreign taste is not catered for. I will stay again because the rooms are comfortable and the location good but I would like an ex breakfast rate and an industry rate if possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horrie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Located in great location in Kemang, south jakarta. The room is old fashion, need to develop and make it looks younger again. The staff are nice and willing to help you with anything. The room service menu is good. Breakfast have lots choices from indonesian to western menu. Pool need to be more concern, last time i was there, no one to serve towel for the guest who swimming on the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnelia5484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed one night in October between flights. It is a long way from the airport if it is either raining and the traffic is bad or if it isn't raining and the traffic is bad. But then everywhere in Jakarta is a long way from the airport, unless you stay at the Sheraton there. And the traffic is always bad!
That said, courteous, helpful front desk, check-in and -out a breeze, nice large room, clean, comfortable bed, phone, TV. Everything I need in a hotel. Breakfast included was a good selection and well presented.
I didn't try the restaurant in the evening, preferring to pop across to the "Eastern Promise" pub just across the street which has a good atmosphere, live music on the weekends and live sports on a big screen TV (catering mostly to the expat contingent). They do a fine curry and I have always enjoyed my time there, although I haven't been able to review them on TripAdvisor.
The pub attached to the Grand Kemang has been almost totally empty the last three times I have been in, but i got my drinks quickly. Food was nothing to write home about, though.
Yes, I'd stay here again - it was good hotel reasonably priced and if you need one in this area, an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Family group from OZ were attending a wedding in Jakarta. We had two double delux rooms and one family suite over five days. Great venue and really helpful staff. Easy to organise wedding(off venue) with the various comings and goings of family members and wedding details, clothes fittings etc etc.
The hotel is well organised, clean, spacious recently refurbished.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustralianVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Mampang Prapatan
POP! Hotel Kemang Jakarta
POP! Hotel Kemang Jakarta
#78 of 456 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Kemang Icon By Alila
#124 of 456 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Jakarta Simatupang
#33 of 456 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Kebayoran Baru
THE 1O1 Jakarta Sedayu Darmawangsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to grandkemang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about grandkemang Hotel

Property: grandkemang Hotel
Address: Jl. Kemang Raya 2H, Jakarta 12550, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#59 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — grandkemang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your grandkemang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandkemang Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing