We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a boutique hotel”
Review of grandkemang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
grandkemang Hotel
Ranked #85 of 463 Hotels in Jakarta
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Almost a boutique hotel”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed one night in October between flights. It is a long way from the airport if it is either raining and the traffic is bad or if it isn't raining and the traffic is bad. But then everywhere in Jakarta is a long way from the airport, unless you stay at the Sheraton there. And the traffic is always bad!
That said, courteous, helpful front desk, check-in and -out a breeze, nice large room, clean, comfortable bed, phone, TV. Everything I need in a hotel. Breakfast included was a good selection and well presented.
I didn't try the restaurant in the evening, preferring to pop across to the "Eastern Promise" pub just across the street which has a good atmosphere, live music on the weekends and live sports on a big screen TV (catering mostly to the expat contingent). They do a fine curry and I have always enjoyed my time there, although I haven't been able to review them on TripAdvisor.
The pub attached to the Grand Kemang has been almost totally empty the last three times I have been in, but i got my drinks quickly. Food was nothing to write home about, though.
Yes, I'd stay here again - it was good hotel reasonably priced and if you need one in this area, an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    260
    105
    23
    22
See reviews for
41
42
32
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Parkdale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Family group from OZ were attending a wedding in Jakarta. We had two double delux rooms and one family suite over five days. Great venue and really helpful staff. Easy to organise wedding(off venue) with the various comings and goings of family members and wedding details, clothes fittings etc etc.
The hotel is well organised, clean, spacious recently refurbished.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustralianVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Together with my husband and our son, we're regular customer of this hotel, usually come every 3-4 months, for the last 3 years.
We pick this hotel, due to: 1) its location, -near to activities during our stay in Jakarta-,
2) its room size -many options from Standard to Executive Suite-, 3) its relatively affordable price -EUR120 or US$160 for a 30sqm room, incl breakfast & wired internet, 4) ambience of a grand hotel. It was faded, but now trying to re-shine

Due to its location - which is a little bit secluded, on (deep) south side of Jakarta - naturally, this is not the hotel if your activities is at downtown.
Traffic in Jakarta is at the point that we have to be ready to spend hours in car, -only to go to central, from south-, or vice versa.
From the airport it took 2 hours by outer ring road, and we'll arrive at this hotel. Definitely not a new one, but have made significant 'face lift' program recently, low rise building, built on a huge lot, and lots of the rooms are newly furbished.

Check in process is effective. We don't take standard room because not enough space for our 2 y.o son. Usually we take Grand Deluxe room type. It is spacious, but unfortunately, even with 120 euro/nite, lots of the rooms still have only shower, thus, no bath tub. This things could be improved, then.

Breakfast is good. Tasty, various cold & hot dishes, but no fresh juice.
A staff at egg & waffle stand, ready to cook them any style, on demand.
Service is also good, few times I saw clients complaint were handled and settled directly.
On the other side, few time I found some guests with "?" attitude, speaking and laughing loudly, but unfortunately no one complain about this, neither any hotel staff warning them to behave properly. This could be area of improvement for the hotel, to pay attention to all hotel guests.

Hotel facilities is ok, but still have to improve.
The pool just in front of the restaurant, -with separated kids pool-, is a decent size, but the water sometimes could be not very clear.
The restaurant serve good menu for lunch & dinner, as well as the Irish pub, but food quality is not always good. Not always use fresh products.
Business center offering good service but pricey.
Concierge could help to get a cab and to give direction, but unfortunately not always the right one.

Check out is not always smooth. Most of the time because they need time to check the minibar.
Due to this, usually, at check in, I ask hotel staff to take out all stuffs from the fridge.
After all, we can easily buy same products -at Kemchicks supermarket, across the hotel, at half price-, or -even cheaper, at Circle K, just few hundred metres on the left side of the hotel-.

All in all, this is an old hotel, furbished, has the charm of a grand hotel at its time, but has to improve many things, to catch up with the "now" time.

Especially, with some new hotels just opened in the same area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rennes_france
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a little far away from the airport, which means by jakarta trafiic at least 1,5 - 2 hours away. Moden hotel with nice and spaceous rooms. Price incl. breakfast is very good. Breakfast buffet offers everythnig you like incl. eggs or pancakes made to order. Corporate rate is 78 Euro incl. free WiFi. A little slow, but ok for mails. Offers business facilites for seminars and customer receptions. Prcie per guest incl. lunch buffet and room, projector and set up is ca. 25 Euro.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskies15-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel (for me) is a welcome change to the huge central chains that exist for oil execs and the odd president - full of prostitutes and are so isolated in the traffic, that it is a cab to anywhere!
Here in Kemang you can walk to bars and across the road to a supermarket.
The area is full of bars and restaurants. Such a breath of fresh air (if that's possible in Jakarta :) ).
The hotel - well, I arrived very late due to the pathetic baggage reclaim at the airport - and ended up being given a smoking room. Not bad in itself, as the aircon shifted any smell, but the whole floor stunk of stale tobacco. I just hope my clothes aren't stinking when I get to KL.
The rooms are fine - a little tatty, but as a previous poster commented, this must be due to the constant trade. The internet is only wired, so iPad users, you'll be in the lobby, as I was!
There is a "British" pub on the premises - popular with locals, and you can get Bintang by the pint :)
Breakfast, good - no complaints - though do watch for the local ex-pat who comes in everyday and pays for breakfast, but also fills a carrier bag with pastries and eats about 9 plates of food. Good entertainment value ;)
Pool a bit small, but you can sit out there in the sun if you so wish, water looked a little discoloured.
Staff, helpful enough.
Location - as I mentioned, is excellent, though a LONG way from the airport - be prepared for a two hour trip in Friday traffic.
Will be back again, due to the location. In fact as I have to come to Jakarta 3 times a year, and two of those with colleagues, I think this will be our new base.
The only downside (apart from the smoking room) was the noise from a nightclub on the Thursday night - my jetlag was very bad at this point, and the two things combined resulted in 3 hours sleep - not good when you have to attend important meetings the next day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
968 reviews
321 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 761 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Grand Kemang for a workshop for several days over the Eid ul Fitri holidays.

Pros
• Free wired Internet in room, free wi-fi in lobby and restaurants
• Very nice room with refrigerator, TV with premium channels
• Very good breakfast included in room rate. Good variety
• Extraordinarily tasty food at main coffee shop/restaurant. Understand they have Australian chef. Recommend back ribs and baked salmon
• Friendly and helpful staff
• They provided 2 pm late check-out
• Don't know if plus or minus, but lots of wasted space.
• Good location with little competition in Kemang area
• Walking distance to many restaurants, Kem Chick supermarket
• Comfortable bed and pillow

Cons
• Noisy. The room next to mine was one of two rooms rented by two families, one after the other, with children running between rooms and knocking on doors.
• Many families over the holidays. Don't know about business days
• Have a function room with separate entrance but crowds often spill into lobby

Perhaps because we got a special rate over the Eid ul Fitri holidays, I felt this hotel was a very good value, especially because of the freshness and quality of the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 12 nights. The hotel is comfortable and reasonably priced. The rooms were comfortable although the linen and bath towels were sometimes still slightly grubby. My real gripe concerned the incredibly slow Internet facilities. For a hotel of this calibre catering to the business community it shoul be much quicker.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Kemang Icon Hotel
#145 of 463 in Jakarta
183 reviews
Mampang Prapatan
POP! Hotel Kemang Jakarta
POP! Hotel Kemang Jakarta
#92 of 463 in Jakarta
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kebayoran Baru
THE 1O1 Jakarta Sedayu Darmawangsa
favehotel Kemang
#120 of 463 in Jakarta
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to grandkemang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about grandkemang Hotel

Property: grandkemang Hotel
Address: Jl. Kemang Raya 2H, Jakarta 12550, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#64 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — grandkemang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your grandkemang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandkemang Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing