We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly and very old feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paragon Gallery Hotel
Ranked #371 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I didnt like the front desk staff instantly as they kept asking for deposits day by day and were very demanding in their approach. Not only that, they were also reminding us daily that hotel rates are rising. I didnt find it value for money as the rooms smelled so old and reek of smoke. The bedlinen, towels and condition of the toilet and room was really crying out for a renovation. Just too old. Breakfast wasnt great either. There are others much better along this same road for far cheaper rates. For Rp375,000 per nite, I didnt like it at all and checked out the next day and moved to ROTA hotel along the same road too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliabee1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 32 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2009

This is an older Hotel but the public areas were well mantained. Best of all is its location and price. We stayed in the deluxe room. It was adequate. The Ibis Tamrin looked nicer. But the Paragon is within walking distance to the Train Station. I wished they had a swimming pool though.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craneboywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We stayed at this hotel a few times before. It has never been good, but the low rate (280,000rp) and the great ikan bakar (baked fish) stall across the road brought us back.

This time the rate was 400,000rp. I was hoping that rise was due to some refurbishment. Boy, was I wrong. Step in to the room and the familiar smell of stale cigarette still greets you. The carpet had gotten even dirtier. I could not walk on it bare feet as it was damp and sticky.

One thing that I did liked about this hotel is the shower's strong water pressure. However, the water outlet was so stuck that after less than half a minute, you'd be up to your ankles in water and whatever bodily fluids you have expelled. Another 2 minutes and the water would have overflowed into the bathroom, and inching towards the the door. Another minute or so, the room carpet would be soaked.

Bed sheets were very worn as usual, as were the curtains. The TV was barely functioning with only a few channels in English. That's when we decided we would look for another hotel the next day after breakfast. We're not fussy, but we have our limits!

Breakfast was where they really outdid themselves. There was soup, probably cream soup, but I could not identify it, and neither could the waiter! Flat and tasteless. Just as flat and tasteless were the pancakes. It tasted like it was made from the soup. You'd have to soak it in syrup till it was soggy to be able to eat it. Then they ran out of syrup.

The cut fruits were limp and looked pitiful. They were sitting in a bowl, in an inch of they're own juice which had drained out of them over the past few hours.

Drinks. I've always enjoyed fruit juice in Indonesia, but this hotel doesn't offer fresh fruit juice,or even from a packet. It was a cordial, and it was warm.

The toaster seemed to be working, or at least it's conveyor belt was. Put a slice of bread into it, and it comes out a minute later ever so slightly warmer, probably from the heat generated by the motorised belt. In fact, the orange cordial was warmer than my "toast".

There were a few bowls of noodles which you can pour hot soup over, but there were no more soup. Someone had also forgotten to refill the teapot, so no tea either. They even ran out of the ubiquitous fried rice! I had an omelet, the only thing edible there..

We originally checked in for four nights. Needless to say, we check out that morning. We won't be returning to this hotel. It wasn't the straw that broke the camel's back: it was a whole bale.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Burrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

I am a very exerienced traveler and recently stayed at the Paragon Hotel in Jakarta. The hotel staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean, but the hotel itself is in a questionable neighborhood. At night the hotel turns out all the lights and it is very, very dark. I was certain I was going to get mugged by five men walking back to the hotel from Starbucks around midnight. Female travelers should definitely be cautious about staying in this part of town. I'm a big guy and it's one of only three times in my lifetime I've truly been fearful for my safety. The hotel is also not in a convenient location, and although the hotel staff is very helpful and flag down taxis and tuk-tuks for you, if you're a traveler who prefers to walk, just know you're going to be hoofin' it quite a bit during your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Granlundbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

The hotel is 7 storey high, ideally located in centre of jakarta and yet away from the loud noise and traffic woes. 5 min taxi ride to Tanah abang and gambir train station. Tried looking for convenience store like 7-Eleven but couldn’t find any. The nearest supermarket is at Plaza Sarinah, 15 min walk from hotel. So can buy drinks and food here.

Suite room was spacious though furniture seems old. Broken bathroom mirror wasn’t replaced. No kettle to boil water. Only warm water given in flask. Many tv channels available. Staffs were also friendly and helpful. But limited breakfast choice.

For food, plenty of roadside stalls on the sidewalk can be found at reasonable price. Don’t forget to try out the seafood restaurant across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ampang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andarulita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roslan_harianja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Grand Cemara Hotel
Grand Cemara Hotel
#198 of 464 in Jakarta
101 reviews
Menteng
Cemara Hotel
Cemara Hotel
#203 of 464 in Jakarta
61 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Cipta
Hotel Cipta
#296 of 464 in Jakarta
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
#193 of 464 in Jakarta
8 reviews
Menteng
Dreamtel Jakarta
Dreamtel Jakarta
#241 of 464 in Jakarta
82 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Menteng I
Hotel Menteng I
#353 of 464 in Jakarta
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paragon Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paragon Gallery Hotel

Address: Jl. KH Wahid Hasyim 29, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: $21 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paragon Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paragon Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing