We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paragon Gallery Hotel
Ranked #371 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed one night as part of a tour. Everything in this hotel was way below any standard. Room was dirty, bathroom even worse. Had we known this we would have stayed in our original hotel and joined the group next morning.

Room Tip: There is no good room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbugCanada2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Paragon Gallery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for just the one night a t the start of an Intrepid Advetures trip through Java and Bali. One night was enough for reasons that were not totally the fault of the hotel.
To be fair, it's a perfectly decent hotel without exactly setting the world alight. Its pretty 'middle-of-the-road', nothing special, but certainly not a bad joint and certainly not somewhere I would warn travellers away from.
One if the main problems is its location, most decidedly underwhelming. Jakarta has many 'centres' and this purports to be in one of them, but I have to say, the area around the hotel was horrible. And boring. Eating out options are pretty poor, as are drinking.... but in fairness again, we were there during Ramadan!
The rooms are okay, clean enough but again,. nothing to write homer about. To be honest, the whole place was so samey that even after a week I couldn't remember much detail about it except what I wrote in my journal - which I raided to write this!
The staff were great though, really friendly. The breakfast was adequate, the wifi was geologically slow.
So stay in the Paragon by all means and have no worries about it. Just don't stay too long, you;''ll be pretty bored. We were not fans of Jakarta at all!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was a dated hotel with a large, gaudy reception hiding the worn nature of the establishment. The room was dark and the furniture very dusty. The bathroom was basic. I had to ask for the bed sheets to be changed as there were stains on them. The replacement sheets they brought also had stains, and the staff had to bring three sets of sheets before we found one without stains (but it had holes in it)!

Breakfast was buffet style and consisted mostly of Asian options. I had to request eggs, and these were made in 15 minutes.

There did not seem to be much around the immediate vicinity of the hotel and the area looked a bit run down.

It cost us 112,000 Rupiah to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel, and the journey was about an hour. Make sure you take one of the official taxis from the rank at the airport as there are many touts about who end up charging more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skylarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

When I got business at Jakarta, I'm booking here. But was accident happened, then I stay for one night. It cost about 750000 rupiahs. It quiet old botel, maybe need upgrading for the quality. There is no bath tub when I stay. The breakfast was terrible, no bakery and other delicious menu. Hope it reconstruct again so people stay long time.

Room Tip: You can choose what type of room you like
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowoOkaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I didnt like the front desk staff instantly as they kept asking for deposits day by day and were very demanding in their approach. Not only that, they were also reminding us daily that hotel rates are rising. I didnt find it value for money as the rooms smelled so old and reek of smoke. The bedlinen, towels and condition of the toilet and room was really crying out for a renovation. Just too old. Breakfast wasnt great either. There are others much better along this same road for far cheaper rates. For Rp375,000 per nite, I didnt like it at all and checked out the next day and moved to ROTA hotel along the same road too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliabee1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

This is an older Hotel but the public areas were well mantained. Best of all is its location and price. We stayed in the deluxe room. It was adequate. The Ibis Tamrin looked nicer. But the Paragon is within walking distance to the Train Station. I wished they had a swimming pool though.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craneboywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We stayed at this hotel a few times before. It has never been good, but the low rate (280,000rp) and the great ikan bakar (baked fish) stall across the road brought us back.

This time the rate was 400,000rp. I was hoping that rise was due to some refurbishment. Boy, was I wrong. Step in to the room and the familiar smell of stale cigarette still greets you. The carpet had gotten even dirtier. I could not walk on it bare feet as it was damp and sticky.

One thing that I did liked about this hotel is the shower's strong water pressure. However, the water outlet was so stuck that after less than half a minute, you'd be up to your ankles in water and whatever bodily fluids you have expelled. Another 2 minutes and the water would have overflowed into the bathroom, and inching towards the the door. Another minute or so, the room carpet would be soaked.

Bed sheets were very worn as usual, as were the curtains. The TV was barely functioning with only a few channels in English. That's when we decided we would look for another hotel the next day after breakfast. We're not fussy, but we have our limits!

Breakfast was where they really outdid themselves. There was soup, probably cream soup, but I could not identify it, and neither could the waiter! Flat and tasteless. Just as flat and tasteless were the pancakes. It tasted like it was made from the soup. You'd have to soak it in syrup till it was soggy to be able to eat it. Then they ran out of syrup.

The cut fruits were limp and looked pitiful. They were sitting in a bowl, in an inch of they're own juice which had drained out of them over the past few hours.

Drinks. I've always enjoyed fruit juice in Indonesia, but this hotel doesn't offer fresh fruit juice,or even from a packet. It was a cordial, and it was warm.

The toaster seemed to be working, or at least it's conveyor belt was. Put a slice of bread into it, and it comes out a minute later ever so slightly warmer, probably from the heat generated by the motorised belt. In fact, the orange cordial was warmer than my "toast".

There were a few bowls of noodles which you can pour hot soup over, but there were no more soup. Someone had also forgotten to refill the teapot, so no tea either. They even ran out of the ubiquitous fried rice! I had an omelet, the only thing edible there..

We originally checked in for four nights. Needless to say, we check out that morning. We won't be returning to this hotel. It wasn't the straw that broke the camel's back: it was a whole bale.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Burrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Cemara Hotel
Cemara Hotel
#197 of 464 in Jakarta
61 reviews
Menteng
Dreamtel Jakarta
Dreamtel Jakarta
#238 of 464 in Jakarta
82 reviews
Menteng
Grand Cemara Hotel
Grand Cemara Hotel
#199 of 464 in Jakarta
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Hotel Cipta
Hotel Cipta
#270 of 464 in Jakarta
59 reviews
MaxOneHotels at Sabang
#151 of 464 in Jakarta
350 reviews
Menteng
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
#194 of 464 in Jakarta
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paragon Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paragon Gallery Hotel

Address: Jl. KH Wahid Hasyim 29, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: $21 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paragon Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Paragon Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing