We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go with small children and not worth the high price!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jakarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sepa Island Resort Hotel
Ranked #253 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not go with small children and not worth the high price!!!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We made a two night reservation here through a travel agent for a quick get away from Jakarta. We were given a room that was smelly and moldy. Unfortunately did not have an option to change rooms, or get out of this place (given it is an Island), as it was full over a long weekend. Like the other comment the room we got had a giant rat in it and we did not get any sleep. We were given a better room the second night after complaining.. It was just slightly cleaner.
This place should not be called resort! The food was ok and the quality is questionable. not clean at all!,, The water comes from a well it seemed and had to use it for washing and was salty. Could not use it for brushing teeth. The linen was old and musty!
The only good thing about the place was the beach which we spent the entire day at. The snorkeling and water sports were decent. The safety is however not that great.
The boat that took us to the island and back was old and one the way back It rained and It was not at all pleasant.... the kids were really nervous and so was I. I would not go back!!
Not worth paying five star price for this! What a scam!!!!!!!!!!
I would rather fly to Thailand.!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    22
    12
    9
See reviews for
18
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We planned to escape the weekend with our 1 1/2 old child. We thought Sepa island is a good choice.

First of all, they have no baby cot. You need to bring yours.

The island is 90 min from Jakarta by boat and bigger than other islands in that region. However, the island is devided by different owners and you cannot walk around the island. You need to stay in the premises of the resort ... And that is not too big. You do it in 10 min walking.

What else do you do on the island? The beach is not so bad. Water is clean and ok for snorkeling. Apart from that you spend your day waiting for the food. My wife went to the kitchen to ask for some milk. She saw bugs everywhere and the staff smoking in the kitchen.... That was enough for us having any food. But there is no other option. You need to eat what is cooked for everyone.

We décided to go early to bed. Not only did the room smell badly, everything was pretty old.

We put a mosquito net around the baby cot and went to sleep. At 3 am my wife woke me up. She was an animal in the room.. I looked behind the cupboard and found a rat... You can imagine our excitement.

The remaining time on the island was a fight against the time to leave that place.

We met two other families on the island. The were supposed to stay longer. They left also the day after.

Only the locals seemed to enjoy. They spent their time watching TV, taking pictures or sending messages with their mobile phones.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cedrovichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonosobo, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We went there on August 31st, 2011 using speed boat Charter, Maharani 1. We did not stay at the hotel, only visiting this island.

Entrance fee is Rp 70.000 / person
if you want to have lunch there, costs Rp 150.000/ person for entrance and lunch
Snorkeling equipment rental is Rp 85.000/ set

Three colours sea view with turqoise, dark red, and blue color.

The guardian said, be carefull when going to the dark red sea,there are so many sea urchins there.

We were snorkeling not too far from the beach, white sands beach, but when you step into the sea, be careful with the corals, keep swimming over 5 metres from the beach,
Our children had so much fun in this island.

You can feed the fist in the water with some bread or rice in your hands, then the fishes will come over,

We were so happy when finding this island, we want to show to our children, there is a clean and nice beach near Jakarta, only 1.5 hours from Marina Ancol.

When i saw the accommodation, i think they are clean enough.
There are few of local tourists, mostly are overseas guests, so it's really comfortable.

This island is really good for weekend escape, or family gathering.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarineDylant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Room door had to be lifted to be opened as screws falling out and maintainence a major issue. Room smelled bad, and bathroom worse. No shower and could do with a makeover. Holes in walls and a weird un-coated wall lining that was damp. Bed and clean sheets good. Two nights was long enough and it was highly overpriced. Food average, and staff friendly.
Definitely not worth the price - just paying for the location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeAnauGuitargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guangzhou
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

The island was very clean considering the fact that the island is quite further away from Marina Ancol. The nature was great there, I snorkeled, fed the fish, water was clear :) And had a great new experience with scuba diving there. People who taught me how to dive was very friendly, too :)

The food was so-so.

They need to improve with their hotel and bathroom though, but the service was brilliant. The people was so friendly there. :D

I will come again some time in the future :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scazanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadeyy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Sepa Island was amazing.
The resort however wasn't a great.
The toilet was a "scoopy" toilet and the floor got wet every time you had a shower. The hot water was non-existent and the pillows and bed were like sleeping on cement. There was no fridge, and the tv was completly in Bahasa (this is not that bad) BUT the aircon did work for us.
The staff was friendly despite the run-down facitlities.
The food actually wasn't that bad except one chicken dish that had the consistency of cat... but was good nonetheless.
The jetski's weren't working which was dissapointing but the snorkelling was amazing!
The water is so beautiful and warm all the time. Simply watching the sunset was worth the ridiculous price. The coral reef is really worth coming for- watch out for the sea urchins but!

Overall, yes I would go back to Sepa, this time with my besfriend. I wouldn't recomend it to those who are looking for a goodnights rest, backpackers would find the facitlities much like those in a very, very low budget hostel but it is a bit out of their price range.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nadeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We spent 2 nights at the Sepa Island Resort, one of the resorts in the Thousand Islands offered by the travel agent in Jakarta. It was the most expensive choice (over $200/night, more than we've ever paid at a hotel in Indonesia during our 2 years here). However, we decided to treat ourselves and splurge. Unfortunately, the resort was run-down.

Problems started arising right away. The one boat each day from Jakarta arrives at Sepa before 10 a.m., which turns out to be poor timing. With check-out at noon, we (understandably) couldn't get into the room until after 1. However, there is no place to change to enjoy the beach and a walk around the island takes less than 30 minutes. So we spent several hours sitting around waiting for our room.

When we got to the room, the airconditioning didn't work, there was no hot water, and no refrigerator (as advertised on the website and needed for storing medication). It took repeated trips to the front desk to get the AC fixed; it was finally repaired around 9 p.m. The missing gas tank for the hot water didn't show up until the next day. Then, on the day after that, there was neither hot water nor water pressure.

Meanwhile, the bungalow itself was in poor condition. It was decorated with stained wallpaper, damaged ceilings, and most of the fixtures lacked light bulbs. The bed had a metal spring sticking up about 6 inches from the edge of the bed. The dimly lit bathroom consisted of a rusty mirror, a toilet, and a shower head sticking out of the wall, meaning that the entire bathroom floor got soaked during a shower. As a result of the wet floor, I slipped one morning, cutting my foot on the edge of the tile that separates the bathroom from the main room and consequently preventing me from going into the salt water during the rest of our stay.

Ah, the water. The redeeming features of the resort were the clean beach and the gentle warm water. It was possible to see many fish with the naked eye just standing on the beach or on one of the island's piers. My husband saw large schools of fish while snorkeling around the coral reef that rings the island.

All in all, this was a disappointment vacation. The resort is tired and consequently overpriced, a sentiment shared by other guests with whom we spoke. The conditions of the bungalow and lackluster meals would've been acceptable at a fraction of the price.

  • Liked — The clean beach and warm water
  • Disliked — The run-down bungalows.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rocket_s_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerSepa, Owner at Sepa Island Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2008
for all our value customer :

Thank to all comment about Sepa Island Resort,
I'll try to re-conditions for : Rooms, Cleanliness, Services,..... and..... management !

Your comment give me power to recovery,
I'll DO IT !

.... some day......
Sepa Island Resort :
One of the best "very small island" in the world
I'm Sure...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Mercure Convention Center
#112 of 464 in Jakarta
974 reviews
Pademangan
Putri Duyung Ancol
Putri Duyung Ancol
#229 of 464 in Jakarta
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
FM7 Resort Hotel Jakarta
#44 of 464 in Jakarta
1,498 reviews
Tanah Abang
Fairmont Jakarta
Fairmont Jakarta
#6 of 464 in Jakarta
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepa Island Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepa Island Resort Hotel

Property: Sepa Island Resort Hotel
Address: Jln. Sepat | Kab. Adm. Kep. Seribu, Jakarta 14450, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jakarta
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Sepa Island Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing