We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will do for a short stay”
Review of Ambhara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambhara Hotel
Ranked #179 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It will do for a short stay”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three days and the hotel is adeqate for my needs. The rooms are cozy with no view and one of the problems I had was fix immediately. The staff was knoweledgeable and very helpfully. Another problem dealt with was the free breakfast. The website I book with said free breakfast and I was also told when I check-in late at night that I had it but in the morning I was told that free breakfast is for only the people who book on there website. Finally, although they have wi-fi you constantly have to reenter the code. Unlike most places I have stayed at the wi-fi was remember my deices and you where not kicked off after one hour.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank richj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    100
    78
    18
    4
See reviews for
10
12
21
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Situated in the south Jakarta, one of the pioneer hotel in town, staff is friendly, room & bath is nice, but not so spacious for my standard room.Food is good, and the ambience suitable for business meeting.Would suggest this hotel for anyone travelling to south Jakarta for sure.

Helpful?
Thank synovates
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
275 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I had regularly frequented the Ambhara hotel in 2009, mainly because of the central location. The past 2 months I have spent several nights there, and noticed that the rooms, corridors, lobby and main restaurant have not changed at all even though at least rooms and the somewhat dark corridors would require renovation since that time. One important improvement achieved only this month is free wireless internet access in the rooms, fast and reliable. The available breakfast fare is still the same, sufficient for everybody’s taste. Check in and check out might take time because at times only one person serves at the reception. When I asked for express laundry, handing in 1 shirt before 19hh and expecting to get it back the next morning, I was told that such service does not exist anymore. The staff is very friendly, but cleaning could be better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilovolt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel looked old but the room is pretty clean. However, the bathtub has definitely seen better days. The bed is a bit too soft for my liking and the huge CRT TV and its cabinet made the room looking outdated. The staff is able to speak English though some not as good but you won't have much problem talking to them. They are also rather polite and helpful though a few instances of lapse can been seen during breakfast and housekeeping but nothing seriously damaging though.
The breakfast choices are too limited for my liking and most if not all remains the same everyday.

The location of the hotel is adjacent to the Pasaraya but I would rather give that a miss and take a short taxi ride to the nearby Plaza Blok M where there's more to see and buy as well as eat.

The hotel transfer offered is rather expensive, I would go to one of the counters at the airport which is cheaper and comfortable as well and that's what we did.

The number of TV channels available are good and the wifi works well.

If I were to be in the area again, this hotel will definitely be at the top of my list.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing Pasaraya as the neighboring building blocks the view and might find it too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ykhppc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Actually I have been staying in this hotel a few times before (since 2007),and if meetings are taking place in Jakarta-Pilogadung, I always try to get a room here (not always available).
Check-in easy, rooms big enough, a bit cramped, though; bath room sufficiently equipped.
Decent breakfast provided in the coffee house (which also has wire less internet access, plus, there is a Deli near the reception, where one can have coffee, drinks and food - and smoking; plus, of course, wireless internet access.
Internet access in the rooms is meanwhile available.
This hotel is located in Block M, a relatively quiet neighbourhood in Jakarta, although traffic is as bad as everywhere in Jakarta.
Just beside the hotel is one of the huge shopping malls, incl. starbucks (walking distance, just across the road), other big, new malls are within a short driving distance.
Staff in the hotel very good, helpful and friendly, although this hotel is sometimes very crowded.
Travel time from here to Pulo Gadung (one of the main industrial areas) on a Saturday morning abut 20 minutes, travel time from here to the airport on a Saturday afternoon around 25 to 30 minutes. on normal weekdays the traffic conditions are worst, so better calculate at least double for traveling times.

Room Tip: you can choose between smoking and non-smoking floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetalingJayaHans47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We put up at this hotel recently because of a meeting that took place 100m away from the hotel. This hotel has been around for awhile, unfortunately, not very well-maintained. Rooms are small, looked and feel old and worn-out, so are many other areas of the property. Had to change rooms twice due to faulty air-con and toilet.The rates aren't cheap either, maybe because of its location. However, there are many other hotels in the area. Nothing much to brag abt the food, there are many eateries outside the hotel. Maybe the front office staffs need more training, but the rest are pretty OK.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozaq71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Ambhara is a business hotel. This is one of the old world hotels and mostly scores because of it's location in M-Block.

I would give three stars for just the hotel but the location deserves the extra star. You can walk up to everywhere here including the pubs and the different places to eat. Breakfast is a good spread but could make it more exciting.

Rooms are what you expect in business hotels with very good customer service. There is a pub and live music downstairs if you wish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Hotel Neo Melawai - Jakarta
#104 of 465 in Jakarta
209 reviews
Kebayoran Baru
M Hotel
M Hotel
#125 of 465 in Jakarta
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kebayoran Baru
favehotel Melawai
favehotel Melawai
#191 of 465 in Jakarta
105 reviews
Amos Cozy Hotel
#154 of 465 in Jakarta
158 reviews
Griyadi Blue Pacific Hotel
#291 of 465 in Jakarta
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambhara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambhara Hotel

Property: Ambhara Hotel
Address: Jln. Iskandarsyah I no. 1, Jakarta 12160, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Kebayoran Baru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#94 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambhara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambhara Hotel Jakarta's The 4-star Hotel located in South Jakarta merges contemporary European ambiance with Indonesian hospitality. Our hotel offers 203 cozy Deluxe Room and 19 spacious suites. All Ambhara Hotel's room are equipped with 32 inch TV, high speed internet connection, comfortable duvet, coffee maker and writing desk. Smoking and Non Smoking rooms are available on request. At the Ambhara Hotel Jakarta, a group of experienced event & banquet organizers will assist you with your meetings, gatherings, weddings and special events. There are 13 venues for your function needs and a wide range of facilities to cater all your requirements. Please contact our expert banquet sales team for your outside catering function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambhara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambhara Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing