We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #47 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We Stayed for four nights at deluxe Room, my Room very good ambiance and clean, staf was good service to me, breakfast was very good also, alot of choises Bread and item, location located at central city, easy to Go shopping mall, sure good experience for me

Room Tip: Facing to Rasuna Said street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write with your most positive review.

We are so pleased you found JSL to your liking.

We look forward to having you back on your next visit and till then ......safe and happy travels.

kind regards

richard mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    148
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
42
47
18
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakar, Bhutan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Out of my expectation, room so small but good interior, good city view and pool, located at rasuna said street central city, food need more variety but taste is good, but over all just a business hotel four star.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write with your comments.

At 28 sq meters we consider our standard deluxe room to be of the international standard in all 4 star business hotels worldwide.

Our business model is value at an attractive price with free WIFI along with being clean and safe.

Thank you for staying with us and we wish you safe travels

kind regards

richard mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed there for a two nights business trip.

The hotel organises an airport transfer for 375.000 Rupiah (c. 40 Euro) with the Golden Bird taxi company. Their desk is right beside the exit at the Jakarta airport and they provide a comfortable private car with driver. It is not really far to the hotel, but distances are just a rough indicator in Jakarta due to very heavy traffic. It took c. 2,5 hours getting there and only 1 hour 20 minutes getting back to the airport. But this is normal in Jakarta in case you're not aware...

The hotel is brand new, modern and clean. Rooms are of a decent size with a good size bathroom. Internet is free. The large bed offers a variety of pillows, which I consider to be the sign of a good hotel.

The service is really excellent. The staff really go out of their way to be helpfull.

The location: In the new business district. Most insurance companies (AIG,Allianz, Axa,...) have their offices in walking distance. There is a small shopping mall with a Pizza Hut, 7-11 and other stores besides the hotel, which I found quite convenient.

Breakfast offers a variety of western and asian dishes.

Value: Superb value. We payed c. 1.500.000 Rupiah per night, which is c. 100 Euro.

Single drawback: I did have the impression that despite beeing on the 19th floor, there was a noticeable street noise. Probably the windows isolate the sound not fully. For me it was OK and a colleague didn't notice at all

Highly recommendable, especially if you consider the price. Would have been a good choice at the double price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCGN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed and complete review.

It is most satisfying when a guest sees our product as we have presented it. As you can see by some of our reviews, they vary greatly from how you have evaluated JS Luwansa. However, these perceptions are the minority and while we must respect our other guest perceptions, your are highly appreciated.

Service and value are our 2 most important ideals right up there with safety, security and comfort.

We look forward to your return visit and until then.....safe and happy travels!

kind regards


richard mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

PROs

- friendly and accommodating hotel staff
- modern and clean hotel room
- comfy bed
- fast internet (wifi)
- one of the best tiramisu experience
- located at business district and nearby malls

CONs

- no lounge area at the reception. only a handful of chairs. better to stay at the restaurant

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellomadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us with your most favorable review.

We appreciate your staying with us and hope you will once again consider us for the future.

Until then....happy and safe travels!

kind regards

richard mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed with you from nov 13-19 and had a very pleasant stay. I just want to commend Andri at your concierge desk for being so helpful and efficient. He helped us with our tours and promptly ensured we always got taxis while keeping us updated with the traffic. He was also well spoken and was always cool and smiling. Tell him that we appreciated all his efforts and to keep up the good work. Kevin was likewise friendly and helpful. More power to you!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelitv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us with your kind comments.

I personally greatly appreciate your recognizing Andri and Kevin for their efforts. Its great knowing their hard work gets noticed and I'm even more happy to let you know that these two fine young men are being promoted into positions of more responsibility where they can do even more for our guests and the service we provide. They deserve it! Our guests deserve it and we look forward to welcoming all of you!

Happy and safe travels!

kind regards

richard mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since last Saturday and will still be staying here until next Monday 18 Nov. Usually I waited until the end of my trip to do reviews. But having been here for 5 consecutive nights, i think it is fair enough to do the review. The hotel has staffs have been constantly showing a great standard of service. I moved out from a hotel around this area because their poor service in general. When i got here, i was really impressed with the service from various staffs. Breakfast is superb, If the hotel manager reads this, please pass my compliments to the pastry chef. I'm a croissant lover, and always compare the croissant taste in many hotels I visited. Luwansa's are great.
When you enter the building the smell is really pleasant. I like the modern room as well. I can say this is the best hotel now for Rasuna Said / Casablanca area as I have visited 90% of four/five stars hotels in the vicinity. The rate is reasonable. The only thing lacking is I found the cabs are not as easy to get compared to other hotels. More cabs standing by will be great. Another thing is the hotels missing a plush soft pillows, what they have now is OK, but i've accustomed to plush pillows at home. Well it is a matter of preference i guess
i haven't got time to try the pool and the gym. But i'm sure they are great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alvin_grp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us with such a glowing review.

Since you are still in house, I will be on the lookout for you as we want to know our guests better!

As our future guests can see, we have had a few "less than ideal" reviews in the past, I, and our entire team believes, your review, is how we aspire to be perceived.

While we cannot change everyone's perception, we truly are here to create memorable experiences that are value oriented and heartfelt.

It a pleasure to have you with us!

kind regards

richard mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was invited to a painting exhibition at JS Luwansa, not only that .. since my "big sister" Sasya Tranggono (Famous Painter in Indonesia-well known for its flower,wayang and Butterflies made of Precious stones paintings) is the artist- she asked me to consult on the details of artworks display. JS Luwansa is a new hotel, so after a successful exhibition, i decided to stay for a night at Luwansa .

The experience was beyond my expectation, facilities are good, convinient and well thinked off. For example (just a tiny detail..i can share here..), they put a medium sofa right beside the bed. It's just so convenient to have extra space relaxing - if I don't want to stain the clean and warm sheet. :)

Some other hotels will say that they are "Creme de La Creme" of the town and promised you the extacy of Heaven with overpriced labels, but staying at Luwansa makes you feel really at home (plus all the "fun" facilities). The staff will do whatever it takes to ensure your comfortable stay. Without even giving the "please.. give me a tip" look. Smiles that will erase all the stress.

Luwansa gave me the "Ratpack" experience. Staying there, feels like you're in a movie-playing the main cast.In short, after staying one night.. I will always return to Luwansa. Please give it a try, with the wonderful rate, it delivers more than what advertised.

Leonardo Angelo
General Manager of Promocentral Indonesia, Political Consultant, Strategist and Graphic Designer.

Room Tip: Ask for help from the staff. They will go the extra mile for you.. plus the smile. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind and heartfelt comments!

I will be sure to share it with our entire team of associates who aspire to be the best each day!

Our Art Exhibition was a tremendous success and if anyone wishes to see the art it will be here until Dec 6...

Thank you again and we hope to see you here once again.

Happy and safe travels!

kind regards

richard mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park Lane Jakarta
The Park Lane Jakarta
#27 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grove Suites
The Grove Suites
#29 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gran Melia Jakarta
Gran Melia Jakarta
#14 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Jakarta
0.6 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#186 of 453 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.0 mi away
HARRIS Suites FX Sudirman
HARRIS Suites FX Sudirman
#44 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center

Property: JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center
Address: Jln. Haji R. Rasuna Said 22, Jakarta 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JS Luwansa Hotel & Convention Center is a first class international upscale hotel with 244 well-appointed guest rooms with warm, personalized service. JSL offers new upscale affordable accommodation and is perfect for discerning business travelers who need a strategic location to conduct business. Free Wi fi, transportation within 2 km, pressing and business center workstation use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing