We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Full-Day Private Jakarta City Tour (Explore Highlight places)
55

Book in advance
from
$65.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience National Monument (MONAS)
from $65.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
Reviews (4,151)
Filter reviews
4,151 results
Traveler rating
1,179
1,554
1,159
206
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,179
1,554
1,159
206
53
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,752 - 1,757 of 4,151 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We went to the MONAS with the expectation to have a nice view over Jakarta. Sadly the elevator was under repair for about 2 months (complicated device indeed!) so we could only enter the exhibition on the ground level.

This exhibition showed the perceived history of Indonesia. It is heavily propagandanized and Indonesia seems to be a country who won every battle but lost the war to the Netherlands. The models presented were very nice though.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank Gurkengelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

On the carless Sunday we walked up the road from Plaza Indonesia to Monas. Great view and worth the walk. Recommend taking a local they might not have been there either, get them to buy your entry before you go up at the formal ticket office. Go early as it gets busy with a long line, I think I was there about 10am and only waited about 5 minutes

Date of experience: August 2013
2  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

One of the most iconic monument in Indonesia! Many people have come and gone every single day on this place. It's a historical place that contain the original Independent Declaration of Indonesia in 1945 and the 1945 Sacred Flag of Indonesia the "red and white". You will find some historical miniature event that tell you about the story and struggle of Indonesian people that in the end achieve the triumph by gaining their independence.
I would highly recommend this place for foreigner and domestic people that looking for some "enlightment" in Indonesian Independence History.

The place itself have a small price to pay for entering inside, it's actually so cheap that i think won't be enough to cover up for the maintenance of this majestic monument itself. But the condition are pretty much still in good shape and many indonesian family having a picnic in the park around the monument.

Last but not least, just a tips for you :
1.bring umbrella (just in case, because you wont find many shelter around there)
2. Try to visit at weekdays, because on weekend, this place usually get very crowded!

Overall? "Amazing Historical Place, A must Visit"!

Date of experience: October 2013
2  Thank KingsenYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

MONAS was our first stop of the day on our self-guided 1 day tour of Jakarta. It is a rather impressive park and monument. It was a Saturday so there were lots of school kids in the area and the queue to go up the monument was 3 hours long. We decided to not go up as the smog over Jakarta was so heavy you wouldn't see beyond the park boundaries. There were lots of market and food stalls setup so if you wanted a quick snack or cheap shirt they were there. Everyone was extremely friendly. If you are tall and blond be prepared to have people take your picture with or without your permission.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank DavidAndSusan0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Yet another tall monument - worth a short visit or drive-by for a photo, but probably not much more...

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Rupert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews