We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea World and OutboundHolic”
Review of Ancol Dreamland

Ancol Dreamland
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.50*
and up
Private Tour: Jakarta by Night Tour Including Dinner
Ranked #11 of 274 things to do in Jakarta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Dunia Fantasi means Dreamland in Indonesian. It is a part (but a seperate attraction) of the massive Taman Impian Jaya Ancol complex. It contains rollercoasters, rides and displays.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Sea World and OutboundHolic”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We skipped Dufan when we visited Ancol as we were not so interested in rides. The underwater aquarium at sea world is very nice, especially the tunnel through it. Sea World is maintained well and is worth a visit at Ancol. To get into Sea World, you have to pay Rp.80,000 per adult, in addition to the Rp.15,000 you pay per person to get into Taman Ancol.

OutboundHolic is the outdoor adventure type of place with separate tracks for children and adults. The tracks have activities ranging from rope bridge climbine and flying fox to rock climbing and you can choose easier ones or the ones that are more difficult. these activities can be thoroughly enjoyed by teenagers. The price is Rp.120,000 per adult, I am not sure of the charge for the children's track.

Facilities at Taman Ancol leave something to be desired, in that there aren't proper directions to go from one attraction to another. The whole thing is spread over a large area. If you don't have your car, its frustrating walking around in the heat, especially since you wouldn't know which way to go. There is a free shuttle bus service running around, but there are no indications as to where this bus stops to pick passengers up from, and the driver will not pick you up unless from a designated stop. Buggies and cabs inside Taman Ancol are exorbitant, and charge almost anything - unrelated to the distance. The best thing if you are using a cab would be to get dropped inside, to the attraction which is the farthest from the entrance. There are stalls for getting water and snacks all over.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank deeptirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    584
    273
    45
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Must to Visit in Jakartan”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A full day of fun activities from Funtazia to Sea World through the Water Park! If walking is no fun for you then make sure you have a car to move you from one place to another.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
“Needs Maintenance System Reboot”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

First off, let me just say that I'm a local, born and bred in Jakarta. I've been visiting Ancol for maybe more than 20 times the past 20+ years. It was lovely when I was a kid but lately all I see is just trash on the beach, trash on the side of the streets, trash on the ocean. Something just has to be done with it. The Segara Beach Club was fun for the first few months, but now it's dirty too.

Helpful?
Thank Putri_Daskian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went on a weekday, which gave the place a slightly post nuclear war feel. Very hot in most areas and we watched some average animal performances. We lined up for ages to see a crazy turtle cartoon in 4D. The 3D glasses didn't work and the sudden movements of the seats in the theatre caused whiplash. Had some food in a run down cafe and once again avoided using the toilets after one visit. The pirate show was crazy- lots of shooting, fighting etc. when they threw the fake bomb into the crowd, I though a riot was about to erupt.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Divermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor management”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is quite a good place with various entertainment inside. But the bad thing is, the management is really poor. We were charged a fee per person when entering this park in a cab (forgot the price), anyhow, we were given nothing, not even a map or a list of place of where to go. We saw this place online, therefore we have in mind a few places that we intended to go, so we started with Seaworld. After Seaworld, we wanted to plan the next destination, but we dunno what time the bus will come, waited around 20mins at the bus stop until all of us are sweating heavily, it was a shed without seats, or even maps or boards to show us around.

Then finally the bus came, we took some time to explore: "Oh there are 2 type of bus, one is bringing us to the east side of the park (red, which is very slow per round due to jam) and another one is to the west (blue). we hop in the 2 color buses to explore the places around and decided to go 4D show. Sad thing is when we reach there, there is 2 last shows left, and we enquired to pay the ticket price for package of 6 shows. Who on earth will want to watch 6 shows at one go. Suggestion to the management, sell a lar carte ticket as well so that visitors wont think it's a waste to pay a big price just for a 4D show.

The artificial beach wasnt that nice, with some rubbish here and there, we just hang there to watch the locals enjoying their family time playing around and swimming in the pool (or sea???) The local cars are alot as it was sunday.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank y_elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancol Dreamland also viewed

 

Been to Ancol Dreamland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing