We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanliness is an issue” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fatahillah Square

Fatahillah Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Private Tour: The Old Batavia Trail from Jakarta
Ranked #18 of 262 things to do in Jakarta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fatahillah Square, also known as Old Batavia, is the historical district of Jakarta located in Kotas. During Dutch Colonial times in the 16th century, this was the heart of the walled city. Home to attractions such as the Jakarta History Museum and many colonial buildings, this area fills up with artisans, jugglers, and tourists on the weekends.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cleanliness is an issue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

It's a great location for a pre wedding/ wedding photos. The old buildings looks great on camera. Cleanliness is an issue. I'd think many food stalls are too unhygienic for most of the tourists. So bring your own food and drinks, if you don't have a strong stomach. Cleanliness is definitely an issue here, thrashes here and there. I'd also think, it's way below par for what a tourists spot should be. Some of the museums is starting to get better though. Some are under renovations. Definitely can improve, you can tell there's great potential. I'd recommend here, if you have no where else to go, and just wanna drive or look around.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hansel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    173
    127
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
422 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Old Batavia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Took a taxi here from wtc mangga dua and cost me rupiah 40,000 , he dropped me the exact location, lots of street foods and local shopping at the square , cafe Batavia is walking distance .

Helpful?
Thank kenkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Historical place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Museum and square are quite well maintained. A must to see in jakarta. The best time to go is on weekends and use a Bluebird Taxi

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Take your time to see the history behind.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Old Batavia offers you many museums, and Fatahillah Museum is one of them. Fatahillah Square is just right in front of Fatahillah Museum and every evening there'll be a flock of people hang out here. So many hawkers in here and gradually it becomes very dirty.

I suggest you to go here early in the morning, around 5 or 6 am to capture nice photographs though. or maybe around 4 to 5 pm to see the people who're having fun around here.

I hope the government rearrange the allocation of the street vendors, and give enough attention to the tourist sites around Old Batavia. It'll be such a loss if Old Batavia's beauty is messed up with trash. I warn you, this tourist site is not the cleanest part of Jakarta, so you'll see many garbage and smelly situation. Not to mention the heat if you arrive here at noon.

And also, one more suggestion. Read about old batavia's history before hand. You'll feel emotionally bound with Fatahillah Square after you read about the history.

To go here, you can ride a train to Stasiun Kota or busway to Kota Station. If you see Mandiri Bank Museum, you're on the right path. Go straight, and at the end of the block you'll see the old batavia already. Just go straight til you find roaming street hawkers on a spacious field with two cannonballs.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ades2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Need a touch of cleanliness”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I love the fact that in JKT there's still an open space to hang out with your friends or family. However, I think the place is very poor maintained, the kaki lima and the visitors are not very discipline ( they often litter and it makes the place even more dirty). Too bad, this could be such a great place to be if only it's cleaner and more maintained.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank anniewulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatahillah Square also viewed

 

Been to Fatahillah Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing