We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A specialty of Indonesia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum Wayang

Museum Wayang
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Private Tour: The Old Batavia Trail from Jakarta
Ranked #21 of 262 things to do in Jakarta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum exhibits a great many wayang kulit, two-dimensional puppets used in the ancient art of Javanese storytelling.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,432 reviews
921 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,044 helpful votes
“A specialty of Indonesia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We visited this museum with '' Hidden Jakarta Tour'', and this is how we learned how important Muppets were in the Indonesian culture . For an Westerner where muppets are considered as toys , a guide is recommended to fully appreciate the characteristics and the values of the different pieces of art ( not toys ) presented ! So to fully appreciate this visit , try to get a guide !
There is a ''Show'' presented in the hall close to the Exit ; it is worth a look !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    199
    123
    24
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
628 reviews
361 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Impressive collection of puppets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The lighting was extremely poor here and it was difficult to see the excellent collection of puppets.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arvid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
946 reviews
477 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Interesting puppet museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

There was a puppet show that was going to start but we didn't have 2 hours to see it. Just walked around and viewed the many puppets in display cases. Worth a visit as it's located in Taman Fatahilah Square.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“a interesting place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Located in the Taman Fatahilah Square (the historical district of Jakarta), this puppet museum keeps collections of wayang from various territories in Indonesia and even from other countries. To gain some knowledges about shadow puppet before you go there would make your visit more interesting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely puppets on display but little else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a nice guide who explained to us the stories behind the puppets and origins of the puppets.

But after a while, my daughter found it rather repetitive. I did too.

After the walk, our guide brought us to a puppet seller elsewhere. It was unexpected and I didn't feel very comfortable following him to the back streets. It turned out ok, but I think next time I'll pass following near strangers...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinophel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Wayang also viewed

 

Been to Museum Wayang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing