We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.. Fascinating”
Review of Museum Wayang

Museum Wayang
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Private Tour: The Old Batavia Trail from Jakarta
Ranked #23 of 270 things to do in Jakarta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum exhibits a great many wayang kulit, two-dimensional puppets used in the ancient art of Javanese storytelling.
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow.. Fascinating”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've never thought that the puppet museum has a lot to offer. So many informations.. great collections with some interactive programs. Really enjoying my visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    208
    130
    26
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Organised museum, interesting displays, friendly staff and cool ,souvenirs”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

MUSEUM it is quite hidden, the location is kind of challenging to find because it's not along the road but what would help you to locate is to keep the entrance photo in your memory (you may view it here on trip advisor) because the buildings around it look kind of similar.

THE PUPPETS really good display. There are life-size puppets and traditional Rama-at-Sita plus the rest of the cast. There are English translation texts to guide you in case you are interested to read about the plots they use for their shows. There are different kinds, make sure you have an efficient camera if you want to document it as the lighting of the place isn't great.

FRIENDLY STAFF you may have read in other reviews that there is this guy who will give you a guided tour in the museum. YES there he was on my last visit. He will explain to you how puppets are made, how many people are involved in one show, how many puppets one person can handle and other cool facts.

THE STORE I love souvenirs and I have always wanted to buy mu own puppets and I did! They really have a nice collection for you to choose from. REMEMBER to bargain because you can! I think I was able to cut the price for at least 40%. Try... They will be kind about it especially if you are running out of cash. Also, in case, you may pay them in USD ...they are honest with the conversion-nothing to worry about.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Stamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“An Interesting Collection of Wayang (Puppets) and Dolls”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The museum is located at Fatahillah Square, Old Town Jakarta. It has a collection of various kinds of wayang, such as wayang kulit, wayang golek, grass wayang, mask wayang, gamelan sets, wayang sculptures, and wayang painting. It also displays various collections of wayang and dolls from countries like Malaysia, Thailand, Suriname, China, Vietnam, France, India and Cambodia. Inside the museum there is a plate marking the tombstone of Jan Pieterszoon Coen.

Wayang kulit or shadow puppet is the most popular wayang show in Indonesia. The puppet is made from skin, chiselled with fine tools and supported with buffalo horn handles and control rods.

Wayang golek are wooden doll puppets that are operated from below by rods connected to the hands and a central control rod that runs through the body to the head. The simple construction of the puppets belies their versatility, expressiveness and aptitude for imitating human dance.

Interesting and informative collections.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank n0ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Little Gem....”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I visited Museum Wayang about a month ago, accompanying some guests from USA. At first I was only planning to take a short peek, since we have lunch appointment. Once entering the building, paying only 2000IDR (about US$0.20) for each person, we were greeted by a gentleman offering free guide thru the museum. I hesitantly agreed. But little did I know, it turned out to be a very interesting experience. The guide was very informational, probably related to his close connection with the culture of wayang itself (he is a puppeteer himself). He explained a lot about the different type of wayang stories, the characters and also the complicated process of making the wayang. The whole experience makes me appreciate wayang even more, and eager to introduce to the world the wonderful culture of Indonesia, especially wayang. And to make my day, all my guests were very happy with the experience. I am one happy girl.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank v3sia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Afternoon well spent”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We took this is in while walking about the old square. The facility could use a little updating but the substance of the displays was very interesting and the knowledge and enthusiasm of the guide was very good to see. All things considered, it was time well spent if you like to enjoy a bit of the history of a different culture and time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Wayang also viewed

 

Been to Museum Wayang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing