We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience National Museum
from $79.00
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $102.00
More Info
from $51.27
More Info
Reviews (1,664)
Filter reviews
1,664 results
Traveler rating
615
700
283
52
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
615
700
283
52
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indonesian history heritage society stone carvings entrance fee air conditioned artifacts collection hindu statue information gold archaeological floor java arts century dutch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,664 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2019

I have mixed feeling for this museum. I always interested in history and culture. Hence every time i travel to new place, i always look for for their museum. What's the best way to learn about the country and their people culture other that to visit their history isn't it? The good things is, its strategic location (right next/across to MONAS), the friendly staffs, cheap entrance and the aircond (to run from Jakarta 'hotness'). But the lack is, how they organize the artifact and the history itself. It's look all mess up. You'll see things that not supposed to be at the section. For example, you will suddenly see a Hindu-Buddha statue at 3rd floor when it supposed to be at the old building with all others statue. And some of the artifacts don't even have a description on it. Make you wonder, is that an artifact and or just a decoration. And lastly. Usually, for museum, they will organize all the artifact and information based on the timeline. but it's not that case for this museum. It's kinda disappointing since does have an interesting history and this museum have a lots of items that can tell the story better. Hopefully, they do something to improve the visitor experience instead of just filling all the empty space with whatever statue that suppose to belong with it's friends.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank kgeraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

I found it is interesting as there are different sections and information display is in English as well as Bhasa. One section on Hindu and Buddhist is also interesting, though it is al little bit randomly displayed. Location is very central. I spent around 2 hours. Of course like any museum there will be too many things to see.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Sudhir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

National Museum has very diverse collections. and they categorize the collections according to the Indonesia Civilisation. equipped with many interactive diorama. it is suitable to be visited with children,

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Keyvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

The ultimate ride to get to this place is to take Transjakarta bus because the bus shelter literally stops across the building. I was here twice. The first time was when the other side if the building was being renovated so we explored the another part of the building. It is called the National Museum for reasons. This place keeps the historical artefacts from every region in Indonesia. They include prehistoric specimens and culture, antique furniture, huge stones, ancient prescription, and so on. The information provided on every object is pretty clear too.

The last time we visited the new side of the building and it is where they display huge artefacts like giabt statues and stones. It shows you the historical perspective of Buddhism and Hinduism through the remaining artefacts they have been collected. The collection is beautifully placed like you're in some kind of temple or palace.

I would not recommend for people to bring children under 6, at least they have to be under someone's guide because sometimes the kids are pretty loud running around here and there, and they are littering. Not only it is not pretty but also they might break one object or two and no one wants that.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank putrihandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Indonesia biggest bmnational museum , the collection is impeccable all artefact from all the country is stayed here

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Yosephyoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews