We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to hang out & enjoy gourmet meals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of COLONIAL - Cuisine & Molecular

COLONIAL - Cuisine & Molecular
Ranked #448 of 7,653 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A 1930ish uniquely rustic ambiance enjoyed and appreciated by most.A 15 Meter Bar offering novel & taste exploding Molecular Drinks along with a long range of cocktails, mock-tails, Coffee, Tea, Juices and mixers !(Google Article - Molecular mixology strikes Jakarta byMary Baines, The Jakarta Post, Jakarta | Feature | Wed, February 13 2013, 11:58 AM)Wine list offers variety available in the country at moderate pricing. A full range of french cuisine menu offers fine & delicately cooked meals comparable with the best in the region ! A separate page offers alternatives of Asian-Indian select tasteful meals added with a dedicated page for the vegetarians.An immaculate outdoor sitting rejuvenates senses adding further joy to the peak with its food, drinks, ambiance, and music.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out & enjoy gourmet meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The ambience in the Colonial is quite classy & the menu has some refreshingly new options . The Chef deserves praise for his tasty cooking . For a fine dining restaurant the prices are reasonable . The decor is nice & subdued and the possibility of being able to sit outside in the corridor is a great option during cool evenings. I am already a regular & their creative & frequent promos a nice bonus. Cheers

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PawanSahni3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious gourmet meals and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had lunch at the resturant. The decor is very well done and the seats are comfortable. The cake display was also very enticing. We had ordered the foie gras, and highly recommend this dish. aside from presentation, its the best foie gras in town. Service was very friendly and the molecular cocktail we had was very interest. This was our very first molecular cocktail experience and the being able to see how they made and finally tasting was an unforgettable experience. We will definitely come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JaxonC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A gem in the making”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

One of my new favorite places to dine and catch up in Kemang. The decor is grand, the menu superb, the wine list is very reasonably priced and the Molecular B52's are to die for. The owners take pride in the establishment and are committed to ensuring that you and your group have a grand evening or lunch.

The service is improving and the Maitre D is very knowledgeable though I agree that the staff need to find a balance between not serving you and hovering which will come with more experience. I do find the comment re security quick laughable... this is Jakarta. you leave a bad, phone, laptop or anything of value lying around in a 5 Star hotel it will walk away. To blame the venue is, as far too usual here, not taking responsibility for your own actions. Would I like to see security guards at each door.. no. Would it have prevented the theft? NO.

Anyway - Love the venue and will continue going there on a regular basis.

Oh yes - Dear Colonial.... please add some breakfast offerings to your menu for the weekend Brunch Crowd.. that would just about top it all off.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ScrumBumJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Comments by Wati M are interesting, incidentally we were there same time close to the group's table on 7 February around 7 to10 pm. This was perhaps our 6th visit to this thoroughly enjoyable restaurant, we feel happy to return to....such a great casual fine dining place in Kemang.

I didn't see an Indonesian female in the group, except two Indo-Chinese women, therefore I assume what Wati is writing what she heard which could be a bit distorted, therefore like to add a couple of observations.

I beg to differ with her totally putting Colonial at fault, as if besides providing good ambiance, excellent food, interesting Molecular drinks and reasonable service, patrons belongings also are responsibility of the Restaurant which is an open concept, kind of a Public Place. These incidents are common in Jakarta , we learn of many incidences in all the major malls in Jakarta and in major restaurants with open outdoors or open access. The crooks are always outsmarting the security apparatus. Even 5 star hotels are not spared.....

After the initial confusion I had an opportunity to watch CCTV footage, how the bag was left on the floor and how a boy pretending to be a customer, with a well planned criminal mind came in and dragged bag by his foot to the door and how his colleague picked up the bag and walked away as if it belonged to them. The CCTV footage will help mall authorities to identify the culprits & prevent such instances.

It was thankfully clear that none of staff from the restaurant was involved which unfortunately was suspected initially by the group.

Walking in, I noticed a Security Guard promptly near the main entrance , and it's hard to accept that they can identify and distinguish between genuine customers and criminal minds!

We would be happy going repeatedly to Colonial and yes, as we do everywhere in Jakarta,take care of our belongings ourselves.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLONIALJakarta, General Manager at COLONIAL - Cuisine & Molecular, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We like to thank for both recent two reviews by valuable Patrons.

The loss of belongings by a Patron was very unfortunate for him as well as The Colonial. These rare incidences in Jakarta are those a Hospitality Industry can't be spared, with open access like Colonial offers as well the places which are within closed walls and well guarded. Colonial offers joy for lovers of Casual Fine Dining with it's location with immaculate outdoor views.

We have a CCTV footage of the Incidence establishing that culprits were not COLONIAL Staff, they were well trained thief's who commit professionally, earlier in other places in the same Mall, and in other malls. CCTV footages have been passed on to the mall security for further action.

Thanks to The Patron who understands and supports us. We request all visitors to the mall, Colonial and places alike, to watch their belongings and let Colonial take care of Patrons for what Colonial is designed to be - pure joy ! We are certainly working with our security and mall's security further to enhance feel of being secured & find ways to help Patrons to enjoy a worry free visit at the Colonial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We recently dined here for lunch as a group of 3. Being foreigners living in a different country we often find we are treated differently in all sorts of ways. So this review is based on this disclosure. The fitout of the restaurant is truly unique and a lot of effort has gone into making the atmosphere conducive to enjoying a great experience. The wine list was not extensive but the prices were reasonable for wine in Indonesia. The menu offered a good range and the meals were realtively tasty. My favourite was the chocolate suffle. The one thing that really needs work is the service - this is not to say they did not try but it really does not make the grade of the type of restaurant it could be. I do not thing the waiter had opeened a bottle of wine with a cork in it ever in his life, we had to ask someone to take our orders while we could see staff standing around talking at the bar, we had to ask for our second and third round of drinks. Having said that they were friendly and well presented. Apart from one drink I did not see any mention of "molecular" anything and nothing was explained by the staff so not sure why they have it in their name. I hope they succeed in a tough business.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MOB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep1962, Owner at COLONIAL - Cuisine & Molecular, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Review Writer "Great Potential", our response is appreciating your taking your valuable time to make these comments /review, and we believe this review will also be read by others on Trip Advisor, and along with this response, will be useful for our patrons to understand the ongoing improvements at COLONIAL.

We admit that out of 4 important factors, Location, Ambience, Food & Drinks and Service, Colonial needs to improve to offer service to the level of standards to match it's other 3 critical factors, a typical problem in Jakarta when one takes freshers to groom them to the concept of the Restaurant / Hospitality Segment. We seek patrons' patience to be able to come to quality level satisfactory to make COLONIAL an overall excellent experience for all kinds of Patrons.

A full page of "Molecular Bar Drinks" are on the offer in its Bar Drinks Menu - a unique feature of our 15 Meters Long Bar, one out of 4 elaborate listings, i.e.. The Wine List, The Bar Drinks Menu, The Small Bites Menu and The Main Menu. In addition there are events Menu - currently CNY Menu 4-10 February, then Valentines Menu 11-17 February, a Brunch Menu, a High Tea Menu.........

While responding to the valuable comment which is rather encouraging by its title "Great Potential" we take the opportunity to explain that :
1. It's Casual Fine Dining - no dress code, a great way for family and/or friends to enjoy very relaxing environment, and
2. It's Fresh Cooking as the word fine dining word explains, all cooking is done with fresh ingredients in Olive Oil except where receive doesn't permit it's use. This is different from our friendly valuable neighbors based on Processed Franchised Foods, a different great opportunity for those who relish such food once in a while.

We believe our continuing efforts will continue to bring our loyal patrons to enjoy what is on offer and keep us encouraged to tap on the potential this patron highlights.

Best Wishes.

Geetika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed COLONIAL - Cuisine & Molecular also viewed

 

Been to COLONIAL - Cuisine & Molecular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing