We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious steak, good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holycow Steakhouse by Chef Afit

Holycow Steakhouse by Chef Afit
Ranked #115 of 7,648 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kebayoran Baru
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious steak, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We tried the new outlet in Bintaro, it was packed up with customers, nice business! :)
We ordered prime tenderloin and sirloin young beef, medium well done & rare. Unfortunately the rare one was a bit overdone, but the manager readily wanted to replace it with the new one. So it's a good service though we refused the replacement, and they gave us 2 misu dessert as compliments. I recommend the mushroom sauce, it's very nice but anyway you can eat the whole steak without the sauce, it's already deliciously seasoned. The tea beverages were bottomless. We spent about Rp 460,000 for 4 persons, good value for nice steak dinner.
When we finished eating around 7.30pm, there's a queue outside the resto, so you'd better come a bit earlier before dinner time. Oh, the lighting in the resto was a bit too bright, we feel a bit inconvenient. Next visit we'll try US steak & wagyu.
Bon apetite :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisamayasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    100
    32
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good turns into a bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Date of visit: jan 2013
Time: early dinner
Location: holycow bsd.

It WAS great.. yes it was when they have only one humble place then turns into commercial place for steakhouse.

Food: we've ordered a beautiful black angus and wagyu steak... But have no idea where they got those steak from?... It was rough, lots of tendon, and flat.. how can i see the medium rare in those skinny steak?.. and i also feels like having rubber steak instead... (-1)

Service: nothing much. Nothing impressive. Nothing special. Well we can still ask for their bottomless drink service (0)

Location: this outlet was same like typical other resto. Didn't impressive me. (0)

Result: -1 out of 3.
The rumour was right about the declining of this resto. Still expecting this store could rebuild their excellence.

Helpful?
Thank chris_crosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Holy holy mooooly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

So far for me this is the best steak restaurant in town...

The meat, the taste, the price... I will recommend to everyone to go to Holycow! And try their steak!!

See the pic i add for details!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geekymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wagyu steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The wagyu steak grade 9 is highly recommended. It is quite expensive about 250k, but hey we better try their signature dish right?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sulis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“No No No No!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We were curious about the restaurant because of the line outside the Kelapa Gading restaurant. There were quite a few of people waiting for tables and when we asked the maitre'd how long the wait would be and she said about half an hour so we decided to wait.

The place was packed so it was uncomfortable, the prices are quite expensive and the taste... I've had better tasting steaks at lower prices. I highly not recommend this place

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suri85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holycow Steakhouse by Chef Afit also viewed

 

Been to Holycow Steakhouse by Chef Afit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing