We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mercure Jakarta Simatupang a surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Jakarta Simatupang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Jakarta Simatupang
Ranked #32 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Mercure Jakarta Simatupang a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Mercure Simatupang is in a good strategic location in Jakarta South. Going to BSD and Bintaro Business Park is a breeze due to hotel location next to toll highway entrance/exit. Room is clean, decent and sleep quality is good. Hotel is next to mall with major brand hypermarkets for any last minute necessity. A 10-minute taxi ride to CITOS (Cilandak Town Square) hub for varieties of F&B choices. Mercure Jakarta is a true surprise find in Jakarta South.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank HAMHA02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure M, General Manager at Mercure Jakarta Simatupang, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again sometime soon at Mercure Jakarta Simatupang.

Warmest regards,

Gilles Tressens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    224
    63
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
44
24
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I give this hotel top marks for the decor of the rooms and the spread at their buffet breakfast, which rivals most 5* hotels, but where they really stand out for me is in their customer service that saved me from near disaster...

I had stored several bags upon check-out and came by the hotel late that night to pick them all up. I was somewhat groggy and not fully awake when I had my bags loaded into the airport taxi. The drive to the airport took 1.5 hrs and when I arrived I realized that I had forgotten one of my bags- the most important one that had my laptop in it! With only 2 hrs before flight departure, I knew I didn't have enough time to go back to the hotel to get it so I called the hotel in a panic to help me. Budi, the man at reception located my left bag and had a hotel security guard escort my bag to the airport in a taxi where it arrived in good time before my flight. I cannot express how grateful I am for this service which would have otherwise made my trip a total disaster!


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dewi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure M, General Manager at Mercure Jakarta Simatupang, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear reviewer,

It was indeed a pleasure to read your comments and I will pass these on to the relevant departments. I was also happy to read that you will recommend the hotel to others and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Warmest regards,

Gilles Tressens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice, clean hotel with attentive staff. This is not a business hotel, though. The work desk is small and the lighting in the room is dim, making it difficult to work after sunset.

The food was okay-room service was very quick and again, the staff vey friendly when they delivered it.

The hotel is on the edge of Jakarta so plan accordingly when you have to drive somewhere.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank intnltrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure M, General Manager at Mercure Jakarta Simatupang, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel as it is always a pleasure to read constructive comments for the betterment of our operation.
We are also glad that you are in favor of certain aspects in the hotel such as the cleanliness, facilities and services. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,

Gilles Tressens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent two nights there and I found it is a nice brand new hotel. Room is nicely done with a good breakfast.

Location may not be perfect as it was not too easy to grab taxi in the morning caused by the traffic in front of the hotel.

Overall, it is good and perfect for those who go to offices on Jl. TB Simatupang.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure M, General Manager at Mercure Jakarta Simatupang, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time reviewing our property. I was very pleased to read your comments in the review; it is our pleasure to be of your service. We sincerely hope that you visit us again in the future.

Best regards,


Gilles Tressens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a nice new hotel that represents a bit of a mixed feeling for myself. Overall I am happy with the hotel, perhaps a touch on the pricey side for the area (but not compared to downtown), but I would stay again if required to work in South Jakarta.

Pros....
The hotel is new, very clean and modern in design aspect. I stayed in a Privilege room, which meant some extra in room goodies like capsule coffee machine, some selected freebies from the minibar fridge (juice, soda, coke etc.) and a generous assortment of bathroom amenities.

The bathroom is of reasonable size whilst the bedroom I felt was a a touch on the small side for an upgraded room. Having said that, bed was comfortable, good selection of pillows and nice medium firmness mattress.

Aircon worked well, in-room wifi was good signal (although a bit slow, unless you pay for the extra speed upgrades).

Staff performance was good - polite and helpful, it took a few attempts to sort out a mix up with Agoda not reserving the room type I requested, but in the end it was handled well.

Cons.
I did not at all like the work desk in my room. Way too small a desk and uncomfortable chair. Being primarily a business hotel I was surprised about this and it's definitely an area for improvement.

Other
Jakarta south is not an appropriate place to stay if you want to explore the downtown of Jakarta. Unless you are happy to wait until 9pm to go out (which is of course not a problem in a place like Jakarta). Takes around 30 mins to get down to Menteng when the traffic is light. Do not try to commute to the city area for work/leisure between 8am and 8pm if in this location !

The hotel has a nice bar up on the roof that can tide you over until the traffic subsides.

Cilandak mall is not far (need a taxi) or you can walk to Poins Square just next to the hotel for some alternative food options,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jg161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure M, General Manager at Mercure Jakarta Simatupang, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

It was always a pleasure to read constructive comments regarding our property. I have shared your comments to my team. It strongly motivates us to always be above and beyond our customers’ satisfaction.

I appreciate the time you took to comment on our property and hope that you will choose Mercure Jakarta Simatupang Hotel again on your next visit to South Jakarta.

Best regards,

Gilles Tressens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

the room not big but clean and nice design.

location just after toll exit which is very good considering the area always heavy traffic

service are good, people are nice and friendly

rate a bit high compare to other hotels with the same class/facility

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Danny0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure M, General Manager at Mercure Jakarta Simatupang, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I have read with great pleasure your comments during your stay at Mercure Jakarta Simatupang Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our employees met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Gilles Tressens,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean room as expected from a new hotel. BUT the room service is very poor. It took more than 2 hours for me to get my food. The Front Office staff keep telling me that there is no order from my room, in fact, they made a mistake on my room number while taking down my order. Gosh...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nic07_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure M, General Manager at Mercure Jakarta Simatupang, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your comment regarding our F&B service and I apologies for this situation which should have no occurs. Order taker has wrongly taken the room number when receiving your order, and should have act more professionally

I sincerely hope to welcome you again in near future and that you’ll give us a chance to show you the real quality of our service.

Most sincerely,

Gilles Tressens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Swiss-Belinn Simatupang
#111 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Swiss-Belhotel Pondok Indah
#90 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#33 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#17 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Jakarta Simatupang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Jakarta Simatupang

Property: Mercure Jakarta Simatupang
Address: Jl. R.A. Kartini No. 18 | Lebak Bulus, Jakarta 12440, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Jakarta Simatupang 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Jakarta Simatupang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing