We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap hotel just for sleep at night”
Review of WOW Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WOW Hotel
Ranked #60 of 337 Jakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is practically one 4 storey small building or Ruko as Indonesian call it.
It is located in a small busy road (at night) at Mangga Besar area and could only fit one car in front. From Jalan Mangga besar raya, enter the small road that have signage Olimpic Hotel , Wow hotel is on the left side.
It is the cheapest "modern and new" hotel we could find on web ($23), and so we thought, let's give it a try.
We got the room on 4th room, no lift , no windows, TV signal was bad, free wifi. Small room as expected, clean but minimal amenities. No dining area or gym, rooms only. No telephone in the room, if you want to ask room service, you have to use your own handphone or walk downstairs.
If you are planning to just use the room for sleep only and explore the night life in the old city area, then this is not a bad option.
For those who will bring a car, you can park in Lokasari plaza,enter from their side entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WoldyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for WOW Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Jakarta is not cheap, for a double on 20 euro this is a good buy. Ofcourse, everywhere else on Java the prices are much cheaper, but not in Jakarta. For the price you get airco, good English and friendly staff. Breakfast is no biggy. Most rooms don't have windows.
The hotel is located between the touristic areas but you still need a small transport to get there fast.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mooz_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We are staying at the wow hotel since last night.the room is very clean and is big enough to stay in a couple of nights. The shower is right next to the toilet with no separation but the water doesnt reach the bedroom or anything so I don't see the problem. The hotel is nearby the old town but far from other attractions.if you come from the airport then ask the driver to bring you to olympia hotel because otherwise they'll have a hard time finding this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rnee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel itself is good and good value, is new, clean...But is right next to a discoteque, so for light sleepers is terrible. We were in a room with no window, but I could still hear the loud music until 3AM (on a sunday), there were people walking and slamming doors on the hall until very late at night... The area is quite dodgy as well, a lot of "spas" this I didn't like, and I felt insecure at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delikafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This budget hotel provides enough room for sleep, it is okay for your money but not recommended for family since it is located in the red light district area and if you are taking your car or drive by yourself certainly the parking is a nightmare. But if you are a single traveler riding a taxi or public transport then it would be okay. The room without window, and not really big biut considering the price is cheap only around USD 28 per nite and its a clean and brand new room, then its worth the money. It is suitable for budget traveler who is looking for entertainment in Jakarta. It is convenience as there are lots of foods and entertainment spots in the surrounding area

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mykarimun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is very basic, new and clean with free strong wifi and flat TV. It’s a pity they do not have a map of Jakarta at the reception.
There rooms are small, with and without windows. We stayed in the room without window and we did not regret because this hotel is situated in a noisy area, near to a bar. Not recommended for family with small children.
The bed was comfortable with a good mattress. However the bathroom has a strange smell. Next door there's a Chinese restaurant and there many more nearby.
It is about 5 minutes’ walk away is a small mall, and less than 10 minutes’ walk to Mangga Besar commuter station and Olimo Transjakarta bus shelter.
The hotel is quite difficult to find as it is located in an alley beside the Pizza Hut.
Overall a very good value hotel for a night or two.

Room Tip: Rooms without windows are recommended as hotel is situated in a noisy area.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Simple and clean hotel, you get what you pay for. It is perfect for one night in Jakarta.
Free wifi, television, all modern comfort.

They did not have a map of the city available at the reception, but were happy to help us getting a taxi.

There are rooms with and without windows. We saw both room types (booked with windows) and I would not pay extra for the window if I would stay here again. They are not bigger, more noise as you are at street side and more expensive.

Room Tip: There are rooms with and without windows. We saw both room types (booked with windows) and I would n...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Joren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Hotel 88 Mangga Besar 120
Hotel 88 Mangga Besar 120
#304 of 464 in Jakarta
48 reviews
Big Hotel Jakarta
#207 of 464 in Jakarta
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Batik Inn
#324 of 464 in Jakarta
10 reviews
favehotel LTC Glodok
#112 of 464 in Jakarta
302 reviews
Ro & Vi Hotel
#161 of 337 in Jakarta
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WOW Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WOW Hotel

Address: Jalan Mangga Besar 7 No. 1, Jakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Jakarta
Price Range: $16 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WOW Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your WOW Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing