We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for money”
Review of WOW Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
WOW Hotel
Ranked #94 of 336 Jakarta B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Okay for money”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This budget hotel provides enough room for sleep, it is okay for your money but not recommended for family since it is located in the red light district area and if you are taking your car or drive by yourself certainly the parking is a nightmare. But if you are a single traveler riding a taxi or public transport then it would be okay. The room without window, and not really big biut considering the price is cheap only around USD 28 per nite and its a clean and brand new room, then its worth the money. It is suitable for budget traveler who is looking for entertainment in Jakarta. It is convenience as there are lots of foods and entertainment spots in the surrounding area

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mykarimun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
18
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is very basic, new and clean with free strong wifi and flat TV. It’s a pity they do not have a map of Jakarta at the reception.
There rooms are small, with and without windows. We stayed in the room without window and we did not regret because this hotel is situated in a noisy area, near to a bar. Not recommended for family with small children.
The bed was comfortable with a good mattress. However the bathroom has a strange smell. Next door there's a Chinese restaurant and there many more nearby.
It is about 5 minutes’ walk away is a small mall, and less than 10 minutes’ walk to Mangga Besar commuter station and Olimo Transjakarta bus shelter.
The hotel is quite difficult to find as it is located in an alley beside the Pizza Hut.
Overall a very good value hotel for a night or two.

Room Tip: Rooms without windows are recommended as hotel is situated in a noisy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niel, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Simple and clean hotel, you get what you pay for. It is perfect for one night in Jakarta.
Free wifi, television, all modern comfort.

They did not have a map of the city available at the reception, but were happy to help us getting a taxi.

There are rooms with and without windows. We saw both room types (booked with windows) and I would not pay extra for the window if I would stay here again. They are not bigger, more noise as you are at street side and more expensive.

Room Tip: There are rooms with and without windows. We saw both room types (booked with windows) and I would n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 5D4N, actually at first i was impressed by this hotel, it's consider cheap with that quality. Everything is clean, probably it because it is new. However, i encountered some problem with the room cleaning service. It was stated that the room will be cleaned but we need to deposit our key to the receptionist. I did that twice and it wasn't cleaned twice! Which made me confronted the them and they cleaned it immediately. Eventough action was taken but already caused uncomfortableness. Other than that it was good actually, the room is reasonable size,so was the bathroom. Lots of food (chinese food) , coffee shop nearby. Maybe not too recomended for family tough as there's a prostitution bar beside. Hopefully they can maintain the quality.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Centravanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlem
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel was only 2 weeks finished when we stayed there for 1 night only. We have to say that we liked that hotel for the interior and the service only the space was too small for us coz we had 3 big travel bags :) Beside the noisy from people who liked to slam the doors (the room was not soundproof) And indeed they have no lift but the room boy was always ready to help with the luggage, so have no worries about it. Oh yeah, would be great if they put the door mat in the bedroom so it wouldnt be too messy & also extra towel for the couple. One more thing we being told by the agent that our room was not included the breakfast but then in fact they provided pretty nice American breakfast :) And because this hotel was new, we had a bit difficulty to find it, due people around that area didnt know the hotel when we asked them about WOW hotel. So better you make sure you already call the hotel prior your arrival to get the guide of the route to get there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Au M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a good option for one night. It's very good value for the price (c.200,000Rp) as it's clean and new with satellite TV and free wifi.
Many or most of the rooms don't have windows which is actually quite good as keeps the noise to a minimum and means a great night's sleep in the dark, but a little daunting when you do go outside. There are some loud bars nearby so you can hear the music, it didn't bother us particularly but might bother others more.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. You can pay for late check out until 6pm for just 100,000Rp which is great if you don't to hang around before leaving.
The bed was super comfortable with a good matress. However the bathroom did have strange smell. The shower was excellent though, really powerful and hot (the best shower we've had in 3 months on the road!).
Breakfast is very simple and served in the tiny reception area with only two seats. Next door there's a very good chinese warung which does good sized fresh dishes and bintang.
There are plenty of ATM's and local shops nearby - 5 minutes walk away is a small mall.
Overall a very good value hotel for a night or two.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BertievonSorrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is new. Unfortunately, there is no elevator, which can be a problem if you have heavy luggages. Apart from that is clean, with a comfortable bed and great matress. Of course each room has free Wi-fi, tv and aircon.

There is a strange smell in the toilet.

Breakfast is included in the price, but it is quite simple.

The staff is amicable, but the hotel don't provide maps to the clients (you may ask to borrow the one they have in the reception though).

It will take 30 minutes to go to the hotel from the airport (around 100,000 rp). There are a lot of warungs nearby, but it's quite far away from the center on Jakarta.

Make sure you know the address, cause the taxi drivers don't know where exactly the hotel is....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annapapa_thes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
favehotel LTC Glodok
#102 of 464 in Jakarta
294 reviews
Quintus Hotel
#370 of 464 in Jakarta
5 reviews
Grand Batik Inn
#325 of 464 in Jakarta
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amaris Hotel Mangga Besar
#367 of 464 in Jakarta
42 reviews
Pademangan
Twins Hotel
Twins Hotel
#131 of 336 in Jakarta
19 reviews
Menteng
Capsule Hotel Old Batavia
Capsule Hotel Old Batavia
#2 of 336 in Jakarta
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WOW Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WOW Hotel

Property: WOW Hotel
Address: Jalan Mangga Besar 7 No. 1, Jakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WOW Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your WOW Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing