We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing dinner experience”

SKYE Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 7,673 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, International, European, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of the city, on the 56th floor rooftop of BCA Tower - Grand Indonesia, Thamrin, SKYE is established to be a "Lifestyle Resort in The Sky" and an iconic landmark for the city, providing a unique atmosphere for a quick getaway for Jakartans from their daily hectic lives. With its unique Southern-American influence on its architecture and interior design, SKYE comprise of spacious indoor and outdoor areas where it offers its patrons a one-of-a-kind panoramic view of the city's horizons as they are invited to indulge in a sumptuous selection of signature dishes and drinks. SKYE's outdoor area is a "bistro by day, lounge by night", while the indoor area is a dining restaurant. SKYE serves international fusion cuisine. Recently, SKYE proudly welcomes Hamish Lindsay as its new Executive Chef. As the hidden prodigy from Auckland, New Zealand, Hamish had worked closely together with Australia's finest celebrity chefs, including Pete Evans and Manu Feildel from My Kitchen Rules, as well as "world champion pizza maker" John Lanzafame, to name a few. Come fly to the SKYE. NOTE: 1. Age restriction in the SKYE Lounge of 19+ years old 2. Dress Code: - Evening Wear for Ladies - Semi Formal for Men - No Shorts - No Flipflops - No Sandals - No Tanktops/Singlets
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is not for everyone . If you like your food , your wine and great views then be at the Skye bar in Jakarta. As you climb 56 floors in a hign speed lift , you are greeted with warmth and a table close to open area will result I amazing views of Jakarta. Watching thunderstorms at a distance will add to the spectacle. Amazing bar , super service will ensure that you have a nice evening. The wine selection is good , the food choice is decent but somewhat limited.I ordered a paella for lack of choice as I don't eat beef , it was average ,not enough flavours and the rice was passable to be paella. However a great time with friends and a decent experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sachinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    514
    221
    66
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome view from 56 floors high”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at the Skye bar many times and always found the service, food and atmosphere to be very good. The Skye bar is a little pricey but with the proper seating location the view is worth the price. After dinner there is an outdoor bar where people can drink, meet and have a good time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“My Dining Recommendations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice atmosphere but expensive. Food is so so. but is a great place to hang out with friends and your loved ones. Love the outside view. recommended for couple and friends

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sita-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice view.. not a bad place to see once or twice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Went to Skye bar twice in one weekend, on a Friday and a Sunday night.
On both nights it wasn't overly busy (was there from about 10 to 12pm), though most of the seats with good views were filled and those further back with room for groups seemed booked.

The views are really good and although there was no real breeze, it was comfortable enough for a few hours. Most people were there for the views I think - lots of picture taking with the city backdrop, and a reasonable turn over of clientele.

The service was pretty good all in all. Didn't have to wait too long with an empty glass.. though often had more than one server come and ask if I wanted another. Once the order went in, there were occasionally delays getting the drink in hand (not good for me in that heat!), but not too long. With regard to another review I saw here, I did get a hint from one waitress that she was thirsty. I am used to this in Batam, but hadn't expected to get it in a place like Skye - especially with the premium prices the view allows them to charge. But it was a very friendly hint ... not at all annoying or persistent.

Good range of drinks on the menu.. something for most people, I would say. I thought that my drink seemed a bit watery the first night (vodka redbull) but the margarita's the second night hit the spot very well.

This isn't really a place to go to meet new people and have a wild night, I'd say. It struck me as a place tourists go, or local expats bring their friends, or the beautiful people go to take their picture. The layout isn't really conducive to meeting people - though great for a group of friends on a night out.

Overall, worth a visit once in a while, but not sure I would rush back there (I went twice in one weekend, because I don't know Jakarta and it was just up the street from my hotel!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadRises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good vibe, decent food, great view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Obviously the biggest draw is the location. Awesome views of the city (although it was a bit windy when we went). I have mixed feelings about the decor (got a fun look but some of it felt cheapish like the chairs which could have been in some $5 mexican canteen).

The drinks were tasty but there was so much ice that I felt that I was paying for half a drink. Food was good but portions felt a bit small (and it was really pricey).

So it has potential and I realy do love the view. I kind of rate it 3.5 stars as 3 feels a bit harsh since there always feels like a bit of grade inflation on trip advisor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flipper202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SKYE Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to SKYE Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing