We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Get Better Than This!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Planet Pasar Baru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Planet Pasar Baru
Ranked #62 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't Get Better Than This!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I truly had a great experience staying at Tune Hotel in September this year. The rooms are clean, spacious and have all the amenities that are essential to make the stay comfortable and relaxing. The staff was helpful and friendly when it came to assisting me with the Wifi password and also getting taxi during the peak hour. The check in and check out process was swift and I did not have to wait too long to clear up the room. I always believe in keeping things simple and was happy that I did not have to pay for unnecessary frills that are never used in the bigger hotels. I also like the cozy coffee shop just besides the entrance. I will be making my second stay at the Pasar Baru in December and looking forward to another cozy and relaxing stay after going through the hectic traffic of Jakarta.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer_Opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramiun, General Manager at Red Planet Pasar Baru, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warmest Greetings from Tune Hotel Pasar Baru!

We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for everyday.

Again, we thank you for our continuous support and look forward to welcoming you back at Tune Hotel Pasar Baru Jakarta.

with personal regards,

Mira Permatasari
Hotel Manager of Tune Hotel Pasar Baru
p: +62 81318081339
e: mira@redplanetindonesia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    159
    103
    14
    7
See reviews for
50
82
83
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I booked this hotel from their opening promo, $15 for two nights stay. As the other Tune hotels, you pay for everything extra like air cond (they have a ceiling fan for free), towels & toiletries, and they do have a large flat screen TV ($4 for 24 hour).

The room itself was clean and bright. Certainly the best Tune hotels room so far. The bathroom was surprisingly at a decent size, and the bed is comfortble as well.

There is a small restaurant near the lobby (kopitiam Oey) but its not open for 24 hours.

Location is in pasar baru area, which is very busy during the day. Close to mangga dua shopping area and easy access by taxi to everywhere else.

Check out for their promo price, if not you will better off staying in similar hotels nearby with free facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tune_Pasar_Baru, Manager at Red Planet Pasar Baru, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Mike_Jkt,
Thank you for your recent stay at Tune Hotel Pasar Baru and for your review entitled "Clean Budget Hotel in Central Jakarta"
It is pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the hotel to your liking.
I also like to thank you for your comment in regards to our Room.
Thank you again for your stay with Tune Hotel Pasar Baru and we hope that we will be your preferred choice for accommodation on your next visit to Jakarta.
Cheers,
Daniswara Rusgandi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balestier, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family (2 Adults and a 12-year old daughter) stayed for 2 nights in the twin room. Our experiences are as follows :
Pros =>
a) Excellent location. 3 min. walk to 'Pasar Baru' and 10min (assuming no traffic jam) taxi to 'Pasar Pagi Mangga Dua'. Easy to get Blue Bird taxi just outside the hotel. Safe environment just next to major road, Jalan Samanhudi.
b) New and clean rooms that includes electronic safe. Room size is a bit small but OK.
c) True to budget concept. You pay for what you want.
d) LCD TV with 66 channels.
e) An interactive LCD screen (just outside the lifts) with webcam that can take free photos and e-mail to anywhere or to a Facebook page.
f) A cafe adjacent to the hotel that serves good food and drinks at reasonable prices. Only complaint is that the ventilation inside the cafe is poor. It is opened for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Cons =>
a) Taxi drivers did not know the hotel or road. Tell the driver to go towards 'Pasar Baru', a popular and well known area. If you approach from the East, look out for the high 'Tune Hotel' neon sign board that can be seen easily from afar. If you approach from the West, then look for the 'Tune Hotel' sign board left of the main road (Jalan Samanhudi).
b) The toilet smells of faint sewage. Maybe it is due to the plumbing problems. However, after switching on the ventilation fan for 5 mins. it is OK.
c) There is insufficient hangers and shelf space in the room.
d) Sound insulation is poor. Fortunately, our stay was peaceful. We were in the room mainly from 8.00pm till 8.00am.
e) The toiletries kit did not include toothbrush and toothpaste.

We will definitely stay in the hotel again for our next trip to Jakarta mainly because of the location, safety, cleanliness and value for money.

Room Tip: Select twin room. The 2 single beds can be moved and join together to form a large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lionheart_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tune_Pasar_Baru, Manager at Red Planet Pasar Baru, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Lionheart_sg,
Thank you for your recent stay at Tune Hotel Pasar Baru as well as writing a review and comments on your experience.
I am glad that you had found everything to your liking and finally everything was meet your expectation.
We do appreciate your time to share this with others. We look forward to welcoming you again in Tune Hotel Pasar Baru.
Cheers,
Daniswara Rusgandi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The bathroom smelled really bad, and when we brought it up to the reception, they only sent housekeeping armed with air freshener. Needless to say, the solution was temporary.

We requested to change room after: 1) smell persisted, 2) our aircond kept switching on by itself (eating up our 24hr credit), which I believed it's a short circuit problem.

Our second room fared slightly better, unfortunately it was filled with cigarettes smell. We had to air it first.
The pillows were quite flat, when we asked if we could rent extra pillows, we were told none is available.

Overall it was only an average room, location is quite good if you are planning to head to mangga dua.

Wish the room's condition could be improved though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGlobTrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tune_Pasar_Baru, Manager at Red Planet Pasar Baru, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear DGlobTrot,
Thank you for your recent stay at Tune Hotel Pasar Baru and for the hotel review. You titled your review 'Average Hotel with a, we are sorry to hear that you were inconvenience . Your comments related bathroom smelled are noted from your review. we will ensure that we are more consistent in our service to our guests and we can always improve for sure. Thank you again for your stay with us and for the time to write a review. We hope that we will have an opportunity in the near future to once again accommodate you and your family members or friends at Tune Hotel Pasar Baru. Thank you.
Cheers,
Daniswara Rusgandi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in Tune Hotel for one night as a stopover. As we basically just needed a good place to sleep we thought Tune might be a good choice. It is located in the very busy Pasar Baru area. So depending traffic it takes around 50min from/to the airport and 10min from/to the Gambir train station. The good thing is you can choose what you need and don't need and only pay for the extras that you use. So e.g. we were booking the 12h air con package + Entertainment package (TV 24h) + Late departure (2pm). We were directly booking at the Tune Hotel website, which i figured out is the cheapest choice if you calculate your needs. Rooms are small but make you feel comfortable. Big plus is that the floor is from stone instead of carpet. Also the bathroom is nice and the shower provides good water presure. The bed makes you feel comfortable and provides a nice sleep. Also the rooms were very quiet. After check-out you can leave your luggage at the counter for a small charge of around 1,50€. So far so good but there is one negative thing: At our next stop we realized we left a pair of pants at Tune Hotel. Even though we checked out late we still came back two times - after lunch and after we picked up our luggage - the staff didn't approach us that we left something in our room. Even we left our mobile number the didn't give us a call. For sure something you could expect form a place that offers good respectively better service.
Anyhow all in all i can recommend a stay in Tune - cheap and comfortable if you don't need much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tune_Pasar_Baru, Manager at Red Planet Pasar Baru, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Tom P.
Thank you for your recent stay at Tune Hotel Pasar Baru and for your review entitled "Nice Hotel in busy area" It is pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the hotel to your liking. I also like to thank you for your comment in regards to basic Tune concept. Your comments in regards to our staffs handled your luggage have been noted and we will ensure that we will improve it to ensure our guests have a more enjoyable stay at Tune Hotel Pasar Baru.. Thank you again for your stay with Tune Hotel Pasar Baru and we hope that we will be your preferred choice for accommodation on your next visit to Jakarta.
Cheers,
Daniswara Rusgandi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here early October, got the opening promotion rate, so got it cheap. But if you start to add on all the options- tv,wifi, aircon,towels it is just a tad cheaper than standard 3 star hotel, so its up to you. Its just opened for a month, so rooms and shower are excellent clean. Location is very near Pasar Baru, so if you are here to shop here cloth it the excellent place to stay. Mangga Dua and Tanah Abang is 10-15 minute away by taxi.

Only flaw is the toilet is smelly, i'm not sure where its coming from, it is very clean but whenever i flush the toilet the bad smell will appear, i guess it coming from the toilet bowl water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azharvedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tune_Pasar_Baru, Manager at Red Planet Pasar Baru, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear azharvedder,
Thank you for your recent stay at Tune Hotel Pasar Baru and subsequent review detailing your findings and experiences whilst staying with us. Congratulations also to have our Opening promotion rate.
Your review titled "Excellent location" is very admirable and thank you for your positive comments and very helpful notes of attraction places near Tune Hotel Pasar Baru.
In regards to room maintenance have been noted and we will ensure that we will improve them.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Tune Hotel Pasar Baru and we hope that on your next visit to the city you will make Tune Hotel Pasar Baru your preferred choice for accommodation needs.
cheers,
Daniswara Rusgandi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Tune hotel is a new and stylish 3 star hotel, located next to the Pasar baru Market, apprx. 15min taxi drive from Gambir station (depending on jakartan traffic...). The rooms are fairly small, but clean, nicely furnished and have very comfortable beds. The bathroom has a large shower and a great large showerhead. In the standard hotel price, a/c and towels are not included but added in a surcharde, if you what them (not expensive though). However, we got a grat deal on agoda (25 usd/night) including ac and towels and the hotel was definitly worth more than that! Additionally, service staff is very friendly.
Note that taxi drivers do not know the hotel yet. If you tell them to drop you off Pasar Baru, they will drop you off on the opposite side of the market,which is an other 15min by foot to the hotel. So tell them to drop you off on the jl samanhudi side of the market.
Food (breakfast and other) in the small attached resto next to the hotel is very tasty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandemluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tune_Pasar_Baru, Manager at Red Planet Pasar Baru, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Tandemluc,
Thank you for your recent business stay at Tune Hotel Pasar Baru as well as writing a review of the hotel entitled "Modern and comfortable" and sharing direction tips on Jakarta to other readers.
Just additional information for taxi drivers, you can also inform them nearby place of interest such : in front of Gereja Ayam ; Metro Pasar Baru.
Thank you again for your recent stay and review and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Cheers,
Daniswara Rusgandi - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
favehotel Pasar Baru
favehotel Pasar Baru
#70 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Sawah Besar
POP! Hotel Pasar Baru
POP! Hotel Pasar Baru
#150 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Gambir
Citi M Hotel
Citi M Hotel
#66 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gambir
favehotel Zainul Arifin
favehotel Zainul Arifin
#63 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Bold Hotel Jakarta
#128 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
favehotel LTC Glodok
#90 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Pasar Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Pasar Baru

Property: Red Planet Pasar Baru
Address: Jln. H Samanhudi no. 25 | Pasar Baru, Jakarta 10710, Indonesia (Formerly Tune Hotel Pasar Baru)
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Pasar Baru 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Jakarta, Red Planet Pasar Baru, Jakarta is a fun and charming portal to the best this dynamic city offers. It is next-door to the famous Ramayana Pasar Baru market and 6km from Ancol Dreamland, Jakarta's biggest theme park. The Presidential Place and the National Monument are also nearby, as is the largest wholesale market in Southeast Asia, Mangga Dua. The 168-room Red Planet Pasar Baru, Jakarta has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi (up to three devices), soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Red Planet Pasar Baru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing