We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, great lamb”
Review of Turkuaz Restaurant

Turkuaz Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 7,846 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Turkuaz - Authentic Turkish Cuisine & Baklava House is designed to be one of the leading restaurant offering a truly memorable authentic Turkish dining experience, lead by Proprietor and Head Chef Sezai Zorlu, a passionate and charismatic Turkish Chef in Indonesia known as the ambassador of Turkish cuisine in Indonesia since 1999. Delectable authentic Turkish cuisine, freshly prepared food and personalized service is Turkuaz all about. Opening Hours: Sundays to Thursdays:- 11.30Am - 10.00Pm (last order) Fridays and Saturdays:- 11.30Am - 11.30Pm (last order)
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food, great lamb”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Really good lamb - in a city where its hard to find great lamb.
excellent and authentic breads and dips (hummus, etc).
lovely ambience, good for familes, groups and couples - love the main turkish light - i want one...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    138
    40
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Manage to introduce us to new taste, without going overboard”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Order the lamb. The meat separates easily from the bone. You can cut and chew the meat with ease.

The spice is engaging but not overwhelming.

I cannot suggest the traditional yoghurt, i drink the salted concoction for the sake of expanding my palate but it proves to be too far fetched.

Had dinner for 2, 1 appetiser, 2 main course, 2 drinks, 1 dessert, spend about 250k each.

Place is small, if it weren't for a large sign we would miss the place since it shares its frontage with another, much lower brow establishment. Intimate you can say, but its too easy to overhear what other guest say.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SendyFilemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally Overrated Restaurant”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went there on a Saturday, spend ages a few hours before trying to ring and reserve a table.This was unsuccessful.
So we turned up. The service was poor...and they weren't very polite either.
The hummus was good, but for a small portion, pricey...I think $10 is too much for some hummus with a bit of lamb on top.
The salad was small too...and wasn't that nice, not nearly enough cous cous in it, too much parsley.
The lamb was tender, but lacked taste...and the sauce wasn't a sauce, a few vegetables next to the tender, but no taste lamb. I won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katshimakawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but out of many dishes on a Saturday night”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I like the restaurant ambience and its food. Unfortunately this is the second time we go with a group of friends and we cannot eat what we wanted. When we asked the waiter why, she said that if we want to be sure to eat what we want, we should order it when we make the reservation!
Hope they can fix this issue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing lamb”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went here to celebrate our friend's birthday. The place is nice, it is quiet, designed as if it were a small house. It is a cozy place to come with friends or in couple. What i like the most from this restaurant are the lamb and the service. The waiters gave us insight about the foods they served us. And the taste of the lamb was very great. We ordered it again and again, a really must try one!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turkuaz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing