We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel
Ranked #122 of 462 Hotels in Jakarta
Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old hotel”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed 1 night at grand sahid because attending a wedding reception here.
We asked for no smoking room, but the corridor in that floor is smelly, feels like at the smoking room's floor.
Room is old, and smell like old sofa.
The shower curtain got mold, the water closet not clean, got some mold too. The shower switch between the shower and bathtub were broken, so we need to use a spoon to switch it to bathtub mode.
Towels need replacement, the colour is already yellow. They didnt provide hand towel.
If you would like to stay here, bring your own towels.

Breakfast is average.

Overall, room looks like a 3 star hotel instead of 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flyer0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    86
    104
    34
    34
See reviews for
39
28
18
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
大阪
Level Contributor
108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

It is a slightly old hotel, but the atmosphere is good.
I was able to be satisfied enough.


There is in the city, but there is not the institution which I can go on foot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank いんてりやくざ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My vacation from August 30th. To September 14th.-2011 took me to Bali, Surabaya
and finally Jakarta.
This hotel was the last place I stayed in before going back to Canada.
Compared to 2007, the lobby/reception area has improved quite a bit and looked very nice,
this however cannot be said about the bedrooms.
The first room they gave me had brown running water...
Thanks to Denise, the floor manager I got another room.
Unfortunately the room I stayed in didn’t see renovations since the hotel was built in the 70’s.
They assured me that all the rooms are under renovation, an urgent necessity to say the least.
I had planned to stay at Le Meridien, but because of the busy time of year (Idul Fitri) there was no vacancy, and I was forced to stay at this hotel once again.
Positive are the in house restaurants, food was very good and staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms till the 4th. floor have apparently been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ventje-Andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have travel on business trip last week.Price is very expensive but hotel is really rundown
I have book the airport transfer service but i did not see any taxi with my name in the airport and i waited for 30 min for nothing.At last i decided to hire a cab myself.

The hotel outer look and lobby looks ok but when u reach the room, you will be like shock.Rooms is very run down with no maintenance.Luckily the bed and toilet is clean.
But the facilities in the room is very old.14"CRT TV, which is hard to find it nowadays..the room is stuff with a old smell...luckily i was flu that day therefore i din really smell it or else it will be a sleepless night for me...there is no in room safe as well...The aircon is a bit weird, when i reach the room it was at 0c and i adjusted to 20c until 30c, but there is still no diff, i was so cold at the night....
But the good things is, breakfast is quite sumptious, a lot of food available, even i saw cherry was provided...too bad i was sick and i onyl go for the fruits
Since jakarta was so jam, and my office is only opposite there, i have no choice to stay there...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euniceyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed in this hotel on business trip when Sari Pan Pacific is unavailable. I got to say... for the price you pay for their standard or even deluxe room, it is really overrated. The hotel is rundown. No attached gym, though you may access the gym in their adjacent building a few minutes walking distance away. The spread for the buffet breakfast is the same every day and does not offer much variety. If given a choice, will not stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe room tend to be a better choice, but honestly nothing to shout about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOKYO,JAPAN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

In Jakarta, You may see all day heany trafic jam in the city. This hotel is located center of the city. However there are no access shopping or dinning place on foot. Then you always need extra one hour for those actitivities. You may see YELLOW water from shower 24hrs. You need pay attention for your health while staying. There are concierge sign at hotel front but they do not support any thing for the guest. We could not touch any intentions for their hotel service. I recommned you would not expect any hotel service on this hotel. Among emplyees comunications are very bad and management are terrible. Typical Indonesia quality hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TONY3850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Our host booked us in Sahid Jaya. No sitting facitlities at the lobby/reception area.Check in no hassle.Room 798 has a pool view!Nice! As it is a standard room everything in it is standard! The room is clean. Breakfast is ok There is a decent selection of pastries. And a few fruit juices which caught my immediate attention.We had an early breakfast for an early check out. Service throughout our one nite stay was superb!We thanked our host for his kind hospitality and letting us expereinced the Sahid Jaya.

Room Tip: If you are picky about rooms, try elsewhere! If you are not then the Sahid Jaya is ok if you put int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atillatilla, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Hello; I traveled to jakarta and stayed Grand sahid jaya hotel for 4nights in march - 19 -2012
In my opinion ,nice hotel and great location. If you face any problem related with hotel you have to find Mr yudhi_rama and tell the situation . he will do his best to solve and make you happy. I , thank you again from here. If you sit down in solo lounge the responsibilty lady will show you indoneasion traditional respect and attitude I thank her from here. YOU can read rewievs which is not good , at the conclusion I advise you to stay hotel Grand sahid jaya hotel have a good travel have a good days
ATİLLA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Le Meridien Jakarta
Le Meridien Jakarta
#38 of 462 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
HARRIS Suites FX Sudirman
#48 of 462 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Tanah Abang
AYANA Midplaza JAKARTA
AYANA Midplaza JAKARTA
#39 of 462 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Holiday Inn Express Jakarta Thamrin
Century Park Hotel
#44 of 462 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel

Property: Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel
Address: Jl. Jendral Sudirman Kav. 86, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 283 rooms, Modern Deluxe 225 rooms, Suites 51 rooms, Presidential 1 room. Executive rooms and suites floors available with dedicated check in/out service, complimentary breakfast and late afternoon cocktails at executive Lounge, 24 hour butler service and many other amenities. The 9th and 17th floors are non smoking floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahid Jaya Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing