We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”
Review of Aryaduta Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aryaduta Jakarta
Ranked #73 of 468 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed June 22, 2008

The Hotel

The Hotel Aryaduta is located at Tugu Tani in Central Jakarta, within walking distance of the US Embassy and the main train station. It is also fairly close to Menteng which has a lot of nice restaurants and Plaza Indonesia which is th most upmarket mall in the city

Check-in

Check-in was quick and efficient. We requested a Tugu Tani facing room on a high floor and both of these requests were met.

The room

Our room on the 16th floor was quite stylish in some ways but also a little dated. The furnishings were in good repair and the room was spotless but the mini bar must be at least 20 years old and wasn't really very cold.

The design of the room is also a little strange in the windows are smaller than they have to be (Similar to the Hotel Borrobudur) which makes the room feel a little boxy. I was also surprised to see that the air-conditioning and electricity aren't controlled by a key card.

Hotel facilites
The pool area is very nice and features a good sized pool, a childrens pool and also a hot spa (jacuzzi) nicely situated under a flowering tree. The hotel gym is very well equipped and one of the best I have used.

Food and beverage

The room service we ordered was delivered promptly and was presented well. They forgot to bring the ice cubes we requested with our order and they were apologetic and bought them up when they collected the tray. The buffet breakfast was also good

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 437 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2007

This is definitely not a 5 star hotel, maybe a 3 star in the US. I had booked through a counter at the Jakarta airport (Indotel) and was surprised that I was getting a 5 star for 660K rupiah.

Check in was OK but the room smelt of sewage (not too much but enough to notice), the room definitely needs upgrading. Out the window was a view of a canal (or pre-existing stream) that was black and still and filled with sewage or something like that.

The AC hardly worked, the control was very outdated. Internet was USD15 a day.

Room service was OK, and security was very tight. The hotel is across from the US embassy in Jakarta.

All in all, a poor value for what I paid, and I left to find another hotel after staying 2 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelerintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2007

Great hotel, good security, friendly staff and good pool/gym.

Food and room service are great.

Location is pretty good. Easy to get to most things, but about an hour from the airport.

The rooms were being rennovated when I was last there, and the newly rennovated rooms are excellent. They have all the features you need as a business traveller.

Would reccomend.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ptibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hong Kong
1
Reviewed September 12, 2005

This hotel is the most friendly hotel that I have experienced in Indonesia. The staff are more than willing to assist, and the refurbished rooms are great. This will always be my first choice in Jakarta

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2005

The Aryaduta Hotel is one of the original international hotels developed in Jakarta in the late 70s early 80s. It is managed by Hyatt International and is located in the centre of the city not far from Monas, Menteng, Gambir Railway station, the President's Palace and the US embassy.

I have stayed at the Ayraduta many times over the years and it is an old favourite. I would like to say that it has aged gracefully but that would only be partly true. The hotel is burdoned by the limitations of a small site and a building that was not well designed.

Recently there has been a major upgrade performed on the rooms. The new rooms are very stylish and quite comfortable. The main problem is their size. They are small but the refit has introduced some clever touches to make them feel bigger. There is also now a very good working desk with connections for broadband internet.

My biggest gripe with the rooms is the bathroom. The bathrooms are tiny. Large people may find the bathroom particularly uncomfortable.

Despite this the Aryaduta offers one of the best Italian restaurants in Jakarta, Ambiente. It is consistently good. The Tavern, located in the basement, has not changed much in 20 years and is a nice place to have a beer and pub food.

The Aryaduta has no gardens but there is a pleasant pool and a good fitness centre and spa.

I still find the Aryaduta to be a comfortable place to stay and due to some of the limitations mentioned above the prices can be quite reasonable.

5  Thank George212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
california
13
Reviewed February 14, 2005

The buffet was awesome and the rooms were great. Also I loved the pool and gym gacilities, and the staff was absolutely courteous. Additionally the band inside the hotel totally rocked.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Padova, Italy
15
Reviewed September 14, 2004

I got a very discounted fare and I think that it was worth what I paid for. The staff is very courteous and friendly and the hotel is not that bad, but it is definitely not five-star, as it claims, and far below the average Hyatt standard. The premises badly need refurbishing both in the rooms and in the common areas. The buffet breakfast does not offer much of a choice, which is fairly uncommon in the top hotels of SE Asia. Overall, it is fine if you are on a business trip and do not spend too much of your time in the hotel. I would however not make it my favourite choice if I were on holiday.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
#33 of 468 in Jakarta
1,336 reviews
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#42 of 468 in Jakarta
566 reviews
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#48 of 468 in Jakarta
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Millennium Hotel Sirih Jakarta
Menteng
Fraser Residence Menteng Jakarta
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryaduta Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryaduta Jakarta

Address: Jl. Prapatan 44-48, Jakarta 10110, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Gambir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#41 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#57 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $58 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aryaduta Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Jakarta's business district, Aryaduta Jakarta boasts outstanding comfort, convenience and stunning city views. Its 304 guestrooms, tastefully-appointed suites and modern facilities offer a tranquil oasis in one of the world's great megacities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aryaduta Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakarta Aryaduta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing