We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best 5 Star Hotel in most strategic location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Ranked #10 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best 5 Star Hotel in most strategic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

We have been quite a regular since last year in Grand Hyatt but I must admit that their room rate is definitely one of the highest in Jakarta (this after my husband repeatedly stressing/objecting my choice of stay there) .

However, I always weigh in cons of having to travel by taxi/car in Jakarta, your time definitely will be wasted in traffic jam and areas that you most likely go to (for shopping mind) would be around Grand Indonesia, Plaza Indonesia & EX, Plaza Senayan, Senayan City.

Plaza Indonesia & EX are adjacent & below the hotel, Grand Indonesia just across the street, Plaza Indonesia and Senayan City probably just take about 15 mins by taxi.

However, Grand Hyatt has new competition in town, its the Kempinski Hotel Indonesia which locates adjacent to Grand Indonesia (newer mall with more variety of shops & eatery compares to Plaza Indonesia & FX combined) and practically same winning location as Grand Hyatt.

Enough said about its location, for room wise, it was definitely a spacious room. Love the bathroom & dressing/wardrobe room, it's design very functional and enjoy the amenities provided.

But, to my surprise, on our last stay, the bed was soft making our backs ached, it never happened before, even made me wanted to change the room (imagined how bad it was) I reported this to Room Service and they mentioned all the bed should be the same standard (expected answer) even though I told him, this was my first 'complaint on bed' after staying frequently over the year, nevertheless, they provided some sort of hard thin mattress and we also requested the bed to be turned around to other side. It improved but not to level of satisfaction.

A bit disappointed too on the breakfast spread, it didn't really offer many options but quality wise, it was definitely 5-star quality. But we Loved the Bubur Ayam, Bakso and Fresh Fruit Juices.

Staff was excellent and courteous throughout all areas but I always found the front desk staff could displayed friendlier attitude upon check in.

Swimming pool is quite nice & lush landscaping around it; we haven't tried gym/spa facilities but Grand Hyatt Jakarta is famous for its gym membership.

Due to the Mattress Incident, my husband now is more persistent in persuading me to try different hotel on our next stay.

Hhhmmmmm, will give it a thought...

Still one of my fave hotel though....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdmnmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    309
    45
    18
    15
See reviews for
137
80
75
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

I went to Jakarta with my family..
The Grand Cafe has a great menu with great food..
The rooms were spacious..
The staff was helpful
But the only problem was the language.. actually language is a problem in Jakarta itself..
They had a facility of getting a massage done in the room itself.. Never seen that anywhere else..
It is in the main business area of Jakarta..

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
Thank nikitajain29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

A great location, with the hotel connected to Plaza Indonesia with tons of shopping and eating joints. Hotel is sprawling and rooms are very spacious (all ensuite, with separate toilets, bath and dressing areas).

Lifts are somewhat slow though, and could take several minutes during office rush hours.

  • Liked — Very nice spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Lifts are somewhat slow during office rush hours
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zyx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
259 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

I've stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Jakarta several times and have always had an enjoyable experience from check in to check out

Qualified upgrades are swiftly provided without any posturing about the hotel being full and the check in process is quick and efficient

The rooms are large and well appointed. The work desk is very comfortable and the Internet service is excellent. Not as fast as Hong Kong but still remarkable. There are a variety of lights and its therefore possible to have the room bright for working or a bit dimmer for viewing a movie on the laptop

The bathrooms are bright with a good selection of amenities. Great water pressure and temperature

The food selection is slightly limited but the quality is very good. The buffet breakfast is worth the price

What stands out for me is the efficient service in every area and that's what keeps me going back to the Hyatt

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adesitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#12 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 453 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Property: Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Address: Jl. M H Thamrin Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Indonesia, Grand Hyatt Jakarta is living up to its name. Strategically located in the Thamrin CBD and adjacent to Plaza Indonesia Shopping Centre and The Plaza Office Tower, the hotel provides excellent services and amenities to people from all around the world. Dine in the hotel's award-winning C's steak and Seafood Restaurant, pamper yourself in the Club Olympus Fitness & wellness Centre and swim in our 43-metre lagoon-shaped outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hyatt Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Jakarta
Jakarta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing