We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, beautiful classic style hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Ranked #15 of 460 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautiful classic style hotel, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here over a long weekend while in town for a family wedding. The hotel itself is in a great location in Central Jakarta and links to Plaza Indonesia which is fantastic (from there it's easy to cross over the Grand Indonesia).

The lobby and entrance are very impressive in the classic style, and seems like it has recently been refurbished. The King room is comfortable with a nice marble bathroom, but a little on the smaller side.

The buffet breakfast is excellent with lots of choices, however there is not really enough space and preference is given to the smoking seats. As non-smokers we usually had the option of sitting in the smoking area or being stuck next to the kitchen door.

The pool area is nice, but not really practical in the Indonesian humidity and the pool restaurant has a very limited menu.

Service all round was very good, no issues at all. Would stay there again.

All in all a good stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goddess230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    318
    45
    18
    17
See reviews for
140
84
77
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was not my first trip to Jakarta but it was my first stay at Grand Hyatt and i would say there's absolutely nothing to complain about this hotel. From the moment i stepped into the hotel i was greeted with excellent service from eager and attentive staff who really made me feel at home. I was given a very spacious room because it was my first stay and also complimentary airport limo on my way back. Great view from hotel room and location was excellent with a number of malls within walking distance. The gym and pool were also one of the best i have seen in a business hotel. Breakfast spread had a lot of variety and i especially loved the local food. Also my colleague happened to left his ipad in the hotel room after he checked out but the staff managed to find it and handed over to me. I believe this really made my colleague's day. You cannot go wrong with this hotel!

For me i wish to make a special mention to Angeline (i think) from Concierge who gave really good instructions on how to make my way to a particular shop which i wanted to go to but didn't really know the street name.

I would definitely make it a point to come back to this hotel again in my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kho2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Jakarta, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Jakarta, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Kho2317,

Warm greetings from Grand Hyatt Jakarta…

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Jakarta on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, and enjoyed our product, facilities and services. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Angeline and our associates, so that they may be recognized for their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hyatt Jakarta in the near future.



With best regards,

Fredrik Harfors
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Usually breakfast comes with the booking of the room.All one has to do is in the morning is tell the waiter at the restaurant the room number and we proceed to have breakfast.
but not at the grand Hyatt!! each time you go in for breakfast - the waiter brings a bill and you have to sign like as if it is a payment.I am told it is a procedure in the hotel.....i felt uneasy and informed the front desk!!
so this morning - 3rd November 2013 ...i skipped breakfast!!..in protest i guess...never in my life i have experienced such uneasiness.
the hotel in general has good service which is spoilt by this strange administrative procedure!!
to the visitor - the procedure causes much anxiety!!... one which i feel is unprofessional...taking into account the reputation it has as a rated hotel
all this is strange but true experience!!
on Sunday you may want to go for a stroll around the area>the have a flea market and lots of other activities and hawker food ...enough to forget the breakfast in the hotel!!
the morning market promises the visitor a glimpse of the Indonesian lifestyle and the added bonus is the music in the form of stage singers ,marching band and talented singers ...all breezing up the bright Sunday morning
an experience not to be forgotten!!
for those who are brand conscious - there is adjoining the hotel a large shopping mall to cater for the brand types..
otherwise just take a walk outside to experience the real Jakarta
mind you the weekday traffic is bad!! so leave at least 3 hrs early to the airport

Room Tip: rooms on the 14th floor are quieter! take the room facing the round about.Make sure you ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesdevanayagam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
122 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Arrived at Hyatt after unpleasant stay in a nearby hotel.
Quick check in.
Room very clean with good bathroom. Not sparkling new room but well maintained with view of the main square.
The pool is heaven, big and has a resort feel, very nice for swimming and offered free drinks by the pool.
The club lounge is great and the service top. Champagne offered, very good food selection. I have to be honest we were there over the weekend and the lounge was busy with families and some had the idea to have the dinner in the lounge so the food was finishing quickly. Not hotel fault.
Good breakfast in the lounge.
Late check out given at 1500 free without any fuss.
We ordered a hotel limo to the airport and we were so surprised to find out was complimentary as first time staying at the Grand Hyatt Club rooms.
Great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moschino24_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is a gem in a very busy city. The visit was for work and I was amazed at the grandeur of the hotel upon entrance. My favorite place was relaxing near the pool. Very serene after a busy day.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fran456949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is grand but it definitely needs some refurbishment as some of the furniture, decor and fittings are a little dated.

It sits right on top of Plaza Indonesia and a couple of big malls in the area so this is a perfect hotel to stay if you are here for a shopping and food trip.

As its right smack in the city (next to some monument and fountain), demonstrations tend to be held here. We were caught in 1 peaceful demonstration on a Saturday night and we had to cancel our dinner out of the city because it was almost impossible to navigate out of this crazy traffic.

The swimming pool was nice but its also very dated. Service is average considering its the Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed in a Club King so I could experience the Club Lounge for breakfast and cocktails. It is better than Bangkok Erawon, Osaka and Grand Central Terminal. There are three hot selections every night, plus salad, fruit, cheese, bread and dessert. Wine, beer, soft drinks and fruit juice is free. If the weather is bad, just stay in the lounge and eat dinner there, thought the hotel restaurants are also first class.

Room Tip: Ask for a Hotel Indonesia Circle fountain view for a more romantic view than the usual city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorningPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Jakarta, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Jakarta, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Corning Paul,

Warm greetings from Grand Hyatt Jakarta…

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Jakarta on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, and enjoyed our Grand Club Lounge. I will be sure to pass on your kind words regarding our employees to them, so that they may be recognized for their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hyatt Jakarta in the near future.



With best regards,

Fredrik Harfors
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#11 of 460 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#14 of 460 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 460 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 460 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Property: Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Address: Jl. M H Thamrin Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Indonesia, Grand Hyatt Jakarta is living up to its name. Strategically located in the Thamrin CBD and adjacent to Plaza Indonesia Shopping Centre and The Plaza Office Tower, the hotel provides excellent services and amenities to people from all around the world. Dine in the hotel's award-winning C's steak and Seafood Restaurant, pamper yourself in the Club Olympus Fitness & wellness Centre and swim in our 43-metre lagoon-shaped outdoor swimming pool. In keeping with the ever-changing needs and lifestyles of the present day global travellers, Fountain Lounge is about to embark on a complete renovation project on 15 April 2017 and is scheduled to open in the month of June 2017. To ensure your comfortable stay and convenience, we have adjusted the opening hours of burgundy and C’s Steak and Seafood restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Jakarta
Jakarta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing