We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Ranked #27 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've stayed a couple of times at the Grand Hyatt in Jakarta, most recently in Sept 2013. The rooms are very spacious and the gym is one of the best in the hotels that I've stayed at around Asia Pacific. The outdoor pool is picture perfect. Every morning, we wake up to a sumptuous spread of the breakfast buffet before we head off for work. In the evenings when we return, we are greeted with the most warm "welcome home, sir". It makes the Grand Hyatt, Jakarta a home away from home.

Thank you to the Grand Hyatt staff for such pleasant stays.

Room Tip: I've only ever stayed in the standard room but it's nice and spacious enough.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zefri_Alejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Jakarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is very very convenient, its just located within plaza indonesia and opposite to grand indonesia shopping centre which are among the biggest in the city. the hotel rooms are well equiped with luxurious clean rooms.

Room Tip: The club lounge facility comes with cocktail and wine.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0hnmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in Grand Hyatt a few times for leisure. This is our favorite hotel in Jakarta. The room's interior is awesome. I especially loveeee the bathroom. The room is spacious, clean, luxurious with a large comfortable bed. The location cannot be better, surrounded by shopping malls and awesome dining places. Breakfast's variety is amazing and delicious. Service is excellent! Truly, one of the best hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Shopping at Jakarta's most beautiful and luxuriousmall (Plaza Indonesia) can be exhausting because of the impressions and inspirations to process ;). Grand Hyatt is integrated (internally connected) and therefore an easy accessable hotel to enter from the mall. its majestic lobby is impressively huge with marble and water features. On the first fl. theres the Fountain Lounge providing an impressive view on Jakarta's famous jl. Thamrin national landmark and fountain. A good place to relax or to meet a businesspartner, or just go for drink after shopping or other bussy day of trips, conference or meeting. Good service, and regular performance of a Philipino band and other jazz artists (easy listening).
Also worth experiencing: the pool on the 6th floor. A wonderful area (water and plants) with a huge outside and inside restaurant with service to your sunbed: fresh fish etc and traditional Indonesian meals.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorisMarcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Grand Hyatt Jakarta is definitely a business hotel. Good for business meetings, and conventions.
Good choice for business travelers.I have stayed there many times, but always need to wait to get a taxi. That just not acceptable. Other than that, the hotel is great!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOBY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We recently spent 4 days visiting Jakarta and stayed at the Grand Hyatt because of the positive comments on this website and the position of the hotel which couldn't be better. Check-in was fast and efficient (it was 1 a.m.!) and all my requests concerning the room had been met. We were given a lovely room on the front of the hotel overlooking the Welcome monument and it was great to be able to watch the Jakarta traffic up close but in the comfort of the hotel room. The room itself was large and very nicely set out with lots of storage space and all the necessary amenities. The bathroom was lovely- very large and nicely designed. The bed was large and very comfortable- my partner and I both slept like babies during our stay in Jakarta, and there was no noise whatsoever from outside.

The lobby of the hotel is huge and impressive because of its size but is very 1980's and not particularly comfortable. There are no seats at all in the lobby near the reception so I'm not too sure where the hotel expects guests to wait if they are waiting or being met. There are some bench seats on the ground floor near the main entrance but they are not particularly comfortable or convenient. We had breakfast one day in the main café on the lobby level and the continental breakfast was excellent but expensive. There is a Starbucks at the bottom of the driveway in the Plaza Indonesia mall if you don't want to eat breakfast in the hotel. We didn't use any of the other F&B outlets so can't comment on them.

Our favorite part of the hotel was the pool area which is extraordinary, possibly the most beautiful urban pool I have ever seen in all my travels around the world. The pool itself was spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained with very easy access even for those with mobility problems. There were numerous loungers available with sun umbrellas and the loungers were very comfortable. I'm not sure why, but during our stay the pool area was almost deserted- we went every day and there were never more than 5 or 6 people there, which was lovely. We did not use the pool bar/restaurant but it looked lovely. There is also a small jogging track in the pool area and the fitness center is fairly large and well-equipped. The staff were all charming and helpful although the level of English generally in Indonesia is not quite as good as it is here in the Philippines and we had a few incidents of quite hilarious miscommunication!

The other thing we loved was the direct access to Plaza Indonesia from the lobby level of the hotel- it couldn't be more convenient! We enjoyed wandering in the mall and even took in a film one evening in the cinemas on the top floor. The Grand Indonesia is another huge mall which is located just across the street from the Hyatt and connected to the Kempinski Indonesia hotel although the access from the street in front of the Hyatt is problematic to say the least. I won't go into detail but it involved going in a door which looked like an employees entrance and then we had to take a lift up a level or two to access the mall- all a bit confusing. Why could they not simply build an entrance at street level opposite the Hyatt or even better a footbridge connecting the two malls?

All in all we loved our stay at the Grand Hyatt and we can't wait to go back. The only negative is the WiFi which is free in certain parts of the hotel (mostly the lobby) but expensive if used in the room. It would be nice if all hotels provided free WiFi in all their rooms- surely this is the way of the future. The position of the hotel in central Jakarta is excellent and the hotel itself is still probably one of the nicest in the city although parts of it are showing their age. The Grand Hyatt provides an excellent base for sightseeing or for business and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone heading to Jakarta- they won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel overlook the Wellcome monument and Jalan Thamrin and it's gr...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesinmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

In a city with many hotels this is one of the standouts. The rooms are comfortable, and reasonably large, and the service impeccable. Another strong selling point is it is next door to two of the best shopping malls in Jakarta--it is actually joined to one of them--which gives guests at this hotel access to a well-stocked grocery store, off-site dry cleaning, and many restaurants, both cheap and more pricey.

The executive lounge staff in particular go out of their way to provide guests with a great hotel experience, although the staff in general are great as well. For context, this is not something I have found to be uniformly the case at the many other hotels in Jakarta I used to stay at before settling on the Grand Hyatt.

A negative is it is pricey and towards the top of the Jakarta market in this respect. However, hotels in Jakarta seem to be in greater demand than in the past, and the prices at this hotel reflect, at least in part, this trend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 464 in Jakarta
1,507 reviews
Ascott Jakarta
#43 of 464 in Jakarta
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Address: Jl. M H Thamrin Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#26 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $191 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Indonesia, Grand Hyatt Jakarta is living up to its name. Strategically located in the Thamrin CBD and adjacent to Plaza Indonesia Shopping Centre and The Plaza Office Tower, the hotel provides excellent services and amenities to people from all around the world. Dine in the hotel's award-winning C's steak and Seafood Restaurant, pamper yourself in the Club Olympus Fitness & wellness Centre and swim in our 43-metre lagoon-shaped outdoor swimming pool. In keeping with the ever-changing needs and lifestyles of the present day global travellers, Fountain Lounge is about to embark on a complete renovation project on 15 April 2017 and is scheduled to open in the month of June 2017. To ensure your comfortable stay and convenience, we have adjusted the opening hours of burgundy and C’s Steak and Seafood restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Jakarta
Jakarta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing