We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, thoughtful, service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Ranked #18 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great, thoughtful, service”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had one of the best service from this hotel. Very thoughtful staff which cares about my stay and take initiative to make me feel comfortable. I forgot to bring some toiletries and they offered to bring me and asked if I need breakfast, morning call, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freescoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    331
    48
    18
    18
See reviews for
146
86
78
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

One ofthe best hyattpropertiesi haveseen in asia.

Large standard rooms, nicecafes. Great location.

A beautiful spa and health club....
The japanese restaurant is worth a special mention.
The lounge cafe/bar is verypleasant with a nice jazz band to spruce up the evening.
Thethreepiece flute/violin /piano trioplaying on theafternoon of 25 may was brilliant...

The shoppingmallnet dooris a bigplus...the reception staff/ securitywas helpful in opening up theinterconnecting door well past mid night..


Quality of Toiletries could be improved..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just got back from our trip from Jakarta last week and I just would like to write my thoughts on our wonderful experience from this Hotel. From the airport, it took around an hour travel time (due to Jakarta traffic) to reach our Hotel.

Upon reaching the Welcome Monument, the hotel is right smack at it. Going up to the hotel, you can feel that security of their guest is 2nd to none. Before, entering, your vehicle will be inspected and another security scan is at the entrance of the hotel. All baggages (including hand carry items) are inspected before you enter the hotel. Once you enter, you have to ride an escalator to get to the lobby where the Grand Cafe is located where they serve their buffet breakfast. Their front office staff were so efficient that we were able to check in our room in a little over 5 mins. (for 6 pax, that's excellent service).

The rooms are VERY, VERY SPACIOUS. The area is separated into three, the bedroom, the closet area and the bathroom with a sliding door to give you a little privacy. The bedroom had a king size bed. The view from our room was the swimming pool area and the other cityscape (SEIBU Department Store, etc). The other wing had the Welcome Monument as their view together with the Central Business District.

Facilities:
POOL and the Gym: I only got to use the pool and the gym on the 5th floor of the hotel. The pool was like a lagoon and a very spacious layout. You had your pool bar but I didn't go there as I swam very early. The pool area was also well decorated with a garden and several structures you can use for your meditation and relaxation.
GYM:
VERY WELL STOCKED EQUIPMENT of Life Fitness machines from treadmill to bikes, to elliptical, to name it they have them.

Food and Service:
We only availed of their breakfast buffet as we were always going around. Wide selection of breakfast cuisine from Asian, Continental, Danish Pastries and a wide selection of bread and cheeses and of course Indonesian food. The one that caught my eye was the dessert section which serves gelato and other sweets for breakfast. Tried their Coffee Ice Cream and it was really really good and strong coffee flavor.

SERVICE: TOP RATED. Their waiters were always looking out for you. From escorting you to your table to offering coffee and tea service with a wide selection to choose from to cleaning up a side plate or requesting for more, they are always their to look out for you. My dad requested for fresh strawberries but was not on the buffet table. The head waiter went to him and explained that they don't have those item now but we can send some over your room if he wanted. He said yes, and the minute he entered his room after breakfast, a bunch of strawberries were already in his room. TOP CLASS SERVICE.

LOST MY KEYCARD WHILE HAVING BREAKFAST: We were really in a hurry to make the city tour that I forgot and lost my keycard on the table. While on the bus, I couldn't find my keycard. I immediately called the hotel and reported this and have the card terminated. After 2 mins., the concierge of the hotel called me back to report that the waiter had found the keycard on the floor of our table. When we got back to the hotel, we were informed by the front office that we will be issued new set of keycards as the old code was terminated after my call. When we entered the room, we saw a letter on the floor informing us to call the concierge. We called only to find out that he gave us a report of the incident. - IMPRESSIVE

Location:
Right smack at the CBD, the hotel is quite near to a number of shopping malls. Plaza Indonesia is connected to the hotel. Again, security is of top most importance for this hotel. Upon entering the hotel from the mall entrance, a security inspection is required. We had to hear Sunday Mass and it took us around 10 mins by taxi to St. Therisia Church.

Room Tip: ask for room with a view of the Welcome Monument as it's great view at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel over a dozen times in the past 3 years, and it is one of my favorites. Spacious and quiet rooms. Friendly and well-trained staff. Good restaurants and shopping connected to the hotel. Great pool! And if you are in a Club room, the breakfast and cocktails are very good in the club lounge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just checked out from Grand Hyatt Jakarta several days ago, so this is very fresh report.


Well, Grand Hyatt only have just one or two positive side for me...

+First is: the location, in the center of Jakarta (and Indonesia) in HI Roundabout, and connected to Plaza Indonesia Mall and eX.

+Very impressive lobby (Gran Melia Kuningan have more impressive lobby).


Negative:

-The Hospitality, receptionist is not very friendly, especially the man when check out, not smile, not say thanks, very unfriendly security guards, when hotel staff see us in hotel area, many pretended not to look to us, etc 1/5. Others staff who serviced us (room boy, concierge, housekeeping, etc) have a standard attitude, just 1 person (senior/manager waiter?) when breakfast have a really nice attitude.

-Room Layout: very weird, they put LCD set BESIDE your bed, and put couch BEHIND the LCD.
You cannot sit down and relax when watching TV.

-The Price/Value: very haughty, they don't have a special weekend rate (others have a weekend rate), even more expensive when I was stay in this week so I must pay about 300 USD (usual: 250 USD, through travel agent) which is totally unaccepted. The same caliber hotel in this area (HI Roundabout) have a much more cheaper: Kempinski 200, Pullman 90, Mandarin Oriental (Best Hotel in Tripadvisor - you can not be wrong, right?) 190 - all price is constant through travel agent. Keraton is not in the same league as Keraton is newer hotel, and Keraton only have 140 rooms-boutique style. For luxury seeker who want to spend 300 USD I suggest you to stay @ Ritz Carlton Pacific Place. But if you want to stay in HI oundabout area i suggest you to stay @ Mandarin Oriental (best hospitality, etc - see my review).

-Breakfast: have a very high expectation, but Grand Cafe fails to failed to meet my expectations, usually in 5 star hotel have a wide variety - Indian, American, Japanese, Chinese, Continental section. But they don't have a Indian and Japanese section (and no bacon).

-Their "King Bed" is too firm for me, and just only 190x200 cm, not 200x200 cm.

-No pillow menu or no aromatherapy scent in room (Kempinski have pillow menu/aromatherapy).

-Rooms is not soundproof, and air conditioning cannot be turned off 100% - still have cold air flow - cannot slept well.

-Long taxi queued when I need to take a cab.


In conclusion, Grand Hyatt Jakarta greatly depending on location - this make a popular meeting place for business meeting, but their hospitality, breakfast, etc are very far from the standard 5 star hotel.


Recommended: No. For HI Roundabout area Mandarin Oriental have a best hospitality, but if you looking for shopping, stay @ Kempinski.
Return To Sleep: No.

As usual, I always include photos in each of my reviews on Tripadvisor. - It's Real Review.

Room Tip: Stay at others hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSB_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Jakarta for two nights on business last week. I've stayed here several times over the years but have given it a break for the past 18 months, so this was a return trip after an extended break.

The hotel has a good central location and offers the additional amenity of being linked to the Grand Indonesia mall. The hotel itself is a well known name on the Jakarta business hotel scene and a popular meeting place.

Rooms are spacious and have had some updating done in the bathroom which was needed - new basins, new taps and shower heads. This has improved the bathrooms and the beds have always been comfortable, good size desk chair and tv; and overall the rooms are spacious and always tidy.

Service is generally pretty good, the gym is extremely impressive and there is a good selection of restaurants, a nice lobby lounge and bar. All in all, its a very safe and consistent choice for business travellers to Jakarta.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Overall our stay in this hotel was good. The location is in central Jakarta and it is attached to Plaza Indonesia and just across the road is Grand Indonesia. Both these malls are huge and good if you are into high end shopping.

The lobby area of Grand Hyatt is pretty huge and there is a staircase leading up to the actual reception area.

The main attraction for this hotel is the service which is impeccable. One is greeted and escorted from the lower lobby area all the way to the reception area. Upon check-in you are taken to your room and given a guided tour of all the available amenities. Your bedroom is made up more than once a day and there is even a turn-down service in the evening. The staff is ever ready to meet all your whims and fancies.

The room is average size and the bathroom has a separate shower and bath. The bathroom has a variety of amenities to meet most guests needs.

Breakfast is served at one of the restaurants at the lobby area. There is a good variety of local and international cuisine. For the main items served during breakfast there is a slightly different menu each day which is good if one stays in the hotel for a few days.

The pool side is quite good with a variety of different seating options including a gazebo like area. On the same floor there is an in-house spa which provide a range of different therapies though the price is on the high side.

Overall our stay at this hotel was quite good. However something seems to be lacking. Perhaps a more spacious and newly furnished rooms would make a difference. Don't get me wrong it is a nice hotel to stay at but it needs a little more to give it differencing factor compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveNLetLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 465 in Jakarta
1,444 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 465 in Jakarta
419 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#7 of 465 in Jakarta
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Property: Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Address: Jl. M H Thamrin Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Indonesia, Grand Hyatt Jakarta is living up to its name. Strategically located in the Thamrin CBD and adjacent to Plaza Indonesia Shopping Centre and The Plaza Office Tower, the hotel provides excellent services and amenities to people from all around the world. Dine in the hotel's award-winning C's steak and Seafood Restaurant, pamper yourself in the Club Olympus Fitness & wellness Centre and swim in our 43-metre lagoon-shaped outdoor swimming pool. In keeping with the ever-changing needs and lifestyles of the present day global travellers, Fountain Lounge is about to embark on a complete renovation project on 15 April 2017 and is scheduled to open in the month of June 2017. To ensure your comfortable stay and convenience, we have adjusted the opening hours of burgundy and C’s Steak and Seafood restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Jakarta
Jakarta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing