We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointing and Unfriendly Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Ranked #31 of 471 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I travel the world for work, and have found myself in all types of places, from lavish to the dangerous. I can pretty much thrive in any environment and with most people. This hotel made for a terrible experience in Jakarta. Aside from the musty, old smelling room - other highlights included a bathtub filled with brown water and a dark, quiet atmosphere. If you are a single female, I'd think twice about staying here. Breakfast was sparse. The biggest problem I experienced was the additional $200 a night that was added to my bill. Despite numerous complaints put in to the Management, nothing was resolved. PLEASE make sure they give you a final bill in USD (or your home currency)! I left during the emergency flooding and I feel I was taken advantage of. There were over $100 in "taxes" per night plus an additional $75!!!! a night for internet and continental breakfast!!! Insanity, overall it cost nearly $500 a night. Interestingly, the hotel management tried to tell me the exchange rate on XE.com was wrong and it was really only $400...right I'm sure XE.com is wrong and not the hotel. I was originally quoted $268 a night. Nearly the entire staff is rude and unfriendly, I felt very uncomfortable in this hotel despite the security being ample. I have one nice thing to say, that is, the massage in the spa was wonderful. Sadly, not enough for me to ignore all the bad. I will not be staying at a Hyatt hotel again...ever.

Room Tip: Do not let them talk you into a higher floor for more money - it is not any safer. Get your bill in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junebug22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Everything you expect from a big luxury hotel. This is well located in the business district, and attached to a big mall (and beside yet another). The rooms are spacious and well furnished. Service is excellent. Only downside is that my non-smoking room had the faint smell of smoke.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajuniaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during the Chinese New Year. Not nly was the hotel service and property impeccable, but they had also incorporated several activities in their planning to highlight Chinese New Year (live music, dragon danse, special food, calligraphy, etc.).
Their staff knows the importance of customer satisfaction, and everyone who is in touch with customers goes the extra mile. For example, the lady at the lounge greeted us by name after us having been there only once before. Nice touch!
The rooms are spacious, well equipped (international plugs very appreciated), modern and clean.
The breakfast buffet will satisfy everyone with a wide selection of food from all over.
The hotel is located near several malls which offer multiple alternatives for food and activities if you do not want to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guizzi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

As a regular business traveler to Jakarta, Grand Hyatt fits perfectly in my itinerary in terms of convenient location. Some of the biggest attractions of this hotel are i) proximity to Grand Indonesia Shopping mall, ii) Multi-cuisine fine dining options (though a bit disappointing for vegetarians) & iii) very cosy ambience and yeahh.... dont forget to try breakfast!
Though the room size is small (compared to Mandarin Oriental across the street) but they offer frequent flyer points on every stay (which mandarin Oriental don't).
Strongly suggest Grand Hyatt for those who don't mind spending extra for some luxury! Live Grand with Grand Hyatt!

Rating: 9/10

Room Tip: Chose room facing main roundabout fountain in jakarta city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jainnitin1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've stayed in many of them and I have to say if it isn't, it must be very close. I stay at the Grand Hyatt every time I am in Jakarta and I am never unhappy. The service is impeccable from the moment you walk in the front doors and are greeted by the delightful female concierge - somehow they always know who I am and I’m greeted by name by another concierge at the top of the escalators as I approach reception. If they don’t know you, don’t worry as the ladies elegantly and efficiently escort you to reception where you’ll be greeted like an A-Lister (or minor royalty). The rooms are large, well appointed and very comfortable (with excellent internet connection) and the gym is fantastic. The hotel is located against the Plaza Indonesia, meaning you are on the doorstep of a huge mall – I’ve been lost in it more than once – that has everything you could ever need while travelling (or high-end shopping). Have dinner in C’s Steak and Seafood Restaurant – as I do every trip – and you’ll be dazzled by the cuisine and wine list (although it ‘aint cheap), then take a drink at Burgundy while watching some sport on one of the huge flat screen TVs. Plenty of meeting rooms and a great Business Centre. All in all, it’s a great place to stay that always feels like ‘coming home’.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aedwards62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. I stayed for a conference and got a chance to sample a lot of the food. The Indonesian-themed specialties were amazing! The workout space was fantastic too. Overall I found the staff helpful and engaging. The Internet was a bit slow but it was pretty reliable. There is a huge high-end underground shopping mall which is a must-see (and I'm not a big shopper).

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konadog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stays here for 2 nights during "Great Jakarta Flood" on 18-19 January 2013. Well we were lucky, if we came earlier by 1 day then we won't be able to reach the hotel as the surrounding area was flooded.

Staff service was great, from the moment we check in, room service, dining area and till the check out. We expect 5 stars and thats being presented.

For sport fanatic, you will love the swimming pool (water a little too cold), the gym facility and they have a continuous 400 meters lap for jogging surrounding the pool area.

The choice for breakfast IMO is ok, not too great, we miss Indonesian food and I am so happy to see some Indonesian food being served, but no variety during the 2 days we stays there. If you love shopping, this hotel is the best place as its connected to a big shopping mall (Plaza Indonesia) and if thats not enough within a walking distance you can go to Grand Indonesia (GI). To say GI as a shopping mall is an understatement.

Jakarta hold a weekly Car Free Day every Sunday from 6am to 11am, during this time the main road in front of the hotel is closed for car and everyone can cycle or run. Not to worry, car can still access the hotel from the side gate.

Room Tip: Pick a room that face the "Bundaran HI" (the water fountain roundabout).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#17 of 471 in Jakarta
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Address: Jl. M H Thamrin Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#25 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#29 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $186 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Indonesia, Grand Hyatt Jakarta is living up to its name. Strategically located in the Thamrin CBD and adjacent to Plaza Indonesia Shopping Centre and The Plaza Office Tower, the hotel provides excellent services and amenities to people from all around the world. Dine in the hotel's award-winning C's steak and Seafood Restaurant, pamper yourself in the Club Olympus Fitness & wellness Centre and swim in our 43-metre lagoon-shaped outdoor swimming pool. In keeping with the ever-changing needs and lifestyles of the present day global travellers, Fountain Lounge is about to embark on a complete renovation project on 15 April 2017 and is scheduled to open in the month of June 2017. To ensure your comfortable stay and convenience, we have adjusted the opening hours of burgundy and C’s Steak and Seafood restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Jakarta
Jakarta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing