We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Ranked #18 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 30, 2008

Having stayed at Hyatt Hotels in many other cities around the world, I was very disappointed with this one. The amenities are all there, but the service ts extremely slow and the staff cold and unfriendly. The restaurants offer almost nothing for vegetarians. The breakfast is nothing out of the ordinary.

When I first arrived in my room, I found the bathroom had not been cleaned properly and there was a urine smell in the shower cubicle. Although I called Housekeeping to clean it up and complained to the Front Desk, noone attended to my request for well over a half hour. In the end, I spoke to the manager. She came over to my room, brought Housekeeping with her and asked them to clean it up. They didn't succeed in removing the smell, but at least they tried.

This experience on top of the cold, unfriendly service I've had on both this visit and a previous visit mean that I will not be staying at the Grand Hyatt in Jakarta again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Cold, unfriendly, unhelpful staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pardesi_frangipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    331
    48
    18
    18
See reviews for
146
86
78
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

Recently had one night at this downtown hotel in Jakarta. I had been staying with friends but the last night was a 40th at the hotel so thought it a good idea to stay in house. I had booked a Grand Club King Room.

From the moment you are whisked up to the separate check-in, the great canapes during cocktail hour and the actual room itself, you are made to feel special.

The rooms themselves, are an excellent size with a large bathroom and separate dressing room. Very nice new modern finish and some nice Indonesian touches.

I also booked a limousine (Mercedes Benz) to take me to the airport which was there on time, was extremely clean and made the trip in excellent time.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Great hotel - lovely rooms, superb gym, top restaurants, great location, rooms not hugely expensive if you're on a Western budget. Everything you expect from a Hyatt and more.

All in all, I'll defnitely stay at the Hyatt again when I return to Jakarta.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank superstardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

I am currently staying at the Grand Hyatt in Jakarta, a city where there are multiple 5-star hotels from which to choose. I think the major advantage of the Grand Hyatt would be its location, right on top of the Plaza Indonesia. Certainly no bargain for shopping (especially for Indonesia), but the mall is good for a variety of restaurants, Hard Rock Cafe, movie theater, etc. A lot of other hotels in Jakarta are not adjacent to malls, and this is not a city in which you'd want to walk alone at night, especially as a Western woman.

The good points of the hotel. The swimming pool is gorgeous and huge, the gym is the biggest hotel gym I've ever seen, and the room layouts are spacious. I love the walk-in wardrobe, and very comfortable beds.

The bad points. First off, avoid the Club floor! Not worth the extra price. I've stayed at quite a few Club floors in SE Asia and this is by far the worst as far as food. The complimentary breakfast is appalling, more like a cheap continental breakfast at a Best Western than a Club floor perk at a 5-star property. Also from what I can tell, none of the rooms are non-smoking, and although they do a thorough job cleaning I can still faintly smell smoke in my bed linens.

Overall a good hotel choice in Jakarta, but the Club floor is not worth the extra money unless your employer is paying.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Club Floor was sub-par
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Yank-In-Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2006

Let get to the chase. Those gun totting guards at the entrance of the hotel makes me uncomfortable. For safety it does provide a false sense of security. The hyatt is connected to a shopping mall tailored towards the high end consumers. shopping is not cheap in jakarta as i can get things cheaper back home in kuala lumpur. Forget about purchasing stuff at the jakarta airport duty free... trust me its no bargain. They have a nice lounge, live singing entertainment, mainly catered for the 70's and 80's but mainly for the frank sinatra generation.. it was putting me to sleep. One thing which is special is the western restaurant located on the mezzanine floor, get the private rooms great for private business dinners of 8 - 10 people. The O & B sound system does raise the stakes, albeit just a little. Even if you are not staying at this hotel, just take your date here, she will be impressed, not only with your taste but also with the cash you will dished out, not to expensive for the average joe. Lots of caucasians dine here, something must be right.
Unlike hyatt shanghai no pretty lift ladies to greet you and press the buttons for you. the corridor is standard though not as good as hyatt singapore. The rooms are cozy, not as modern or as good as the hyatt singapore or shanghai. And for goodness sake for the amount you spend on this room at least please get a flat tv.. channels are not so varied. one thing about the hyatt is they always charge for the internet.. when most other hotels provide it free.. makes it very painfull for the wallet to stay at the hyatt.
The spa is great, check out the swimming pool, at 6-7am no one swims here, its great, not your conventional rectangular shape rather shapes of eight.. though lots of hidden corners for couples needing more privacy. The staff are helpful and courteous.
The food for breakfast is pretty standard. I like this hyatt because one can smoke anyway and everywhere, a must for a smoker.
forget about nearby entertainment or shopping. Its not exactly orchard road ( singapore ). overall highly recommended for the business folks. 7/10

  • Liked — the spa , gym and swimming pool
  • Disliked — no flat tv , limited channels and no free internet
  • Tips/Secrets — first time to jakarta, dont arrive during peak hours you will be SO stuck in the jam for hours
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2006

Though I visit Jakarta infrequently, I have always stayed at the Grand Hyatt. As far as I can tell, the only reason for staying at other chain hotels might be security paranoia: one friend who works for the World Bank cannot stay at the Grand Hyatt any more, apparently due to the security implications of the attached shopping mall. There is security at the mall entrance to the hotel, as well as the hotel's main entrance. I do not face similar restrictions and I have been happy with the Grand Hyatt.

This hotel is never going to be one of my favorites because there is nothing uniquely endearing about it. It shares some characteristic Hyatt design elements with other Asian properties in the chain, the most important among these being the recent room and building upgrades. Even the elevators have gotten new hardware in the past year. These refurbishments keep a modern and comfortable feel to the property. The restaurant and bar facilities are now quite attractive and an obvious draw for locals. I feel this contributes positively to the atmosphere.

The rooms are spacious and reasonably comfortable. The air conditioning is hyperactive, or else it's just that the last two rooms that I have had were linked up to the Arctic by a secret passage. Broadband internet works as advertised. The laundry is also quite efficient.

This hotel satisfies my needs and I will keep coming back.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank beijau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2006

Stayed for a few nights at the Grand Hyatt and couldn't be happier. The hotel is 5 star in all ways which count and at a quite reasonable price. Restaurant excellent, though pricey. Lots of smiles and good service from all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 465 in Jakarta
1,440 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 465 in Jakarta
419 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#7 of 465 in Jakarta
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Property: Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Address: Jl. M H Thamrin Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Indonesia, Grand Hyatt Jakarta is living up to its name. Strategically located in the Thamrin CBD and adjacent to Plaza Indonesia Shopping Centre and The Plaza Office Tower, the hotel provides excellent services and amenities to people from all around the world. Dine in the hotel's award-winning C's steak and Seafood Restaurant, pamper yourself in the Club Olympus Fitness & wellness Centre and swim in our 43-metre lagoon-shaped outdoor swimming pool. In keeping with the ever-changing needs and lifestyles of the present day global travellers, Fountain Lounge is about to embark on a complete renovation project on 15 April 2017 and is scheduled to open in the month of June 2017. To ensure your comfortable stay and convenience, we have adjusted the opening hours of burgundy and C’s Steak and Seafood restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Jakarta
Jakarta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing