We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Stay, OK for Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mulia Senayan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mulia Senayan
Ranked #11 of 454 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for Stay, OK for Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed for few days. This is my feedback
1. Service is excellent. Lots of people available to help out for anything.

Stay
1. Room is very nice. Corner rooms are quite noise free. Bed is excellent and all the stuff in the room , sitting arrangements , TV , bathroom etc are the best one can get.

Room Service Food
1. I did not enjoy the Room Service Food. Can be better and tastier.

Orient
1. Had a lunch at Orient which was also not exactly great, just okay. Service was good , but then the restaurant was quite empty even around 1 PM.

Breakfast
Its a busy place for guests. Not many items for vegetarians, but the spread is good and ambiance too.

Room Tip: Select corner room if possible. Good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snehansu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMulia-Senayan, Hotel Mulia Senayan at Hotel Mulia Senayan, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear snehansu,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Mulia Senayan, Jakarta and taking your time to share a review with us. We are delighted to read that you thought the service was excellent, as well as enjoying the facilities of our Junior Suite.
On your next visit, should you wish to have more vegetarian food, please ask one of the waiters, who will be happy to ask the chef to assist you.

We thank you for coming and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    474
    127
    35
    36
See reviews for
136
125
141
1,364
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days on my first work trip to Jakarta. It was a joy to come home to every day. There is a great choice of restaurants, the pool is lovely, and the service amazing. A number of the staff knew my name, and the furnishings are exquisite. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longpocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMulia-Senayan, Hotel Mulia Senayan at Hotel Mulia Senayan, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Longpocket,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Mulia Senayan, Jakarta and taking time to share your comments with us.

We are delighted that you were impressed with both our facilities and service.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

With best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel had a very impressive lobby but the reception staff were slow to say the least and after a long flight what you really want is a speedy check in! The bedroom was gloomy with curtains half closed and a rather outdated trad feel to it - the bed was reasonably comfortable though. The bathroom too was outdated and the towels looked very old. The breakfast area was completely manic and staff were rushing around with ear pieces and not very friendly. The Japanese buffet restaurant was pretty good with lots of choices and everything tasted fresh.Table8 is another restaurant there which offered food from Vietnam, Thailand, Japan and France! The menu was complicated and the staff weren't very knowledgeable when asked about the French menu. Food was quite good but not outstanding. The outside pool area was a bit dated and not many sunbeds for such a large hotel. Be prepared for a long wait outside the hotel for your car to arrive - there was always a huge queue of taxis and cars coming in and out - very chaotic!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StratfordonAvonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
214 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Table8 Restaurant makes this hotel worth it on its own...
Easy check in and check out.

Nice, large, clean room. Nice bathroom and facilities. Very nice breakfasts.
Very pleasant staff and always with a smile.
Only negative is having to pay for Internet - that seems ridiculous to me.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the lift well
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mal_chaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMulia-Senayan, Hotel Mulia Senayan at Hotel Mulia Senayan, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear mal_chaney,

Thank you for your review on Hotel Mulia Senayan, Jakarta.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our facilities and staff to be very pleasant.
As for the in internet, we do have packages that include in-room internet service – kindly mention it the next time you make your room reservation. Alternatively, complimentary Wi-Fi service is available in all restaurants and the pool area.

Looking forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Jakarta.

With best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Having stayed in Jakarta on many previous occasions I unfortunately have expectations of hotels in this city and the Mulia fell way, way below those expectations.

Several colleagues had recommended the Mulia for good quality rooms, service, food and a convenient way to access the office and avoid the main risks of traffic. I experienced quite the opposite of all of these – the room was average, service terrible, food awful and it took 2 hours one morning to travel 4km to my office from the Mulia!

The room was dated, chintzy and unnecessarily large. Everything felt dusty and with a faint scent of cigarette smoke – even though the entire hotel is supposedly non-smoking. Nothing really felt clean. The fittings were old and stained, including light fittings. And I didn’t find the bed very comfortable.

The television is ancient with a crackly picture. The aircon is uncontrollable. Each time I left the room the aircon reset itself to 17 degrees at full blast so the room was far too cold each time I returned. The shower was not hot or very powerful (and my room was on one of the lower floors).

The windows don’t seem to be double glazed so even 8 levels up the traffic was audible and I was woken by the call to prayer at 4:30am each morning. I never experienced this in other Jakarta hotels.

The pool was dirty and had a nasty layer of scum around the walls.

The gym equipment is very old, stops working part way through a work-out and a number of items were out of order. It was also very busy due to the large number of guests and locals who are members of the gym. I was not able to use any pieces of equipment that I wanted on the 4 mornings I went to the gym. In comparison to other Jakarta hotels which have brand new, excellent equipment this was very poor.

The service was not what I would expect from a hotel that holds itself out to a higher star standard. I had to ask several times for things I needed from staff. Check-in and out was far too slow. Staff think shouting a greeting at you is somehow ‘service’. The English of most staff was also limited so I gave up on requests on most occasions. I couldn’t find any staff member who could advise on the local area around the hotel.

The first night when I arrived late I attempted to get dinner at the (supposedly open 24hrs, but not really) Café and waited 45 mins for the worst Caesar salad I’ve ever been served while the entire dining area was noisily packed up around me.

The wait for the lifts (elevators) is torturous. I have no idea why there was always such a long wait.

Breakfast can only be described as a zoo. Easily the most disorganised dining room I have ever seen anywhere. The selection of food is also not particularly good. The sadly limited selection of fruit and the impossibly long wait for an egg stand out as some of the biggest annoyances.

The internet (even on the cable provided in the room) was patchy and regularly dropped out. The organisation of taxis and cars in the morning nearly matched the chaos of breakfast and the staff appeared to have no idea what they were doing.

I would never stay at the Mulia again.

Room Tip: As high up as possible to minimize noise but expect painfully long waits for the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMulia-Senayan, Hotel Mulia Senayan at Hotel Mulia Senayan, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear talltaff,

We regret to read that your experience with the Hotel Mulia Senayan did not meet your expectations. We continuously strive for perfection on a daily basis, and always welcome feedback such as yours. Recently we were awarded Tripadvisor’s Certificate of Excellence 2014 for the third consecutive year due to our overwhelmingly positive guest reviews and ratings, but it would seem your experience did not match the majority. We hope you come back to Hotel MuliaSenayan, so that you may experience the hospitality, service and luxury that we are so well known for, and the reputation we have worked so hard to achieve.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have stayed in several different hotels in Jakarta but Mulia is definitely one of my favourites. The smell in the hotel lobby is so fresh. Would love to know what they use. Service and staff friendliness is first class. The staff at Edogin has got a memory of elephants as I'm shocked whenever I visit they remember me and also remember which tables I sit at at past visits and what I order for drinks!!! Their service was so good I left cash tips but they said to take it back as there's service charge already. The rooms are so comfortable and it's great to have meetings on the 38th floor. the only annoying thing is on my last visit I was told check in is at 1400hrs. This has never happened to me before at Mulia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMulia-Senayan, Hotel Mulia Senayan at Hotel Mulia Senayan, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear 3_Zoom,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Mulia Senayan, Jakarta. We appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with us.

We are happy to read that you consider Hotel Mulia Senayan to be one of your favorite hotels in Jakarta and that you especially enjoy dining at our Japanese Restaurant- Edogin. It is our goal to provide professional and exceptional services to our guests; therefore your recognition of our service standard serves as such a great encouragement to all of us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future where once again you may enjoy our warm hospitality.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is simply a first class hotel with fantastic staff who make every effort to make your stay easy and comfortable. Lost of choice for eating and live entertainment in the main bar/lounge area every night of the highest calibre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMulia-Senayan, Hotel Mulia Senayan at Hotel Mulia Senayan, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear LarryLB,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Mulia Senayan, Jakarta and taking your precious time to share a review with us. We are delighted to read that you thought our staff was fantastic and that you enjoyed both our high caliber entertainment at Cascade Lounge, as well as, our wide range of restaurants.

We thank you for coming and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Fairmont Jakarta
#7 of 454 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 454 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#10 of 454 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulia Senayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulia Senayan

Property: Hotel Mulia Senayan
Address: Jln. Asia Afrika, Jakarta 10270, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mulia Senayan 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jakarta, the five-star, 40-storey Hotel Mulia Senayan boasts 839 tastefully decorated and well-appointed rooms and suites to satisfy the needs of both the business and leisure traveler alike. The hotel commands unobstructed views of 18-hole. Senayan Golf Course and Jakarta's skyline with easy access from the toll road to Soekarno-Hatta airport which can be reached from the hotel in 25 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mulia Senayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulia Senayan Hotel
Mulia Senayan Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing