We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the bathroom!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Ranked #82 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Uluwatu, Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I love the bathroom!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I must admit, what crossed my mind first when i mention Sultan Hotel Jakarta is their bathroom! I stayed at this hotel for couple of times, when they were still Hilton until they changed their name into Sultan. The staffs were friendly, the breakfast has many selections to your liking, the cleanliness were great. And there it was...the suite bedroom was exceptional. The bath room..they have this three separated space for male toilet, female toilet and a shower space. The stool for sitting at the make up room is also good. I can tell you how i like spending time more at the bathroom..hahahha...well needless to say..you just gotta get this suite room to get a better idea of what am talking about. The only thing i did not like was the wings of the hotel. This hotel is huge...and it is a bit confusing if you parking on the wrong site. Overall...i recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure. They got several nice restaurants. All the best for Sultan!

Room Tip: ask for a suite room! price is alright. worthwhile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanH0TEL, Public Relations Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Ms. Laura,

Thank you for choosing The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta.

We are glad to hear that your staying experience was memorable. It has been our pleasure that our staff has provide you excellent service with world class royal hospitality and how our clean suite room especially our spacious bathroom is beyond your expectations. If you take notice on our amenities in bathroom all are in luxurious Bvlgari brand.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta and our staff will be more than happy to provide the excellent services and assist you in the hotel.

Sincerely yours,


I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    276
    178
    66
    18
See reviews for
83
32
41
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was my 2nd return stay at the Sultan Hotel in Jakarta. All in, it was a very good stay and experience. I stayed on the executive club floor and as such the staff attending to us were very professional and extremely helpful. I will recommend staying at the Sultan hotel to any of my business associates but would also recommend that they choose to stay on the Executive Floors for excellent service from the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jackie_pinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanH0TEL, Public Relations Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs. Jackie Pinto,

Welcome back at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta and thank you for taking your time to write a positive feedback to our hotel.

We are glad to hear that your staying experiences always unforgettable. Especially our staff has provide you excellent service with world class royal hospitality and how our Executive Floor facilities and services was favorable to your need.

It is our pleasure to provide our comfortable Executive Floor for you and your business associates, since it has been a perfect meeting venue with lounge ambience and butler services, especially the cocktail menu facilities every evening is exclusively served for our Executive Floor’s guest.

We would love to welcome you and your colleagues to stay at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta.

Sincerely yours,


I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Ideal place to the Expo, 5 minutes underground walk. Service was excellent especially on the executive floor. Gym facilities are great for fitness avid. Great for business but for shopping, location is not ideal and minimum 5 minutes taxi ride to the nearest shopping location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincentcrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanH0TEL, Public Relations Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Vincent,

Thank you for choosing The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta as your convenience stay.

We are very pleased to hear that our staff has provide you the warmest hospitality and how you find our direct tunnel to Jakarta Convention Center was favorable for you. As our location in the heart of Jakarta, you will find us surrounding by famous shopping malls, such as Senayan City, Pacific Place, Plaza Senayan and FX Lifestyle Center.

Our gym is facilitated with the most updated fitness equipment , it is the largest fitness center facilty in a hotel. We also have aromatherapy spa and sauna services that you can enjoy after doing workout.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Jakarta

Sincerely yours,


I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kulai, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Satisfied and happy with our stay at this hotel. Staff service right from the beginning and throughout our stay was good. Hotel located in the senayan Cbd area. The breakfast buffet was a little disappointing after eating at a different luxury hotel in Jakarta but it was still very good. All in all hotel was great value for money compared to other five star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faridamalekul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanH0TEL, Public Relations Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Mrs. Faridamalekul,

Thank you for choosing The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta and spend a little of your time to write a review of our hotel.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant staying experience during your stay in The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta. We take our guests feedback seriously. Therefore, we are sharing your feedback to our management team to make sure our service will always up to the standard of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel during your next stay to Jakarta.

Sincerely yours,


I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our group arrived on a late flight to find the hotel was at 99% occupancy. We were booked into Executive rooms and had to wait for them to be vacated and cleaned. Very pleasant staff made the wait pretty easy and the rest of our 4 day stay was incident free. The room was large and well set up, the bed was comfortable and the staff on the executive floor were great. It has been a few years since its last refurbishment so it is looking a little tired but not too bad. The tunnel through to the convention centre gives the Sultan a huge edge over its competition in the area.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the Executive floors to take advantage of the breakfast and evening drinks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanH0TEL, Public Relations Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Mr. Ian,

Thank you for choosing The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta.

We thank you for taking the time writing a review to our hotel. We are happy to hear that your staying experience was memorable. Especially how our staff in the Executive Floors had helped you to make your 4 days of staying experience was pleasurable and how our direct tunnel to Jakarta Convention Center was helpful for you to reach your destination to the convention center.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to Jakarta.

Sincerely yours,


I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I enjoyed my 4 day stay here in this spacious hotel in the middle of the city. The lush green in the hotel grounds provides ample space for a nice evening stroll after a day's work. The pool was inviting and a nice place to relax. I like the hard wood furnishings throughout the hotel. Furnishings are dated but clean and well maintained. Check-in was efficient and the warmth of the staff was inviting. I enjoyed both the Japanese and Chinese restaurants in the hotel. The short walk through the gardens to the Japanese restaurant was very pleasant in the cool of the evening. A relaxing and great place to rest after a busy and hectic day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CV K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanH0TEL, Public Relations Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta and taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

We take our guests feedback seriously. We are constantly upgrading our services and we take extra efforts to keep our promises in providing world class Indonesia Royal Hospitality for our guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoy our 8 ha of green environment that compliments your evening stroll inside our hotel after a long day of hectic business schedule.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in your next trip to Jakarta.


Sincerely yours,


I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

If you are attending a conference at the exhibition centre this hotel is ideal. With a covered walk all the way to the exhibition you wont get caught in that 4pm thunder storm nor have to wait an hour for a taxi. Yes, the hotel is dated and tired but the rooms are clean and the staff welcoming. Dont expect a rapid service but you will get what you want with a small wait. Even so it far outstrips any Australian Hotel for the same price and it does represent Indonesia in an honest way. Yes, there are better hotels but if attending a conference for convience and a pleasant stay you will go a long way to beat the Sultan

Room Tip: Go for an Executive Room. A bit more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigcaintoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanH0TEL, Public Relations Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Tim,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review of our hotel.

We are happy to hear that your staying experience was memorable. Especially our staff has provide you with our commitment in providing world class royal hospitality and how our room was favorable to your needs. We are also happy to hear that our direct tunnel to JCC is satisfying and assisted you to reach JCC during your stay at our hotel.

We would like to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to Jakarta.


Your Sincerely,

I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Century Park Hotel
#45 of 464 in Jakarta
868 reviews
Tanah Abang
Le Meridien Jakarta
Le Meridien Jakarta
#33 of 464 in Jakarta
984 reviews
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta
#132 of 464 in Jakarta
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#42 of 464 in Jakarta
791 reviews
Sawah Besar
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
#28 of 464 in Jakarta
1,268 reviews
HARRIS Suites FX Sudirman
#60 of 464 in Jakarta
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta

Property: The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Address: Jln. Jendral Gatot Subroto, Jakarta 10270, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#62 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hotel in Indonesia, and one of the largest in South East Asia, the 3 towers of The Sultan Hotel Jakarta rise distinctively over a vast garden, the most expansive in Jakarta (32 acres). The grounds house 694 rooms, 9 banquet rooms, and a ballroom, complemented with floodlit tennis courts, a basketball court, a 500-meters jogging track, 2 swimming pools, a fitness center, and a shopping arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakarta Sultan Hotel
Sultan Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing