We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Jakarta - in about 1979...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Ranked #81 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Jakarta - in about 1979...”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I thought this hotel was ok, just an old prestige hotel a little past its prime. But everything was clean, it worked and staff were pretty good. It is great if you are going to the Jakarta Convention Centre as it is connected by a tunnel, which even comes with moving walkways. Check out the photos of notables who have stayed in the past, like Robert Mugabe, Yassah Arafat etc.
I stayed on teh executive floors, and the executive lounge is a good place to hang out with breakfast, views etc. I had a swim in the pool, which is aging, but works.
The wifi was free and worked, but pretty slow.

Room Tip: Use of the executive lounge is a benefit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear David S,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment during your recent stay with us.

We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable information and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests.

The feedback you have given assist us to continually monitor and improve both our product and service. We will also share your impression with our staff as an additional motivation to continue their commitment and dedication to excellence.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to The Sultan Jakarta .


Sincerely Yours,
I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    277
    178
    66
    18
See reviews for
83
32
41
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed in The Sultan again between 15 April 2013 and 5 May 2013, at executive floor which has the best staff in the world. From the very first moment after arrival until the last minute before check out the staff at the executive floor take care of you like you are family.
The staff in the entire hotel are friendly and most helpful, but the team at the executive floor put that little extra effort in which make each stay a great pleasure.

A strong recommendation to stay at this hotel, in particular at the executive floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joost J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Joost,
Thank You for your time to write your experience stay at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta. We value your comment. It is our commitment for us to maintain our service.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta.

Sincerely yours,
I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I attended a trade show in the convention centre next door, as I do every year. I haven't stayed here for years as the rooms are ancient, the cigarette burns pervasive, the electricals dangerous and the plumbing unreliable. But every year one of my clients throws a party in a penthouse suite, so I get to see the rooms. This year he gave up and held the party by the poolside, as the rooms had sunk to new lows. The party was fun and the catering ok.

Came back to the hotel for lunch the next day, and found only one restaurant open. The others are all boarded and shut. The one open refused to serve us, as they had been reserved (block-booked) for a military sports convention. We had to resort to snacks in the lounge. I ordered spring rolls. Unavailable!!! THIS IS NOT A FIVE STAR HOTEL. IT IS BEING SLOWLY RUN DOWN AND BOARDED UP AS THE OWNERS WILL NOT SPEND ANY MONEY ON MAINTENANCE OR REMODELLING. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opacjkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear OpacJkt,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment during your recent stay with us.

We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable information and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests.

The feedback you have given assist us to continually monitor and improve both our product and service. We would like to inform you that The Hotel is in the process of upgrading some of our facilities, inclusive of Taman Sari Restaurant, Peacock Cafe, and Kudus Bar.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to The Sultan Jakarta .


Sincerely Yours,
I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

Bukit Mertajam, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a good hotel if you have business going on in the central. Not a good place for tourist as all the tourist places are far away! Room are as old as the city...... Wifi is acceptable due to the weak signal strenght..... Food a no no.....

Room Tip: Nah.... the cheapest room is 170 USD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevoCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Steve Occ
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment during your recent stay with us.

We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable information and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests.

The feedback you have given assist us to continually monitor and improve both our product and service. We will also share your impression with our staff as an additional motivation to continue their commitment and dedication to excellence.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to The Sultan Jakarta .

Sincerely Yours,
I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good location, but needs a full over haul. I asked for a non smoking room, I did not get it. Electrical connections are open on the night table, very dangerous. Old wood furniture in the room, it would be very nice and looking classy if someone would take the time and money to restore it. Bathroom is nice, breakfast just ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Ivan Bangkok,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment during your recent stay with us.

We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable information and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests.

The feedback you have given assist us to continually monitor and improve both our product and service. We will also share your impression with our staff as an additional motivation to continue their commitment and dedication to excellence. Separately we will send you a email to clarify

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to The Sultan Jakarta .

Sincerely Yours,
I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2D1N for business purposes. But unfortunately, we experienced difficulties in communication as the signal from almost all mobile telecommunication providers in the meeting room (Asean Room) were not good. The same thing happen to internet connection (wifi) facilities, that we found no luck to use it. I hope the hotel management will take this as a chance to improve its service and facilities.

Me and a friend spent the night in the executive room. Although a bit expensive, but can't say much considering that this hotel is located in the heart of Jakarta (at senayan area). None of us complain about the room, except the hair dryer that was out of order.

Other than that, the food was just ok, service and hospitality are very good. For the hotel's management: Please keep up the good work, never stop improving and finding the very best way to maintain good reputation of the hotel.










  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubitusebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Cubitus Ebby

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment during your recent stay with us.

We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable information and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests.

The feedback you have given assist us to continually monitor and improve both our product and service. We noticed the comment about the mobile phone receiver power, and we are in process to work with some leading telephone provider.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to The Sultan Jakarta .

Sincerely Yours,
I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Alhamdulillah! My first visit to Jakarta and the hotel is just marvelous.

Our late check-in yesterday was attended well by the reception. Very friendly and helpful too. Confusion over bookings were solved in blinks.

Really love the bedroom. Clean, quiet and nice view.

The bathroom, well...is the most spotless ones I've seen throughout my years of traveling.

They have quite a spread of breakfast and the food was nice.
It wasn't hard to get directions going out to town, I mean..going shopping as the staff members truly help you (if it was your first time here). They'll recommend places to go and to avoid (if you're a lady and single on your trip)

I find the information available in the room for walkabout is very ample.

I think now, I would like to embark on to Tanah Abang for some shopping spree.

Room Tip: 8th Floor would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzyezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Century Park Hotel
#45 of 464 in Jakarta
871 reviews
Tanah Abang
Le Meridien Jakarta
Le Meridien Jakarta
#33 of 464 in Jakarta
985 reviews
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta
#139 of 464 in Jakarta
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#42 of 464 in Jakarta
792 reviews
Sawah Besar
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
#28 of 464 in Jakarta
1,268 reviews
HARRIS Suites FX Sudirman
#59 of 464 in Jakarta
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta

Property: The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Address: Jln. Jendral Gatot Subroto, Jakarta 10270, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#62 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hotel in Indonesia, and one of the largest in South East Asia, the 3 towers of The Sultan Hotel Jakarta rise distinctively over a vast garden, the most expansive in Jakarta (32 acres). The grounds house 694 rooms, 9 banquet rooms, and a ballroom, complemented with floodlit tennis courts, a basketball court, a 500-meters jogging track, 2 swimming pools, a fitness center, and a shopping arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakarta Sultan Hotel
Sultan Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing