We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Ranked #73 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed April 17, 2013

It wasn't a holiday trip when i stayed at the hotel. It was for business trip. My friend and I booked a room with single king size bed, at the 15th floor. We stayed for 2 nights 3 days. It was kind of amazing and comfortable to me, the bed was completely comfortable. They have Shower bath and bath tub. The view was amazing and the breakfast was good. I think it's worth the fee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duhitswinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Duhitswinda,

Thank You so much for your review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Look forward to welcome you back at The Sultan Hotel Jakarta

Sincerely yours,

I Nyoman Sarya

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 718 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Sultan Hotel is located at the center of Central Jakarta.it is near to Pasific place, Semanggi Plaza, 15 minutes to Grand Indonesia and 40 minutes drive to airport in fluent road. The best is they have direct tunnel to go to JCC, so if u want to see concert in JCC, the best way is u have to stay in this hotel. Just walk along ±200 meters in the tunnel, free of traffic jam & rain. But the taste of the breakfast not so good and it need more variety.
The hotel has swimming pool, tennis court and the room is big.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank den1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Den1512,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment during your recent stay with us.

We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable information and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests.

The feedback you have given assist us to continually monitor and improve both our product and service. We will also share your impression with our staff as an additional motivation to continue their commitment and dedication to excellence.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to The Sultan Jakarta .



Sincerely Yours,
I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights for a conference in Jakarta. Food in the hotel in Lagoon and Nan Xiang was generally good. What was frustrating for us was we checked in for 2 pax in a room, however when we got to the room, almost everything was for 1 pax. The phone in the room had no directory at all and we had problem getting housekeeping to bring us the additional set for everything ( no glasses, no spoon, no towels, no slippers, no bathrobe etc)
The most frustrating part was even though we checked in for 3 nights, every single evening we would have to go to the reception as we could not access the lift to our rooms. We had no problems going up to the room after breakfast or after gym! We only face this problem every time after our seminar in the evening! Their reason was that our keycard was placed too closed to our mobile devices, I doubt so.. as we had placed them in totally different places.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELinP143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear ELinP143,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment during your recent stay with us.

We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable information and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests.

We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay at The Sultan Hotel Jakarta, therefore the feedback you have given assist us to continually monitor and improve both our product and service. We will also share your impression with our staff as an additional motivation to continue their commitment and dedication to excellence. We will assure that this will not be happened in the future.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to The Sultan Jakarta .

Your sincerely,

I Nyoman Sarya

General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here by the end of February 2013 on a 5-day business trip. The hotel is located in central Jakarta surrounded by large gardens. It is the former Hilton hotel. Everybody who has been in Jakarta knows how busy this city is and completely blocked with traffic jams. The hotel is like an oasis in the buzzling city, and this is what I need during a 5-day business stay!
The hotel and the rooms are a bit dated, but otherwise OK. Internet worked without any problem, good desk to work. I overlooked the swimming pool area. By the way, the swimming pool is really nice. Very big, and nobody is in! On Friday evening we joined the barbecue party at the swimming pool area, which seems to be held every Friday. Highly recommended!
The hotel is connected by an underground passage way to the Jakarta Convention Centre, which is very convenient if you have to be there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Mianel,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment during your recent stay with us.

We are really glad that you experience enjoyable stay at our premises.


We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to The Sultan Jakarta .

Your sincerely,
I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel only once, that too only because I was not able to get a confirmed room in my preferred hotel (Hotel Mulia Senayan). The location of hotel if good, very near to CBD, but the rooms are old and the building is running down. This hotel needs a renovation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohrisaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Ohrisaurabh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment during your recent stay with us.

We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable information and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests.

The feedback you have given assist us to continually monitor and improve both our product and service. We would like to inform you that we are in the process of refurbishing some guest room and Food & Beverages outlets also some of guest facilities, and will be finished on the end on 2013 continued to 2014.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to The Sultan Jakarta .

Your sincerely,
I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I must chime in with few other reviewers from 2013. Old fashioned, not very well maintained and needs renovation from the ground!
The location is favorable, in the heart of the Golden Triangle - good for buisness travellers. From / to airport taxi time approximately 1 hour (or more).

The rooms are spacious, Internet worked fine for me (laptop, tablet and smart phone access simultaneously). A/C worked fine, you have to find the "right button" well hidden under the bedtable.
I liked the old furniture - solid wood, masterly finished, reminds me of the good old colonial days. Special collection of batik and Indonesian art in the hotel are worth an extra point.

Since management changed from Hilton to local, the services are not up to speed for 5 stars but rather 3-4 *. Further disappointment was to learn that the Kudus restaurant is closed (for undisclosable reasons, as a chap from the hotel personal told me). It is a pity because I wanted to enjoy the highly recommended Indonesian cuisine in Kudus - now I have to go to Bumbu in the Sheraton Bandara.

Room Tip: Get a room on the two executive floors, 13th & 14th, overlooking the gardens, tennis courts and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivankivanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Ivankivanov,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment during your recent stay with us.

We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable information and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests.

The feedback you have given assist us to continually monitor and improve both our product and service. The hotel is refurbishing and renovating some guest rooms and Restaurants. We do serve Indonesian dishes at our Lagoon Cafe, please try selections of our signature dishes for your next visit.


We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to The Sultan Jakarta .

Your sincerely,
I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was at Sultan hotel Jakarta early February 2013. very nice hotel in Jakarta. Room is clean and comfortable. location is good (just located at CBD). Especially good place for business trip. Better to book Deluxe room, pay a little extra more but you can get more benefits from that hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank man s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SultanJakarta10002, General Manager at The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Man S,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment during your recent stay with us.

We particularly appreciate your comments as you provide us with valuable information and help us in our constant endeavor to offer the finest levels of hospitality to our guests.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to The Sultan Jakarta .

Sincerely Yours,
I Nyoman Sarya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Century Park Hotel
#46 of 464 in Jakarta
926 reviews
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta
#131 of 464 in Jakarta
545 reviews
Tanah Abang
Le Meridien Jakarta
Le Meridien Jakarta
#32 of 464 in Jakarta
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#43 of 464 in Jakarta
824 reviews
Sawah Besar
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
#29 of 464 in Jakarta
1,306 reviews
HARRIS Suites FX Sudirman
#74 of 464 in Jakarta
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta

Address: Jln. Jendral Gatot Subroto, Jakarta 10270, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#59 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $83 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hotel in Indonesia, and one of the largest in South East Asia, the 3 towers of The Sultan Hotel Jakarta rise distinctively over a vast garden, the most expansive in Jakarta (32 acres). The grounds house 694 rooms, 9 banquet rooms, and a ballroom, complemented with floodlit tennis courts, a basketball court, a 500-meters jogging track, 2 swimming pools, a fitness center, and a shopping arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakarta Sultan Hotel
Sultan Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing