We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for your money in Jakarta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Ranked #29 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed for two nights on business. I hadn't been to Jakarta for a while and was shocked at how high the hotel prices had become. In cities like this I usually choose the older established hotels since these lower their prices in competition. Hotel Borobudur was one such place. I have been travelling long enough to know that this hotel had been one of the most reputable hotels in Jakarta once upon a time and had belonged to an international chain.

The facilities and grounds we fine. The room had good views. There was a robe and bathroom amenities were good. But of course the most appealing feature of the hotel is its low prices. I got a room for less than USD 100/night. It's hard to beat that. If you want more luxury in Jakarta you should be ready to pay for it. The fact that internet only comes via cable I can easily put up with for lower prices.

The breakfast was excellent with good service. The area looks out to a green garden and I also had lunch here. Too bad I didn't have time to have their legendary sop buntut. The location was perfect for me: between Pasar Baru and Sudirman.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and has an old-school atmosphere. It's classy. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the restaurants serve really good food. And internet is fast (paid for though).

However the service level is a total let down.
I'm not a fussy traveler, and I don't expect too much. So to me, in this kind of hotel, the service was totally unacceptable especially for a business guest. In particular:
- Calls down to room service were not answered (I called 3 times in an attempt to order dinner, as no one picked up the calls, gave up).
- Check-in was really poor. The hotel's stipulated check-in time is 2pm, but I did not get my room until about 3.30pm. The check-in officer was doing the best that she could (provided me with temporary wi-fi connection so I could work in the cafe while I waited), so at least that.
- Breakfast was brusque and service non-existent. As you come into the restaurant, you mention your room number and they ask you to sign a chit. Then you are left to find your own table.

Granted I had stayed when the Prime Minister of the Netherlands was also staying - and the hotel was really busy. But for a luxury hotel, that is a poor excuse for other paying customers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PG_Cumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A splendid hotel with first class facilities. Room was tasteful, comfortable and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Check in was prompt and check out was efficient. The location is a little away from some business areas - but in a good part of Jakarta, not too far from the airport. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was on my business trip back in Jan 2013

For 2 and half weeks I stayed at Borobudur
The hotel buildings itself reflect its past glory, and the room is clean and comfy
to be straight forward:

Good
+the famed Bogor Cafe, dont ever miss your breakfast at Borobudur's Bogor Cafe, the oxtail soup is absolutely a delight
+although located in central jakarta, the ambiance is good with less noise, especially when take a walk through the gardens

Bad
-the charge on wifi service
-cramped parking area and far from the main building (rather far IMO)
-For the last week of my stay, I moved to the serviced apartment, the alley are old fashioned and kinda creepy, need some refreshment of modern ages

Dont miss your Breakfast at Borobudur :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SigitPra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I prefer staying at chain hotels since I travel a lot and the loyalty programs give me free nights with points accumulated through the year. Here in Jakarta we opted for Borobudur which had a great offer going on but it does not have a loyalty program and the week's stay would end without any points. But it surprised us with the size of the hotel which has tennis courts, restaurants, bar, swimming pool, gardens, shops and the hotel itself is spread over a huge area. The rooms are also big and the staff is very good. The breakfast spread is great and the hotel is close to tourists attractions as well as the Plaza Indonesia mall which is 20mins by taxi. The only problem is the wifi which has to be purchased and works with only 1 device at a time. Hope the management fixes this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALLIGATOR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Attending the World Robot Olympiad 2013 I just stayed 5 nights at this hotel and I now have more than 50 bites from bed bugs on each leg. I just hope I have not brought any with me home :-(

They charge you an outrargeous high price for bottled water and 15$ pr. day for wifi which is very unstable and slow.

Friendly staff and OK restaurants - but I would not stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitterAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel has an exceedingly poor approach to an essential service. Deserves avoiding until free wifi is provided.

I was astounded and shocked to be told that internet is only through cables in the room (are laptops still made with cable connectors any more?), at a charge of US15 per day. Wifi in the lobby lobby, also at a charge of US15 per day. This is the sixth hotel I've stayed at in Jakarta, and all provide free open internet service.

I suspect this reflects the general management approach - every move one makes is logged as a transaction. The room fridge is locked until a credit card deposit is paid. One signs a bill before entering the breakfast. room, etc., etc. It's really not relaxing at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM H, General Manager at Hotel Borobudur Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay in Hotel Borobudur Jakarta.

It is unfortunately true that certain room categories do not provide internet free of charge. This has been a requirement from some travel agencies for many years, as otherwise the room rate charged would appear too expensive ( Internet in Indonesia is very expensive ).

Higher room categories doe have internet included free of charge, and with Wi Fi.

That being said, as of next year, Hotel Borobudur Jakarta will have Wi Fi in all guest rooms, free of charge. Obviously the room rate will reflect this.

As to credit card guarantee, I believe this is common practice.

Once again, thank you for your comments,. We look forward to welcoming you in the new year, when internet is indeed free of charge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#41 of 464 in Jakarta
806 reviews
Alila Jakarta
#30 of 464 in Jakarta
930 reviews
Tanah Abang
Le Meridien Jakarta
Le Meridien Jakarta
#33 of 464 in Jakarta
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#19 of 464 in Jakarta
546 reviews
Century Park Hotel
#42 of 464 in Jakarta
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borobudur Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borobudur Jakarta

Address: Jl. Lapangan Banteng Selatan | PO Box 1329, Jakarta 10710, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#23 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#28 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $76 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Borobudur Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borobudur is located at Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers fully air-conditioned rooms and suites, all of which have keycard system, socket for shaver, and satellite TV with 57 channels. Some of its amenities include Flores Ballroom, Klub Borobudur, and Spa Borobudur. While staying here, it is a must for you to try the Bruschetta Restaurant, which offers fine Italian cuisine and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borobudur Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Jakarta
Jakarta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing