We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded hotel with terrible bar”
Review of Gran Melia Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Jakarta
Ranked #18 of 462 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Faded hotel with terrible bar”
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The Gran Melia is one of those soulless hotels you find in most major cities. It is not helped by being in Jakarta which is a distinctly unpleasant place with terrible traffic and no attractions whatsoever. The standards at the hotel are so-so, though things are starting to get a bit faded. It needs investment.
The worst feature is the "J Lounge" bar. As a bar it's fine, but you can't have a drink there without being constantly hassled by the D-list tarts that hang out there. This is a constant problem in Jakarta - tarts hanging aroung the bars of the large hotels. It's very annoying.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buchanalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    378
    70
    19
    11
See reviews for
133
101
52
665
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
semarang
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Gran Melia Jakarta is a cozy hotel
if i have enough budget i will stay in this hotel when i'm in jakarta
i will stay in this hotel with my complete family to have a nice vacation

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarynormawatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2010

The Gran Melia offers superb facilities,as well as friendly and attentive staff who really care that you enjoy your stay in their hotel and city. The buffet was excellent, both at breakfast and for dinner. The hotel was like a little corner of paradise in the middle of the bustling but extremely friendly city, where the locals greet you as if you were in a small village. All-in-all, this was one of the best experiences in my travelling life which spans over 30 years. Thank you to the management and staff at the Gran Melia!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick290661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We stayed there because we enjoyed previous stays at Melia Hotels. This hotel was the equal of any we stayed at. The rooms were beautiful(we upgraded to The Level which included free internet, use of the lounge,breakfast and evening drinks.) and were well worth the price, which is still considerably less than American run hotels equal stature. The staff were welcoming and very helpful, confirming ongoing flights and making additional hotel reservations for us. They were always eager to help and do all they could do for us. In a security conscious city, we felt very safe. We enjoyed the restaurants--the breakfast buffet was outstanding and included food for all tastes. There were also several restaurants--we never had to leave the hotel for an excellent meal. The grounds are beautiful, and we never found the swimming pool crowded. When we return to Jakarta we will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#3 of 462 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#14 of 462 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Jakarta

Property: Gran Melia Jakarta
Address: Jl. H.R. Rasuna Said Kav X-0 | Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Family Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in the prestigious financial and diplomatic district in the heart of Jakarta, a few minutes from the highway and 30 km from the Soekarno-Hatta international airport. Just 10 minutes from the commercial district, 15 minutes from the National Museum and Presidential Palace and 20 minutes from the nearest golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Melia Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Sol Melia Jakarta
Jakarta Gran Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing