We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel with superb service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Jakarta
Ranked #15 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb hotel with superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have stayed in, definitely my top choice in Jakarta. Spacious rooms, spectacular lobby area, very helpful staff. Wi-Fi fast and reliable, with fair choice between free and paid plans. Excellent breakfast, with more options than one can eat. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhini Maritza M, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mr. John,

We're so glad to hear you were happy with our facilities and our service especially the buffet breakfast. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon!


With kindest regards,


Dhini Maritza,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    361
    65
    19
    11
See reviews for
130
95
48
625
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had stayed in Gran Melia a couple of times last year 2013 while on business trips.

The spread of buffet for breakfast is great, all sorts of food to cater for the different taste bud. Most of them are above average standard. The same for the dinner spread, i think is is about USD$30++.

The room itself is nice and comfortable, with the long sofa along the windows where i like to seat around to work or just relax.

The ony bad thing was during 2 of the stay, i was kept awake by the neighbours. 1st was the TV sound and second time, the neighbours seems to be having disco party. I was rather suprised at how could the sound proofing be this bad. Especially in the first incident when i realised the TV was not on the same wall my bed headbaoard is. On the second occassion, i even have to call the reception after midnight when i could not get to sleep. I need to wake up early next day for a full day of meetings.

I will still recommend this hotel dspite the sound proofing issue, just as long as you do not get noisy neighbours, the stay is great. With nice food options and quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhini Maritza M, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind and generous review. We are delighted that you found the hotel service convenient and efficient. And thank you for your comments especially the hotel staffs and the restaurants.

The teams here appreciate the encouraging words and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.


With kindest regards,

Dhini Maritza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business and had a fine stay. The lobby is huge, the rooms big and comfortable (you will hear the morning call to prayer) and the bar and restaurants are excellent.

Was particularly impressed with the staff who, without fail, are friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay here, again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mkroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhini Maritza M, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

What can we say apart from “Thank you”. Your comments about our service and staffs are noted, appreciated and are most helpful. Assuring you of our commitment to raise standards further for the benefit of all our valued guests.


With kindest regards and sincere thanks,

Dhini Maritza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have stayed for 5 night in this hotel for our family vacation in jakarta....according to the reservation staff the hotel room has been renovated(premium room type). When we arrived the hotel exterior has shown that the hotel is an old hotel ( the picture in agoda is not the same ) ......this has make me worry.....check in is standard.....hotel lift is shown very old.....room is big....but not clean.....dusty and have some strange smell.

Breakfast is very standard....not so great, on the second night i can not stand it( the smell) anymore and decided to check out on the third night.....duty manager meet me and decide to upgrade my room to the suite room. The suite room is big but still have that strange smell.

Finally i take the suite room because i feel at least the duty manager has done something to my complain. But i strongly suggest not to stay at this hotel. The hotel is already very old and the price is the same as four season/ jw marriot / and only small different with ritz kuningan

Room Tip: Can not suggest anything......pls try other hotel if you want an international chain service quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhini Maritza M, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Bapak Andri,

First and foremost, on behalf of our hotel I would like thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Gran Melia Jakarta.
Your positive feedbacks in regards of hotel exterior and room odor have been well warmly received and I have personally shared your comments to improve our excellent service. Hope we will have the opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable on your next visit.
Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.


Yours faithfully,

Dhini Maritza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Location is a bit confusing. However, when we enter the hotel ; all the confusion is lost. Big building with huge business conference rooms. Morning breakfast was good ; since we had some tasty Alu Paranthas!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhini Maritza M, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Prashant,

We're so glad to hear you were happy with our facilities and our service especially the buffet breakfast. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon!


With kindest regards,

Dhini Maritza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Upon arrival the hotel greets you with it's grand lobby and creates a very positive experience. The staff are very friendly and escorted right up to the room. The rooms are cozy with very comfortable bed and the shower is great especially with the traffic in Jakarta the nice good shower is great to take the stress away. The decor could use a modernized and the room entertainment can be upgraded as there is no interactive TV or IPTV in the room and the phones are very old and there is no way to dock all the gadgets. The lift landing is dated to provide modern touches. The best part about this hotel is their buffet is probably one of the best I had in Jakarta. I had their buffet for Breakfast and Dinner it was always great. So if you are looking for a good business hotel with great buffet as travelling in Jakarta is a pain then this is a good place to stay. But if you need a modern business hotel with modern amenities this may not deliver as promised.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan_Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhini Maritza M, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, on behalf of our hotel I would like thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Gran Melia Jakarta. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Gran Melia hospitality especially the buffet restaurant.
Your positive feedbacks have been well warmly received and I have personally shared your comment to improve our excellent service. Hope we will have the opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable on your next visit.
Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.


Yours faithfully,

Dhini Maritza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wow - what a hotel. I had to travel last minute to Jakarta for business, and my usual 'big name chain' hotels were all booked, so I ended up getting a room at..'Gran Melia'. I had never heard of this, so didn't have high expectations. But I was blown away. It has a very nice luxurious feel with a grand entrance and very nice rooms. Breakfast buffet was also nice. Service was excellent - really liked this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheVeggieWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Q, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
We're so glad to hear you were happy with our facilities and our service especially the buffet breakfast. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon!


With kindest regards,

Manuel Quiros
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Jakarta

Property: Gran Melia Jakarta
Address: Jl. H.R. Rasuna Said Kav X-0 - Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Family Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in the prestigious financial and diplomatic district in the heart of Jakarta, a few minutes from the highway and 30 km from the Soekarno-Hatta international airport. Just 10 minutes from the commercial district, 15 minutes from the National Museum and Presidential Palace and 20 minutes from the nearest golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter, Prodigios Interactivos SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Gran Melia Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Sol Melia Jakarta
Jakarta Gran Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing