We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban center”
Review of Gran Melia Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Jakarta
Ranked #22 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
1 review
“Urban center”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Large hotel offering all usual amenities of this category. A bit disappointing was the difficult use of the air conditioning (staff needed to stopp extreme cooling) and the wifi internet connection was rather slow and unstable. Rooms facing the street are rather noisy. Breakfast is of good quality offering big choices for every taste. The loby is rather noisy and has a bad acoustics: when there is a musical performance in the lobby bar, there is no escape to any silent corner. The echoes follow you anywhere. The convention center is large and has all necessray facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Q, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Peter,
First and foremost, on behalf of our hotel I would like thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review in regards of your recent visit to Gran Melia Jakarta.

We had noted your concerns in regards of noisy sound from the street and music from lobby and update the remarks on our database so that we will anticipate this issue by assigning your room facing the quiet side. We are also taking your concern about the air conditioning and wifi connection in the room. Please accept my sincere apology in regards of these matters and I have personally addressed these issues to related departments to improve our excellent service.
Thank you for your valuable feedbacks and I wish we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence with Gran Melia Jakarta

Mr. Peter, once again please allow me to express my sincere apology and I look forward to welcoming you back at Gran Melia Jakarta.

With that in mind, I remain, at your service


Best Regards,

Manuel Quiros,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    397
    72
    20
    12
See reviews for
146
109
55
690
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with impeccable service. I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast (make sure you get it), it has the largest spread I've seen. Traffic in Jakarta is a complete nightmare day or night, so if coming from or going to the international airport, make sure to leave yourself a lot of time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DiamondSuave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Q, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your kind message endorsing Gran Melia Jakarta as “Beautiful hotel excellent service”. That was most considerate and very kind. It would seem that our mission was accomplished with regards to your stay.

Assuring you that the team here intends to keep it that way and improve further on a daily basis and it will always be your second home. We look forward to exceeding your expectations next time we may have the pleasure of your company


Yours faithfully,

Manuel Quiros
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

we stayed over the New Year and i have to say the staff at this hotel are exceptional everyone we came into contact with were professional welcoming and polite especially our concierge Defriton who was so lovely and helpful also Rusli Ade Faisal was extremely helpful. The Breakfast is very good and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The evening buffet was fantastic with so much choice and deserts to die for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekythump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhini Maritza M, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

We're so glad to hear that you were happy with our staffs and our service. Your generous words will be warmly received by Defrizon and Rusli Ade Faizal at Gran Melia Jakarta.
Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon!


With kindest regards,

Dhini Maritza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel appears at first sight to be cavernous and typically anonymous and international. This is not so; all the staff make a huge effort to engage and manage to call you by name from day 1. I stayed for 15 days and was upgraded to the Red floor (14). This had a large lounge staffed by a team who went out of their way to make my stay easier. There was always a cup of coffee available, a glass of wine appeared in the evening, they found me a charger for my phone and changed my car to the airport. More than that, they seemed to be genuinely interested in my day. Sadly I couldn't oblige with discussion on the merits of UK football teams or the royal family but I appreciated the effort they made. Likewise when I obviously wanted to work they left me in peace.

The breakfast buffet was one of the most comprehensive I have experienced as was the dinner. Sunday brunch was reported by my colleagues as excellent. The location is not great but taxis are so cheap its not hard to go out to eat/ go shopping etc.

Room Tip: If you can be allocated to Floor 14 it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhini Maritza M, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Madam,

What can we say apart from “Thank you”. Your comments about our room, breakfast, internet, and especially our Red Level team are noted, appreciated and are most helpful. Assuring you of our commitment to raise standards further for the benefit of all our valued guests.


With kindest regards and sincere thanks,

Dhini Maritza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel three times over the last few months, and on every visit I had a great stay. The hotel's location is prime and most taxi drivers know the hotel. The reception staff are very pleasant and my check-in was super quick every time. The rooms were incredibly spacious and maintained very well. The shower area and WC were quite spacious as well. The bedding was super comfortable and the room felt like a true 5-star room. Their wi-fi speed is real good. Because I was on a business trip, this was essential for me. In Jakarta, internet connectivity isn't something you can take for granted and I was quite impressed with their internet speed.

A special mention needs to be given for the food. Knowing, that I'm an Indian, the staff went beyond their call of duty to prepare hot Indian meals even though it was way past 11 (when they officially stop taking order for Indian food). Kudos to all the chefs and the hotel. What was even more amazing was the generous spread of Indian food in the breakfast buffet. The food tasted very good.

Even though I visited the hotel on business, I'd recommend this place for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yofobubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhini Maritza M, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your kind and generous review which is even more gratifying as I see on Trip Advisor this has scored a property five out of five.

We are delighted that you found the hotel service convenient and efficient. And thank you for your appreciations to the staff especially the kitchen staffs of Indian food in Café Gran Via

The teams here appreciate the encouraging words and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Jakarta soon.

With kindest regards,

Dhini Maritza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I only occasionally come to Jakarta for business so I cannot comment on how this hotel would be for families or how this compares with many of the other hotels in the area, however, it was far nicer than the previous placed I stayed so I welcomed the change and I did notice that there was quite a number of western families staying here over the New Year period. All seemed to be enjoying themselves! First thing I noticed was that despite arriving earlier than planned, we were checked into our rooms early with no hassles. This began what was an excellent customer service experience. The standard of the rooms was excellent - my room was classed as a junior suite and had modern fittings and décor including a formal dining area (which got used as the work table). The air conditioning was sometimes hard to get exactly right (was a little on the cold side). The architecture of the place (especially what I guess you'd call the foyer area) had lots of quirky little touches and lighting effects at night out in the corridors and public areas. My room had a view out to the city which was lovely at night with no noise from the world outside either which was welcomed. Business facilities were excellent - I had no problems with decent internet connection and when asked, I got some great front of house support to help me get some printing done for work. Rooms were serviced daily with little touches of luxury with the toiletries (which to be honest I don't normally notice but did on this occasion). I had breakfast a couple of times in the Gran Va buffet restaurant and it was first class (and busy) with a wide variety of goodies for both Western and local tastes (needless to say that if you wanted your bacon and eggs, there was more than a few ways to treat yourself) and again, service in the restaurant was first class. Would love to come back and take a dip in the lagoon pool!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhini Maritza M, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

What can we say apart from “Thank you”. Your comments about our room, breakfast, and internet are noted, appreciated and are most helpful. Assuring you of our commitment to raise standards further for the benefit of all our valued guests.


With kindest regards and sincere thanks,

Dhini Maritza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Even though this hotel seems like has been around for quite some time, the management has successfully renovated its property in general.
Room is excellent and very cozy equipped with wood ornament around. There is a nice sofa by the window which has a very nice curtain overlooking the main street and some skyscrapers around the area. The bathroom is clearly one of the best feature of the hotel equipped with a nice bathtub, shower area and a see through windows overlooking the bed.
The pool though, is undergoing a major renovation. I guess it would be a great one when it is finished.
The unique ceiling on the lobby is also a plus point of this property.
Overall, this is a great hotel to stay while in Jakarta.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponkster828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhini Maritza M, Manager at Gran Melia Jakarta, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for posting your enthusiastic recommendation of the newly rejuvenated and completely refurbished Gran Melia Jakarta.

Your generous words will be warmly received by the team at Gran Melia Jakarta. Looking forward to sharing more of our service improvements, the teams appreciate it and join me every day in our commitment to raise standards further.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


With thanks and very best wishes,

Dhini Maritza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#5 of 464 in Jakarta
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Jakarta

Property: Gran Melia Jakarta
Address: Jl. H.R. Rasuna Said Kav X-0 | Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#21 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in the prestigious financial and diplomatic district in the heart of Jakarta, a few minutes from the highway and 30 km from the Soekarno-Hatta international airport. Just 10 minutes from the commercial district, 15 minutes from the National Museum and Presidential Palace and 20 minutes from the nearest golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Sol Melia Jakarta
Jakarta Gran Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing