We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Ranked #16 of 471 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After staying most of my trips in shangri la,i tend to stick with a known brand when not sure about where i go. this one in Jakarta was not really up there to what i was expecting.
Seems strange to put a 5 star hotel in front of a river and on the other side is a huge slum of homeless and disadvantaged people. Feels like you are rubbing it in their face..not really my cup of tea.
The rooms are not really up to date,this building has seen better days,mould on the roof in corridors and suite.
The breakfast average,not really Bangkok standards at all and the lunch was nothing special which i was looking forward to the most.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bank1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Bank1972,

We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience regarding your stay with us. Your feedback is always important to us in improving our services here at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. We are taking the necessary steps to address your feedback in line with our standards.

We sincerely hope there will be an opportunity to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juergen Doerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is one of my favourites.
Whether travelling on business or for pleasure you will always feel like you're at your second home when you stay here.
From the welcoming smile at the door, to being ushered to check in and up to your room, the service is exemplary.
When booking ask for a pool (garden) view room as the tropical setting is well done and makes you feel like you're in an oasis. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable.
There are plenty of dining options here with Satoo a favourite of mine. If you just want a snack and a relaxing spot to enjoy it plus a "vino" or two then the Lobby Lounge is a good choice.
For entertainment, you can find this at BATS with live music and an American themed restaurant. BATS can be very crowded especially Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights so if you want a seat come early.

Room Tip: Garden / pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Jim M,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your positive experience staying with us. We are delighted to learn that our service has lived up to your expectation and that our staff made sure you were in good care during your stay with us.

We do hope that this memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juergen Doerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel that really understands service. Rooms are good size but a bit old. Location is the only downside, others such as the Pullman have malls nearby, not so the Shang. If here for biz and need to be in town them look no more. But others like the Pullman may be better if you are more flexible on location. Never ever underestimate the Jakata traffic :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndoOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear IndoOne,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. Your feedback is always important to us in order to improve our services here at Shangri-La Jakarta. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Juergen Doerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Visited Shangri La in Jakarta for the first time and for a short time. Its a huge hotel, great ambience, nice room, nice meeting room, i love the shadow view of the mosque that can be seen from lobby -during afternoon to evening time. Will visit again on my next business trip

Room Tip: Located in a traffic area... so prepare more times if you wanna go back home to airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC-Nilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear JC_Nilg,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality. Your feedback is always important to us in order to improve our services here at Shangri-La Jakarta.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Juergen Doerr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Rooms are well-designed, well-fitted, and have the standard amenities one expects from a Shangri-la hotel. Not along the main road so the traffic jam won't be as bad as staying in Plaza Indonesia/Grand Indonesia area. I always enjoy the buffet spread in Satoo be it for breakfast and dinner; definitely worth a visit when you're in this hotel. Admittedly there will be other hotels in the vicinity that are priced lower, but the premium that you pay for in this property is the impeccable service. I always enjoy my stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaxgianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear paulaxgianna,

It was a pleasure to read your comments regarding your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality and exceptional dining options. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Jakarta in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juergen Doerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is my favourite place to stay while in Jakarta and the number one reason is the great staff. In particular, the staff in the Horizon lounge always makes me feel at home and would go out of their way to meet any request I may have. The rooms are clean and comfortable and they have free shuttles to the nearby malls.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear CDV2013,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your positive experience staying with us. We are delighted to learn that our service has lived up to your expectation and that our staffs made sure you were in good care during your stay with us.

We do hope that this memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Gerhard Hecker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have been staying at Shangri-la, hotels around the world because of the quality of service and rooms. In particular, the hotel staff at Shangri-La, Jakarta, always make my stay like a home away from home. This is particularly comforting when one is constantly on the road for business trips. Every corner you turn there is a smiling face ever willing to help and make your stay as pleasant as possible....and with that special Indonesian hospitality that is both natural and refreshing.

Room Tip: Pool facing........it also gives you a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian8808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Adrian8808,

It was a pleasure to read your comments regarding your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality. Your feedback is always important to us in order to improve our services here at Shangri-La Jakarta.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Jakarta in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Gerhard Hecker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Address: Jl. Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $148 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of best in the category of Luxury Hotels by 2012 Trip Advisor's Travelers Choice Award, Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta is strategically located in the centre of Jakarta’s Sudirman business district. The hotel is an established luxurious oasis that offers easy access to the very best of Jakarta, easily accessed within 45 minutes away from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The hotel comprises 661 guest rooms, including 40 suites, 118 Horizon Club rooms and 60 interconnecting rooms.All rooms give an access to spectacular city views.Embark upon an international culinary adventure at SATOO’s open-kitchen buffet, savour the stylish Italian dishes at Rosso or taste authentic Cantonese cuisine at Shang Palace. Sample sushi and Japanese flavours at Nishimura or indulge in New York-style oversized steaks, pizza and burgers at B.A.T.S.Get toned and energised in our fully equipped state-of-the-art fitness centre, which hosts the highest standard facilities, from the latest high-tech exercise equipment, a multi-purpose workout studio and a convenient lounge bar to the outdoor tennis courts and swimming pool surrounded by a lush garden oasis. Featuring one of the most luxurious private spas in the city, the spa facilities at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri La Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing