We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel treatment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Ranked #16 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“5 star hotel treatment!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was greeted with warmth sincer the moment I stepped out of my taxi w my kids & nannies. Check in was fast & easy. Always with a smile.
This hotel's crew's warmth really made me happy since I had the opposite experience in another 5-star hotel MBS sg.
Hotel room is javanese style, yet still kept nicely & clean. And call me crazy, but really love the idea that they put a hair scrunchie in the amenity tray!! How thoughtful!
My room was on 28th. It's quiet, we had a good night sleep.
Swimming pool was okay, kids enjoyed it. Too bad, they don't have bigger or more entertaining kids pool or kids corner/club. I heard kids club only available on weekends. Why not making a room dedicated for children? I'm sure a lot of families will appreciate it.
Breakfast at Satoo is super yummy of course.. Everyone knows how good the food in Shangri-la is!
Access to BNI next door is by the ceria room, is great. You can find all sorts of restaurants there. Starbucks is just around the corner.
Checking out is super fast.
I love this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourtimesayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    403
    81
    31
    16
See reviews for
195
113
95
912
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Being Golden Circle Member.Stayed for 10 nights for business trip + family leisure (14-24 March 2012).Deluxe room with view overlooking the pool and mosque (Room 712) which is really pretty at night. Fruits refilled everyday in room and you can request your favorite fruit (subject to availability).

Services are excellent and staffs are well trained. My wife and I enjoyed live entertainment every evening at lobby lounge. most memorable when singer personally meet us though we were not really in lobby lounge.

My kids enjoy the lovely pool. Mineral water is served at the pool and sometimes fruits as well.

Adjacent to Wisma BNI building where you can find a small mart, Century farmacy, Restaurant Bakmie Permata, KFC, Soho and bakery. Outside you can enjoy Dunkin Donuts and Starbucks.

My family especially kids keep saying Shangri-la Jakarta is the best.

Golden Circle members are treated very well, like valued customer.

Room Tip: Room 712...nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aziz-Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Service is great, food is good, business lounge is excellent and staff are bright and helpful. However, the furnishings in the rooms are tired and showing their age. The carpets are stained, the furniture chipped and marked and paintwork needs freshening up. Added to this the phone system is hopeless



Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank 69Armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I travel a lot by the nature of my job. I spend over 80% of my time in hotels of different brands in around the globe and among those, this hotel gave me the unique experience.
I've stayed in Jakarta about 3 months out of last 4 months and tried different hotels in here (mostly at Intercontinental as I'm a royal ambassdor member and can get free room upgrade, access to lounge, free usage of minibar etc.) but I can tell you when it comes to customer service, this hotel is the best!
It's neither facilities nor food that drags me back but the people working here. All of the staff working in here - club lounge, front desk, concierge, restaurants, BATS bar - they all made me feel like I'm their friend as well as a valued customer.
Always smiley, friendly and attentive, the service from staff here surpasses freebie I could get from other hotel and simply the best among all the hotels I ever stayed.
Other than that, you can get what you'd expect from 5-star hotesl that doesn't actually distinguish this hotel from others.
The only downside of staying this hotel is the hotel membership point system that expires after an year or two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sangjin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

stayed here last weekend with my friend, stayed here because I previously have stayed a couple of times here, and they were all terrific.

as a weekend traveler that regularly stays in hotels around Jakarta, I have to say that Shangrila is the 5 star hotel that feels just right unlike its competitors. the breakfast in Satoo is always nice, while the gym and swimming pool are really great.

if you are planning a trip to Jakarta on a business/pleasure, be sure to have your stay arranged here.

on another note, my checking out yesterday didn't go so well. nobody was supervising the queue, so it was quite a mess.. for instance, the receptionist handled me over a billing from another room, and I was asked to sign it. Please fix this, as the queue is always hectic on weekends.

Room Tip: pick any room, you'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rikigede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel might be slightly older, but it is still a top 5 star hotel. The service is excellent and the staffs treats you the way a 5 star hotel should be. I stayed here for one night and i really enjoyed my stay at the Shangrila. The hotel room is comfortable and clean. The lobby is grand and beautiful. The poolside is relaxing and suitable for children as they have lots of activities such as the Baby Zoo where they showcase all the cute little animals. One of my favourite thing about Shangrila Jakarta is the breakfast. One of the best breakfast food selections that i've ever been too. They offer a large variety of excellent food. The location is also excellent right in the middle of Jakarta. Shopping mall such as Grand Indonesia and Plaza Indonesia is just 5 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kebenarans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

THe Shangri-la is extremely good business hotel. The service is always excellent - perosnsal, focused, unobtrusive - which shows the level of effort made by the management in training

This is not a hotel that relies on gimmicks - it has no need to - or design to differentiate itself. Whilst it is stylish it typical of Shangri-las's formula of elegance and high end feel

The rooms are fine - nothing fancy. The bathrooms are good, the amenities OK, but compared with other hotels the Fixtures and fittings are beginning to look a little dated. But you get a great nights sleep. THis is one hotel though where is pays to be in the more expensive rooms - they have more facilities and more space which make it feel a little more comfortable and a little less formulaic

Breakfast is good though

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the exec rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdcryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#7 of 465 in Jakarta
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 465 in Jakarta
419 reviews
Menteng
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
#18 of 465 in Jakarta
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Address: Jl Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of best in the category of Luxury Hotels by 2012 Trip Advisor's Travelers Choice Award, Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta is strategically located in the centre of Jakarta’s Sudirman business district. The hotel is an established luxurious oasis that offers easy access to the very best of Jakarta, easily accessed within 45 minutes away from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The hotel comprises 661 guest rooms, including 40 suites, 118 Horizon Club rooms and 60 interconnecting rooms.All rooms give an access to spectacular city views.Embark upon an international culinary adventure at SATOO’s open-kitchen buffet, savour the stylish Italian dishes at Rosso or taste authentic Cantonese cuisine at Shang Palace. Sample sushi and Japanese flavours at Nishimura or indulge in New York-style oversized steaks, pizza and burgers at B.A.T.S.Get toned and energised in our fully equipped state-of-the-art fitness centre, which hosts the highest standard facilities, from the latest high-tech exercise equipment, a multi-purpose workout studio and a convenient lounge bar to the outdoor tennis courts and swimming pool surrounded by a lush garden oasis. Featuring one of the most luxurious private spas in the city, the spa facilities at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri La Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing