We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Jakarta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Ranked #14 of 462 Hotels in Jakarta
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Jakarta”
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This is my second stay in this hotel. I spent one night here on business. The check in was very smooth. I arrived at 8.30 am after an early flight from the US. The guy at the reception checked me in so early without any questions. The lobby is very nice with a view of the garden. There are sevaral restaurant choices. I love the breakfast buffet at Shangri La hotels, and this is no different. The room was quite basic though. Nothing to complain about, but nothing exceptional. The valet service was exceptional though. I had my suit dry cleaned really fast. The spa and the gym is really good. I will stay here again for my next business trip to Jakarta.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank relaxed_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    396
    79
    31
    17
See reviews for
193
112
94
899
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2008

1. Room size and bed are so-so. Pillows below par. 2. Shower cubicle is too small. 3. Service was above average 4. Good range of restaurants. Tried Rosso, BATS, Satoo and Nadaman. Nadaman is expensive though. 5. Overall not particularly outstanding value.

  • Liked — good range of restaurants
  • Disliked — pillows and shower cubicle
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Polaroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

(The Background: I was checked in for 2 weeks in Intercontinental - but I wasnt happy with their security so managed to get moved. A very pleasnt surpise to find I was then in booked into the ShangriLa - RESULT!)

Like all ShangriLas - Excellent Rooms, Excellent Food, Excellent Venue and Excellent Staff. Walking around the gardens and pool area help you forget you are in the hustle and bustle of a congested city.

Breakfast buffet is spectacular. Eveining buffet is spectacular too - with amazing range of choice of highly presented dishes..
Rooms are large and spacious and modern.

The only downside to the trip as the twice daily entertainment of the thrill seeking (eg: risk taking) trips being driven around the crazy crazy traffic.

If you are in Jakarta, the ShangriLa Hotel helps you retain some sense of sanity and serenity...

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

I've stayed at the Shangrila several years ago and came back last year for my grand father's anniversary celebration. The food at the function itself was awful, we ordered the most expensive menu but the quality was not acceptable for a five-star hotel. The rooms were great, but the management of the hotel has declined. I left my dress in the hotel room but was never contacted until I've realised a few days later. It was hard to reach hotel staff themselves and they told me the dress was lost. But after a few phone calls they said they found it. However, it had this oil stain on it which they later dry cleaned. We were also given a very large cake as a "sorry" for the horrible food they served at the function.

Overall, I've loved the hotel from years ago and am still taken with its beautiful surroundings every time I visit. Staff were friendly but lacked professionalism, there is definate room for improvement. But I will come back since it is one of my favourite hotels.

  • Liked — The building
  • Disliked — Management of the hotel
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-daisy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

This was my first Visit to a shangri-la hotel and can only say.

THIS IS THE BEST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN.

The hospitality of the indonesian people is amazing all the staff where lovely and very welcoming nothing was a problem.

The rooms are traditional but stunning, The bathroom was so beautiful and the tub was HUGE!

The complimentry slippers were a lovely touch too nice wee memento!

Only one problem with the hotel I had a bad case of insomnia and just as I was drifting off at 4am the call for prayer from the nearby mosque went off it is lovely song but at 4am I needed to sleep. But that was my issue with my job all in all a wonderful stay !

  • Liked — The tub!
  • Disliked — Mosque 4am cant sleep!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunsetbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Let me start by saying that the Shang Jakarta has one of the best breakfast buffet spreads I've seen in any hotel I've stayed in. Bar none.

Beautiful rooms and tastefuly decorated rooms in an Old World style. Room amenities (bathrobe, slippers, complimentary mineral water, etc.) are as you would have a right to expect from a Shangri-La Hotel. No dissapointment there.

My only dissapointment? Location. In that respect, I can only envy people who've stayed at the Grand Hyatt Jakarta, with their easy access to Plaza Indonesia and that gigantic new mall being built right accross the road.

But other than that little quib, no other downers at all.

  • Liked — Shangri-La Quality is maintained throughout the hotel
  • Disliked — location is poor compared to that offered by other hotels
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhTravelling_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Although this Shangri La doesn't have one of the famous Shang CHI spas, the Jakarta hotel's spa is more than adequate. And I'm speaking from experience! The hotel also offers a freeform pool in a lush, tropical environment. There are also a variety of high-end, creative restaurants. However, be forewarned, there is very little--by way of walking distance--to the hotel, which is typical of most downtown hotels. At the same price point, consider staying at the Hyatt, which is attached to a nice mall, the Plaza Indonesia.

  • Liked — The spa
  • Disliked — The lack of walkable amenities
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WellWornPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#3 of 462 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 462 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Address: Jl Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#13 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of best in the category of Luxury Hotels by 2012 Trip Advisor's Travelers Choice Award, Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta is strategically located in the centre of Jakarta’s Sudirman business district. The hotel is an established luxurious oasis that offers easy access to the very best of Jakarta, easily accessed within 45 minutes away from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The hotel comprises 661 guest rooms, including 40 suites, 118 Horizon Club rooms and 60 interconnecting rooms.All rooms give an access to spectacular city views.Embark upon an international culinary adventure at SATOO’s open-kitchen buffet, savour the stylish Italian dishes at Rosso or taste authentic Cantonese cuisine at Shang Palace. Sample sushi and Japanese flavours at Nishimura or indulge in New York-style oversized steaks, pizza and burgers at B.A.T.S.Get toned and energised in our fully equipped state-of-the-art fitness centre, which hosts the highest standard facilities, from the latest high-tech exercise equipment, a multi-purpose workout studio and a convenient lounge bar to the outdoor tennis courts and swimming pool surrounded by a lush garden oasis. Featuring one of the most luxurious private spas in the city, the spa facilities at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri La Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing