We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel food quality great, spa services not-so-much.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Ranked #9 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Terrey Hills, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel food quality great, spa services not-so-much.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a great Shang in terms of room size, bathrooms have separate shower and bath, signature comfy bed and linens. Room service menu is very good and in particular enjoyed the butter chicken. The Satoo restaurant with the buffet breakfast is satisfactory, lots of variety, but you never get milk with your tea.. (put that down to cultural difference) The weekends they had great activities for kids and families with petting zoo, magician etc.

I had a massage and facial there on the Gym&Spa but very overpriced for the service. The facial is more like a facial massage, no steam/extraction etc. was very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liss K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    382
    77
    29
    17
See reviews for
180
109
93
870
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Well deserving return visit, there is improvement on the already good breakfast spread. The Japanese counter has more selection including sushi and sashimi.
Also the rice porridge is much better. The last visit was good but a little too thick. Now it is just right.
And what I like best is the wider selection of complimentary coffee for breakfast.

only complain, the room electrical sockets need maintenance. Not all working.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1place1dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

surely one of best 5 star hotel i ever had , best employee service , clean room and also cozy place best and suitable to the price . surely even 1 day i;m gonna miss those life time experience in Shang - rila hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here for three nights recently on business, and was very happy with it. As others have pointed out, rooms could use a refresh, but very comfortable and clean. Gym is solid, and open 24 hours for guests. Best of all, the fantastic breakfast buffet with all manner of western and Asian options, plus great pastries. Could eat there for a week without repeating anything.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karawang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

It will be an unforgettable moment to me and my family. We feel the warm and peace of Shangri-La starting from we come to check-in until we have to check-out. Quick Check-in, very helpfull staff, and nice service. The room was big, clean, and full of amenities. We feel like at home. Hot water is always ready for 24 hour and the air cond is not too cool when we slept at night. Many choice of breakfast at Satoo Restaurant and we enjoyed and try every kind of food because it is delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had been to Jakarta for business reason and stayed at Hotel Shangri-La between Oct 15 and Oct 19. Going from India for the first time, I was apprehensive about the comfort level in the hotel and food. Thanks to the authorities who have been extremely helpful thru' out my stay there. They did take about 2 hours to allot me a room although I had booked in advance. The reason was that all the rooms were full and nobody had checked out then. During the wait, they served me with cool drinks, tea and cookies. I was also working at their cafetaria using wifi. The wifi was free of cost anywhere in the hotel. The window of the room that was alloted to me was overseeing the tennis court. The sight was beautiful with lush green trees and tall buildings behind. The negotiated rate did not include complimentary breakfast. I had carried some instant food stuffs from India which required heating up in microwave oven. The house-keeping folks kept a microwave oven in my room and I could cook my food on all the days. Further, they were extremely courteous in offering me plenty of fruits - some of them I have not heard of in India like Rambutan, Sadak etc., Being strict vegetarian, the standard lunch menu was not suitable for me. The lady chef from Rosso restaurant came over to my table, understand my requirements and prepared a totally sumptous vegetarian meal for me. I am extremely grateful to her. The room was impeccably clean and the toileteries were of good quality. I could get very good sleep! The house-keeping team provided me with the electrical adapter for connecting up my laptop and mobile chargers. It looks like they had a few that could connect the ones from India. At the time of checking out, which was 5am, I was offered fruits also. Going by public taxis at Jakarta is not safe. Shangri-La had arranged for my pickup from the airport and drop to the airport also from a standard cab agency.

The overall cost including the commutation to/fro from the airport was very nominal - which was less than what I expected it to be. Overall I had a good experience at Hotel Shangri-La, Jakarta.

Room Tip: I had stayed at the non-smoking room which was on the 8th floor. It was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janaki_thiagarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

my favorite hotel in Jakarta (like all Shangs in Asia). Top Service, top quality. Rooms need to be a bit renovated but still on a high level.

Best of all, the service in Horizon Club. Excellent service from staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 453 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#12 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Address: Jl Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#8 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Family Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of best in the category of Luxury Hotels by 2012 Trip Advisor's Travelers Choice Award, Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta is strategically located in the centre of Jakarta’s Sudirman business district. The hotel is an established luxurious oasis that offers easy access to the very best of Jakarta, easily accessed within 45 minutes away from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The hotel comprises 661 guest rooms, including 40 suites, 118 Horizon Club rooms and 60 interconnecting rooms.All rooms give an access to spectacular city views.Embark upon an international culinary adventure at SATOO’s open-kitchen buffet, savour the stylish Italian dishes at Rosso or taste authentic Cantonese cuisine at Shang Palace. Sample sushi and Japanese flavours at Nishimura or indulge in New York-style oversized steaks, pizza and burgers at B.A.T.S.Get toned and energised in our fully equipped state-of-the-art fitness centre, which hosts the highest standard facilities, from the latest high-tech exercise equipment, a multi-purpose workout studio and a convenient lounge bar to the outdoor tennis courts and swimming pool surrounded by a lush garden oasis. Featuring one of the most luxurious private spas in the city, the spa facilities at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri La Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing