We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend great escape in Jakarta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Ranked #14 of 468 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed here at weekend with my hubby in executive suite room.the room was large and i like the decoration with soft yellow and gold, make me feel comfortable.the view from the top floor (31) was fantastic, especially at night. When we arrived they served us a basket of fruit and chocolate...yummmyy... the bathroom very good, large with seperate shower and bathtub...they used l'occitane bath products which smells nice...but we have to wait for about 1 minute to have hot water. the breakfast at satoo restaurant was fantactic, a lot variation of food from chinese food, japanese, india, indonesian food etc...one of the best place to have breakfast in Jakarta! the swimming pool also large and not so deep, so i can swim with peace ;)... overall i love this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed at this place only once and I was not disappointed. It is hard to go wrong with Shangri-La and this place proves it. First, the location. The hotel is close to almost all the interesting places in Jakarta. You can walk to them or if you do not want to walk, points of interest are just a short taxi ride away. The hotel itself is great. It is beautiful, the lobby is extremely well decorated, and the staff is very helpful and polite. Checking in was a breeze. The room given to us was very clean, tastefully done and had a great view. We also used the Executive club and it is the best I have seen.

All in all, in my opinion, it is the best place to stay while in Jakarta. My hat is off to the management and I thank all the staff for their hard work. Great job.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bami1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I have been staying in Shangri-la for a number of times now, on various business trips to Jakarta. While the hotel is a typical 5 star, with the usual amenities and attention to detail, the buffet at Sato never fails to impress me.
Breakfast buffet is one of the best ever experienced. The Bircher Müsli in mango sauce, for example, is a must try. The amount of different foods served, makes you want to stay longer, to experience different breakfast types.
Also for dinner, Sato is a truly interesting alternative to going out and looking for a good restaurant. Would definitely recommend and will stay there again on my next trip to Jakarta

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here couple of times. Great place. Nice rooms, nice lobby. Nice lounge for evening cocktails. Location is close to shopping area. They have a great selection for breakfast and great gym. The room was clean. Service was very good. The lobby is always busy with people though. They have good restaurant, so you don't have to go too far to have your meals when you come back from work.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parveer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Nice place to stay in Jakarta , good Indian food available in hotel. especially executive class room is best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Decided to book a weekend night with Shangri La , the rate was good especially as it included Breakfast and a late check out to 4pm, the check in was efficient , they gave me an upgrade to the next level of room which was appreciated , the room was clean and of the normal shangri la standard one would expect, i can't fault the service or the room as it represented good value for money, breakfast was fine , but i do wish that the staff wouldn't run around after you asking you to sign your bill before you have eaten (even worse when you consider that breakfast is included)

Ot

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelalot064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

One of the best hotel in Jakarta. Price is incredibly expensive but service is excellent. The only negative thing I had was unable to open the room using the key card and I had to go down to the reception to change the key card. My fav is Satoo restaurant, they serve variety of delicious meals. Apart from the room and restaurant, my company always use the function hall/ ballroom for our events as well as meeting rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estyindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Address: Jl. Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $146 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of best in the category of Luxury Hotels by 2012 Trip Advisor's Travelers Choice Award, Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta is strategically located in the centre of Jakarta’s Sudirman business district. The hotel is an established luxurious oasis that offers easy access to the very best of Jakarta, easily accessed within 45 minutes away from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The hotel comprises 661 guest rooms, including 40 suites, 118 Horizon Club rooms and 60 interconnecting rooms.All rooms give an access to spectacular city views.Embark upon an international culinary adventure at SATOO’s open-kitchen buffet, savour the stylish Italian dishes at Rosso or taste authentic Cantonese cuisine at Shang Palace. Sample sushi and Japanese flavours at Nishimura or indulge in New York-style oversized steaks, pizza and burgers at B.A.T.S.Get toned and energised in our fully equipped state-of-the-art fitness centre, which hosts the highest standard facilities, from the latest high-tech exercise equipment, a multi-purpose workout studio and a convenient lounge bar to the outdoor tennis courts and swimming pool surrounded by a lush garden oasis. Featuring one of the most luxurious private spas in the city, the spa facilities at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri La Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing